We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful of online booking!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mill Rose Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mill Rose Inn to your Saves list
Mill Rose Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   615 Mill Street, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Be careful of online booking!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2007

I booked a weekend at this Inn through Hotels.com for my husband and I. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon at check-in time. The owners looked perplexed and even after looking at my on-line confirmation from Hotels.com put their hands in the air and said, "Sorry -- we are unaware of this reservation -- sort it out with Hotels.com! They acted as though Hotels.com had been grossly negligent in allowing us the booking. Up to this point, I would still have given them the benefit of the doubt, but they made little effort to rectify our situation, help us out or try to do SOMETHING! As we live in the Bay Area, we decided to swallow our disappointment and go home. But as we were leaving, there arrived another stunned couple who had booked on Expedia and had a paid reservation sheet in hand. Alas, no room at the inn for them either, and they were from out of town in Half Moon Bay for a wedding. Coincidence?
In future, I would confirm an on-line booking with a phone call.
Incidentally, Hotels.com refunded me the money and sent me $100 voucher for another stay. And we never heard from the Inn people again.......

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmbterry, owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2007
Trip Advisor Reply
We would like to respond to the letter on Trip Advisor.com regarding the Hotels.com and Expedia reservation made by theses guests.
Because we are usually full on the weekends we never post any weekend availability with Hotels.com or Expedia, to our extreme shock and disbelief, both offered rooms they knew they were not authorized to offer and interestingly enough they failed to send us any confirmation of these unauthorized reservations which would have easily solved the problem and saved us all a lot of grief. When we contacted Expedia they were not interested in our situation at all.
The most unfortunate part of this situation is that we would love to have these guests come and stay with us; regrettably in our confusion we did not get their contact information.
We are extremely sorry and disappointed that we could not honor the reservations made by these guests nor could we send them to another Inn because the whole town was booked on that busy weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    10
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
4
87
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marin county, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

This B and B is a splurge but you will get an exceptional experience in return-- the innkeepers have thought of everything--and I mean everything... stocked refrigerator, lovely toiletries from Gilchrist and Soames, sherry/brandy in the room (we don't drink hard liquor so it just sat pretty in the room), gas fireplace, luxury linens--very comfortable bed too--a sumptuous but simple breakfast, a dessert bar open until midnight, complimentary movies (a vast selection of DVDs) and a relatively small but beautiful English style, manicured garden. Very impressive and wonderful.

Parking alongside the inn is a cinch.

The inn is not located close enough to the coast to have a view, but you will not need to see the ocean to feel that this place is special. It is very close to the quaint litle downtown of Half Moon Bay, which is on Main street, composed of a few blocks of stores and which is worth about an hour or two of shopping, browsing, and walking.

The only relatively negative is that your reservation at the Mill Rose Inn is quite irreversible, even if you cancel way ahead of time (they'll give you credit only toward a future date) , and you will need to sign your life away when you show up here to accept a room --read the fine print when you check in. Upon check in, you will need to prepay for your lodging (I can understand that ) AND obligatorily sign for all future damages incurred should anything happen to anything at the inn during your stay, even accidentally and in good faith--they blankly have you sign for an unknown amount of money that your signature will give them the right to decide upon, without giving you any future warning, and you will be responsible for all attorney's/legal fees, blankly stated (this part sure seemed harsh, unwelcoming, and unreasonable to me!). Thank God nothing accidentally spilled or broke in our room--I didn't read the fine print before I signed and only read it after the fact.

The innkeepers are obviously meticulous people who have gone the extra mile... but there seemed to be a little palpable stress on their part that went along with it during our stay (perhaps because of all the details?) , and this cut a bit into our sense of relaxation and privacy. We've stayed at numerous B and B's and this place probably had the most logistically anxious innkeepers --not terribly blatant but it was noticeable to us--maybe it was just a bad couple of days...

Otherwise it was lovely.
Thumbs up! It's a great B and B.

  • Liked — luxury ... amazing!
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison, al
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2007

What a great Bed and Breakfast... This is a place for you if you love Gardens, quiet and a wonderful relaxing experience.

Terry and Eve the owners provde you everything you will need...plus you get an AWESOME breakfast that u can have delivered to your room , along with the paper.. Room came with Sherry, Brandy...and access to a dessert bar that was scrumpshious...

Beds were feather i believe and very comfy.... I didn't know anyone else was hardly in the house...very quiet..

Enjoyed it very much

  • Liked — Quiet Relaxed setting, great breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2007

My husband and I spent two glorious nights in this magical hotel. The room was very sumptious and oh so cosy. The Inn's gardens are a joy to walk into and the breakfasts quite delicious. We liked the hot tub and huge fluffy bed ... everything to help the traveller to relax, feel pampered and never want to leave.
We highly recommend this hotel to anyone needing a place to get away and forget it all. We wished we had been married here. We know we will be back.
Shanti and Taz Cale, Pacifica

  • Liked — Very private rooms and location
  • Disliked — We liked it all
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walnut creek
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

My wife and I felt as if we had been "Ripped Off". We have lived in the Bay Area for years and had never had the Mill Rose Inn experience. What a shame? This little getaway was a surprise gift to my wife for her 30th birthday and it will by far be one of the most memorable birthdays she has ever had. We live in a beautiful house on a hill overlooking 5 different cities and amongst trails that lead to Mt. Diablo. So naturally we felt like we had everything right here at home, so we thought. The Inn was peaceful, clean, beautiful, romantic, fresh and just a delight. I have been to B & B's in Tahoe, Mendocino County, and have even traveled abroad to beautiful places such as the Niagra Falls and the Taj Mahal. I am here to tell you that the Mill Rose Inn can certainly carry its own weight and can compete with the best of them. I would gladly recommend the Inn to anyone for any occasion. The only regret we had is that we only stayed for one night. Our sincere thanks to our wonderful Host & Hostess, Terry & Eve.

  • Liked — Everything !
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton Calif.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2007

My wife and I spent the very best time ever at the Mill Rose Inn located in Half Moon Bay Calif. on highway 1.
We where treated as King & Queen in the most beautiful Bed & Breakfast ever.
There was antique furniture beautiful rugs and inlaid wall paper all around with a wonderful breakfast and drinks severd in your room. Also a privet hot tub, wonderful dinning room with excellent service. The owners also serve an after noon snack of crackers and cheese.
Your room comes with drinks TV, radio, fire place, private bath
in beautiful decor, fine glasses and warm surroundings abound.
This is a place we will return to many times and share this great experience with all our friends.
Please try this B&D you won't be disapointed.

Sincerely Joe & Mary Olivas / Miller

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2006

I've stayed in numerous B&B's and inns over the years and by far the Mill Rose Inn was the best. What a lovely place and close to all Half Moon Bay restaurants and shops. Loved it.

  • Liked — Comfort and beauty
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mill Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Rose Inn

Address: 615 Mill Street, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mill Rose Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill Rose Inn invites you to spend a night or weekend in the comfortable luxury of an English country garden by the sea. All the conveniences of a world class hotel, including free WiFi, and the charm and gracious services of a small country inn are beautifully combined here in this AAA Four Diamond award-winning inn. We are a great romantic getaway destination as well as wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, T4B, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Mill Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Rose Hotel Half Moon Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill Rose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.