We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great stay on a beautiful property!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mill Rose Inn

Save Saved
You added Mill Rose Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mill Rose Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   615 Mill Street, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a great stay on a beautiful property!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We spent one night of our honeymoon in Half Moon Bay and WOW we were glad we did! The innkeepers let us check in early and we immediately took a nap to recover from traveling down the coast. Service was fantastic...every detail was considered, from the complimentary drinks in the room to the chocolate chip cookies, the evening fruit and cheese tray, books of DVDs to choose from, private use of the hot tub, breakfast brought to your room if you prefer, and on and on. We reserved the smallest room on the property to cut costs, but it was a lovely space. The only slight problem was trying to figure out where to put the luggage. One of the bags ended up in the bathroom, which was very large. We had a private door leading to the back patio and hot tub, which was lit up and landscaped beautifully. We would love to return to Half Moon Bay in the future, and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
It’s very gratifying to offer our guests such relaxing getaways, and we’re so glad we could do the same for you! Of course, it’s easy to unwind with our beautiful views and luxurious hot tub. Thank you for taking the time to sing our praises, Jennifer. We would love to welcome you back soon!

Warmly,
Terry Baldwin, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    6
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
70
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belmont
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Although we live only a few miles away, driving from sunny Belmont to foggy HMB, we escape to a whole different world and climate. Our stay at the Mill Rose Inn B&B was relaxing, quiet and thoroughly enjoyable. All amenities included...decanters of sherry and brandy on the antique desk, beer, wine and water in the frig, wi-fi, cookies, cake,cheese and coffee available in the dining room all day long. Beautiful hot tub surrounded by plants and flowers in a gazebo setting. Amazingly delicious breakfasts! Terry, the host, very friendly. Abundant flowers in the garden give the feeling you are in the English countryside when Main street is only 2 blocks away for strolling. We brought our bikes to pedal along the coast trail which leads to Princeton-by-the-Sea, home of Maverick's surfing mecca, and yummy seafood at Barbara's Fishtrap.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so much. We look forward to seeing you again.
Terry and Eve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Mill Rose is beautiful. I have never seen so many flowers.
The hosts are friendly and the food was 100% Gourmet.
All the amenities included.
Quiet but not dull.
Excellent location off Main Street.

Room Tip: Take a Suite, they are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your wonderfully sweet review, Channing! We strive for every guest to feel welcomed, and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. You’ll be happy to know that the flowers are still blooming and beautiful since your stay. Next time you need a quiet weekend away, we hope you choose to see us again — we’d love to see you!

Terry and Eve, Owners/Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is an extraordinary inn.
Absolutely beautiful - - the design, the furnishings, the gardens, the details. Everything you see and feel and smell reflects the owners' exquisite taste. The beds, the rooms, the setting could not be more comfortable. Everything is immaculate - I've never seen such attention to detail; even the housekeepers are more rigorous and attentive than others.
The inn has an enormous selection of wonderful, hard-to-find DVDs.
Our room was quiet and romantic and absolutely wonderful.
Terry and Eve could not be more generous and helpful. Refreshments are available all day and evening, including delicious and imaginative home-baked cakes and cookies.
The inn is a two-minute walk from stores and restaurants, including at least one terrific restaurant with excellent food at a great value -- and three bookstores!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for the compliments, NoddingOnion! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure to make sure that your time here in Half Moon Bay was memorable. When you visit again, we'd love to welcome you back!

Warmly,
Terry and Eve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We had the least expensive suite at the Mill Rose Inn which is in the main house so you do hear people arriving to check in which wasn't really a problem. It was quite nice albeit jam packed with furniture. The queen size bed was comfy, the amenities plentiful and complimentary, the private (by reservation) hot tub relaxing, the breakfasts delicious and satisfying, easy street parking, and an easy walk to the village of Half Moon Bay shops and restaurants make this a great place to stay. The gardens are also spectacular. The place is VERY over the top in terms of the decor, but that is to be expected with the Inn's theme. The owners have large poodles on the premises which may be a concern to dog haters.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We appreciate your kind review, TVRDH! Glad you enjoyed your stay and made good use of the hot tub. We pride ourselves on keeping our garden a welcoming space, so we're always happy when guests enjoy it as much as we do. Next time you're back at Half Moon Bay, we'd love to host you again!

Terry and Eve, Owners/Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This B&B is a place that thinks about what guests want and then provides even more! The look may be Victorian, with its elegant antique furnishings, beautifully decorated rooms and beckoning feather beds but it is the small touches that make it exceptional. Innkeepers Terry and Eve go out of their way to graciously welcome you. From the assortment of beverages in the well-stocked mini-refrigerators in each room to the collection of DVDs that are available to the small ceramic dish to catch any dripping soap in the bathroom, thought has gone into every detail. The grounds are lush and well-tended and include an outdoor gazebo as well as another gazebo that, upon opening, reveals a jacuzzi to relax in after a day of sight-seeing or going about business. In need of refreshment? Your hosts will make reservations for you at local restaurants. For breakfast, though, look no further than the dining room where a beautifully prepared and presented meal will be served to you. Up for some pampering? This is the place.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have different decor and all have access to the dining room, lounge, and outdoor ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thanks for singing our praises, judeym! We're glad you appreciate our efforts to make you feel at home. It's always such a treat to hear that our guests enjoyed the small details—it makes us love what we do! Sounds like you had the chance to explore our garden as well. Did you make good use of the jacuzzi? We look forward to your next visit to Half Moon Bay—can't wait to have you again!

Terry and Eve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

What a amazing and lovely place!!! The inn owners offer every detail that we've enjoyed at other B&B's all in the charming Mill Rose Inn!! Lovely gardens, lovely rooms, private lush spa gazebo, delicious afternoon cookies and cakes on the sideboard, cheese and fruit plates at your request, sherry and brandy in the room, all of this and a fabulous breakfast besides. It was a wonderful experience and one that we'll surely repeat!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Burgundy Rose room but every room at Mill Rose Inn is delightful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mill Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Rose Inn

Also Known As:
Mill Rose Hotel Half Moon Bay
Mill Rose Hotel
Address: 615 Mill Street, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mill Rose Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill Rose Inn invites you to spend a night or weekend in the comfortable luxury of an English country garden by the sea. All the conveniences of a world class hotel, including free WiFi, and the charm and gracious services of a small country inn are beautifully combined here in this AAA Four Diamond award-winning inn. We are a great romantic getaway destination as well as wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, T4B, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mill Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill Rose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.