We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mill Rose Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mill Rose Inn to your Saves list
Mill Rose Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   615 Mill Street, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Perfect B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2008

My husband and I stayed there on 10/28/07 for 2 nights. It was our pre-honeymoon honeymoon and it was great. We live in downtown San Francisco and wanted to get out of town and relax for a couple of days before our 3 week honeymoon in Thailand. Let me tell you, Mill Rose Inn was perfect and more than exceeded our expectations.

We stayed in the Bordeaux Rose Suite (amazing) that included a private entrance (everything about this B&B was private by the way) a bedroom with the most comfortable bed I've slept in, a beautiful bathroom with stained glass windows around a large jacuzzi tub ,a separate shower, and a sitting room with a fireplace and dining set where we enjoyed our breakfast (that was delivered to our room!). This room was definitely worth the money we spent.

All the little details made it wonderful, the overflowing candy dishes in every room, the stocked (and FREE) mini bar, the evening snacks and tea/coffee in the main dining room, the Brandy in the room, the lovely diffusers that made the place smell like heaven and the inn keepers are great. Because our wedding didn't get out until after 10pm they stayed up to check us in and even gave us those little things we ended up forgetting like toothpaste and our toothbrushes! I've really never had service like I had there.

Another huge plus about this place is that you can reserve the outdoor jacuzzi, so it's totally private. The outdoor jacuzzi is set in a beautiful, fragrant garden and it's a wonderful way to end a day there.

I could go on forever about this place, it really is lovely. It's very relaxing and serene. I would highly recommend staying there if you're thinking about it and we can't wait to go back for our anniversary!

  • Liked — The privacy that I didn't expect staying at a B&B.
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was really perfect.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    9
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
4
86
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2008

My girlfriend and I wanted to do a short holiday getaway from San Jose and we decided on the Mill Rose Inn in Half Moon Bay, having searched for bed and breakfasts within an hour away.
We were extremely happy with our spur of the moment decision! The owners welcomed us very warmly, had made a dinner reservation for us at an excellent italian restaurant, had booked our private one hour jacuzzi experience, and they were attentive to every detail both in and out of the room.
We stayed in the Burgandy room which was a very comfortable and quaint room. Granted that the room had a view of the local police department station, the other windows had a very nice view of the rolling hillsides.
The private jacuzzi experience alone was worth the trip! It is in a gazebo that you lock upon entering, you control the lights and the bubbles, and there is a bubbling fountain next to it which makes for even more relaxation.
Finally, breakfast was served to us in bed in the morning at 9:10 and they did not rush us out even though we were a little bit later in leaving than the 11am checkout time.
It is a fabulous little place with a few spacious rooms and it felt as if we had traveled to a different continent even though we were only 45 minutes from home! We will definitely return!

  • Liked — the jacuzzi!
  • Disliked — the view of the police station
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

My wife and I recently stayed at the Mill Rose Inn and had a fantastic time. It's really a sweet little B&B that really made an effort to give us a relaxing weekend. The owner Terry went out of his way for us and made us feel at home. Everything from a personalized welcome card, cheese and fruit plate, sherry, tea, to friendly local advice.

We stayed in the lowest price room, the Baroque Room. It was somewhat small, but had a large bathroom. It was well made, clean and there were hidden treats everywhere: A TV/DVD in the wardrobe, mini fridge full of sodas, water and wine, bowls of candy, a bottle of sherry and a nice array of soaps/lotions in the bathroom. Plenty of towels and a nice pair of robes/slippers for the Jacuzzi.

The place is pretty amazing, flooded with flowers in every corner. More roses than you could imagine and a dining room surrounded by orchids (which I originally thought were silk, but I was wrong, they were fresh).

The breakfast was fantastic, with fresh fruit & an indulgent concoction from the grill.

Anyhow, we were certainly pleased with our stay. Really the only criticism would be the shower head, which looked better than it functioned.

Well done Mill Rose Inn, we'll be back.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2007

The Mill Rose Inn is the most luxurious Inn in which we have ever visited. The rooms are all decorated around the rose, with every room having its own old-fashioned decor and furnishing There are flowers in the outside of every window, and the gardens are lovely to stroll in or sit and admire the myriad of flowers. There are free plates of different cakes and cookies and they will serve you a sumptuous two-course breakfast in bed, that includes champaign, and bring you a cheese plate anytime you ask. The beds are wonderful feather beds, The baths are old-fashioned claw foot. There is a private whirl pool, with flowers and a fountain. The staff is ever willing to serve you in and in a relaxed and friendly way. This is our second time here, and we will come back.

  • Liked — Flowers
  • Disliked — A TV set in the room
Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2007

We stayed at the Mill Rose Inn in Half Moon Bay, CA in October. It was our first trip to Half Moon Bay, but will not be our last, thanks to our experience at the Mill Rose Inn.

It was like staying in a country summer house WITH STAFF! Our room was exquisite: king bed with amazingly soft sheets, gas long fireplace, beautifully decorated. The refrigerator was stocked with wine, beer, soft drinks, and ice, all complimentary.

Every morning, our innkeeper, Terry, brought a gourmet breakfast to our room. Sitting at our private dining table, with the fireplace glowing, and looking out the windows at all the beautiful flowers that surround the place, we couldn't imagine feeling more content and rested.

Eve always had cakes and cookies, along with coffee and tea, waiting in the dining room for us.

There is a hot tub, located in an enclosed gazebo, that one reserves. Just sign up for your hour and it is all yours.

The location is terrific. Main Street is two short blocks away to the east and the Pacific Ocean is a 5 minute walk to the west. It was very quiet, as though we were the only people there. I will qualify that by saying that we were there in the middle of the week when no wedding parties were staying there. That might make it a bit noisier, so you might ask when you make a reservation.

Half Moon Bay is a small town located right on Highway 1, very easy to get to from San Francisco or San Jose. There are bird preserves, surfing beaches, walking trails and a number of good restaurants. Enjoy!

  • Liked — comfort of room
  • Disliked — the shower
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2007

I booked a weekend at this Inn through Hotels.com for my husband and I. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon at check-in time. The owners looked perplexed and even after looking at my on-line confirmation from Hotels.com put their hands in the air and said, "Sorry -- we are unaware of this reservation -- sort it out with Hotels.com! They acted as though Hotels.com had been grossly negligent in allowing us the booking. Up to this point, I would still have given them the benefit of the doubt, but they made little effort to rectify our situation, help us out or try to do SOMETHING! As we live in the Bay Area, we decided to swallow our disappointment and go home. But as we were leaving, there arrived another stunned couple who had booked on Expedia and had a paid reservation sheet in hand. Alas, no room at the inn for them either, and they were from out of town in Half Moon Bay for a wedding. Coincidence?
In future, I would confirm an on-line booking with a phone call.
Incidentally, Hotels.com refunded me the money and sent me $100 voucher for another stay. And we never heard from the Inn people again.......

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmbterry, owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2007
Trip Advisor Reply
We would like to respond to the letter on Trip Advisor.com regarding the Hotels.com and Expedia reservation made by theses guests.
Because we are usually full on the weekends we never post any weekend availability with Hotels.com or Expedia, to our extreme shock and disbelief, both offered rooms they knew they were not authorized to offer and interestingly enough they failed to send us any confirmation of these unauthorized reservations which would have easily solved the problem and saved us all a lot of grief. When we contacted Expedia they were not interested in our situation at all.
The most unfortunate part of this situation is that we would love to have these guests come and stay with us; regrettably in our confusion we did not get their contact information.
We are extremely sorry and disappointed that we could not honor the reservations made by these guests nor could we send them to another Inn because the whole town was booked on that busy weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin county, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

This B and B is a splurge but you will get an exceptional experience in return-- the innkeepers have thought of everything--and I mean everything... stocked refrigerator, lovely toiletries from Gilchrist and Soames, sherry/brandy in the room (we don't drink hard liquor so it just sat pretty in the room), gas fireplace, luxury linens--very comfortable bed too--a sumptuous but simple breakfast, a dessert bar open until midnight, complimentary movies (a vast selection of DVDs) and a relatively small but beautiful English style, manicured garden. Very impressive and wonderful.

Parking alongside the inn is a cinch.

The inn is not located close enough to the coast to have a view, but you will not need to see the ocean to feel that this place is special. It is very close to the quaint litle downtown of Half Moon Bay, which is on Main street, composed of a few blocks of stores and which is worth about an hour or two of shopping, browsing, and walking.

The only relatively negative is that your reservation at the Mill Rose Inn is quite irreversible, even if you cancel way ahead of time (they'll give you credit only toward a future date) , and you will need to sign your life away when you show up here to accept a room --read the fine print when you check in. Upon check in, you will need to prepay for your lodging (I can understand that ) AND obligatorily sign for all future damages incurred should anything happen to anything at the inn during your stay, even accidentally and in good faith--they blankly have you sign for an unknown amount of money that your signature will give them the right to decide upon, without giving you any future warning, and you will be responsible for all attorney's/legal fees, blankly stated (this part sure seemed harsh, unwelcoming, and unreasonable to me!). Thank God nothing accidentally spilled or broke in our room--I didn't read the fine print before I signed and only read it after the fact.

The innkeepers are obviously meticulous people who have gone the extra mile... but there seemed to be a little palpable stress on their part that went along with it during our stay (perhaps because of all the details?) , and this cut a bit into our sense of relaxation and privacy. We've stayed at numerous B and B's and this place probably had the most logistically anxious innkeepers --not terribly blatant but it was noticeable to us--maybe it was just a bad couple of days...

Otherwise it was lovely.
Thumbs up! It's a great B and B.

  • Liked — luxury ... amazing!
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mill Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Rose Inn

Address: 615 Mill Street, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mill Rose Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill Rose Inn invites you to spend a night or weekend in the comfortable luxury of an English country garden by the sea. All the conveniences of a world class hotel, including free WiFi, and the charm and gracious services of a small country inn are beautifully combined here in this AAA Four Diamond award-winning inn. We are a great romantic getaway destination as well as wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, T4B, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Mill Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Rose Hotel Half Moon Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill Rose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.