We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mill Rose Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mill Rose Inn to your Saves list
Mill Rose Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   615 Mill Street, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Mill Rose is beautiful. I have never seen so many flowers.
The hosts are friendly and the food was 100% Gourmet.
All the amenities included.
Quiet but not dull.
Excellent location off Main Street.

Room Tip: Take a Suite, they are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your wonderfully sweet review, Channing! We strive for every guest to feel welcomed, and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. You’ll be happy to know that the flowers are still blooming and beautiful since your stay. Next time you need a quiet weekend away, we hope you choose to see us again — we’d love to see you!

Terry and Eve, Owners/Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    7
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
4
82
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is an extraordinary inn.
Absolutely beautiful - - the design, the furnishings, the gardens, the details. Everything you see and feel and smell reflects the owners' exquisite taste. The beds, the rooms, the setting could not be more comfortable. Everything is immaculate - I've never seen such attention to detail; even the housekeepers are more rigorous and attentive than others.
The inn has an enormous selection of wonderful, hard-to-find DVDs.
Our room was quiet and romantic and absolutely wonderful.
Terry and Eve could not be more generous and helpful. Refreshments are available all day and evening, including delicious and imaginative home-baked cakes and cookies.
The inn is a two-minute walk from stores and restaurants, including at least one terrific restaurant with excellent food at a great value -- and three bookstores!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for the compliments, NoddingOnion! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure to make sure that your time here in Half Moon Bay was memorable. When you visit again, we'd love to welcome you back!

Warmly,
Terry and Eve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We had the least expensive suite at the Mill Rose Inn which is in the main house so you do hear people arriving to check in which wasn't really a problem. It was quite nice albeit jam packed with furniture. The queen size bed was comfy, the amenities plentiful and complimentary, the private (by reservation) hot tub relaxing, the breakfasts delicious and satisfying, easy street parking, and an easy walk to the village of Half Moon Bay shops and restaurants make this a great place to stay. The gardens are also spectacular. The place is VERY over the top in terms of the decor, but that is to be expected with the Inn's theme. The owners have large poodles on the premises which may be a concern to dog haters.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We appreciate your kind review, TVRDH! Glad you enjoyed your stay and made good use of the hot tub. We pride ourselves on keeping our garden a welcoming space, so we're always happy when guests enjoy it as much as we do. Next time you're back at Half Moon Bay, we'd love to host you again!

Terry and Eve, Owners/Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This B&B is a place that thinks about what guests want and then provides even more! The look may be Victorian, with its elegant antique furnishings, beautifully decorated rooms and beckoning feather beds but it is the small touches that make it exceptional. Innkeepers Terry and Eve go out of their way to graciously welcome you. From the assortment of beverages in the well-stocked mini-refrigerators in each room to the collection of DVDs that are available to the small ceramic dish to catch any dripping soap in the bathroom, thought has gone into every detail. The grounds are lush and well-tended and include an outdoor gazebo as well as another gazebo that, upon opening, reveals a jacuzzi to relax in after a day of sight-seeing or going about business. In need of refreshment? Your hosts will make reservations for you at local restaurants. For breakfast, though, look no further than the dining room where a beautifully prepared and presented meal will be served to you. Up for some pampering? This is the place.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have different decor and all have access to the dining room, lounge, and outdoor ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thanks for singing our praises, judeym! We're glad you appreciate our efforts to make you feel at home. It's always such a treat to hear that our guests enjoyed the small details—it makes us love what we do! Sounds like you had the chance to explore our garden as well. Did you make good use of the jacuzzi? We look forward to your next visit to Half Moon Bay—can't wait to have you again!

Terry and Eve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

What a amazing and lovely place!!! The inn owners offer every detail that we've enjoyed at other B&B's all in the charming Mill Rose Inn!! Lovely gardens, lovely rooms, private lush spa gazebo, delicious afternoon cookies and cakes on the sideboard, cheese and fruit plates at your request, sherry and brandy in the room, all of this and a fabulous breakfast besides. It was a wonderful experience and one that we'll surely repeat!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Burgundy Rose room but every room at Mill Rose Inn is delightful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The rooms here are AMAZING! Everything was super posh. The room I was in had a fireplace at the foot of the bed which we enjoyed all night. The bed was one of the best I've slept in. The grounds are breathtaking and the food is great. I'd definitely recommend this b&b to anyone looking for a nice place to stay while in Half Moon Bay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The Mill Rose Inn was a fabulous new year treat. The property had a rustic and romantic charm. The room was ornately furnished and fit for aristocracy from the baroque era. The service was excellent and the management perfected everything to the last detail. The Mill Rose Inn is the nicest inn I have stayed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mill Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Rose Inn

Address: 615 Mill Street, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mill Rose Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill Rose Inn invites you to spend a night or weekend in the comfortable luxury of an English country garden by the sea. All the conveniences of a world class hotel, including free WiFi, and the charm and gracious services of a small country inn are beautifully combined here in this AAA Four Diamond award-winning inn. We are a great romantic getaway destination as well as wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mill Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Rose Hotel Half Moon Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill Rose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.