We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“maybe not for me” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Princeton Seafood Co.

Princeton Seafood Co.
50 Capistrano Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
650 726 2722
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 87 Restaurants in Half Moon Bay
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“maybe not for me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

had clam chowder 3 days in a row and maybe I wasn't in the mood during the last bowl. It was good. More like a fish and chips place. It has hamburgers, salad, and many fish selections. We looked at previous yelp reviews and it seemed like the place to be. Looked over a menu on their website online and it seemed wonderful. Reasonably priced and everything. Excited. Too bad when we arrived the menu was about half as big. But the food that we ordered was good. Maybe I was looking at the wrong website.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    12
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Ok experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Not too excited about it. Love the little town it's in (great to walk around shops, see boats, restaurants, crab pots (depending on the time of year). The food was ok, as was the staff.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, Arkansas
Top Contributor
936 reviews 936 reviews
508 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 216 cities Reviews in 216 cities
452 helpful votes 452 helpful votes
“Good fried artichoke hearts and clam chowder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

My wife and I tried Princeton Seafood for lunch on our trip along the coast from Monterey peninsula this past November. We shared a bowl of clam chowder and an order of sourdough bread. We split an order of fried artichoke hearts and the fish tacos with salmon and sweet potato fries. We had seen signs along the way from Carmel for fried artichoke hearts and had seen artichoke fields so we were anxious to give them a try. Princeton's artichoke hearts had a beer batter on them and were very tasty. The sweet potato fries were also very good but I was disappointed in the fish tacos. They had quacamole on them and it looked and tasted like the kind you buy at the supermarket. It did not appear to be freshly made. The clam chowder was as good as the other reviewers have said it was. The disappointing fish tacos prevented a higher rating for our lunch because everything else was very good.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Oh, you really can do better than this, Princeton Seafood Folks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Location, right at the harbor; excellent service by a fairly new server. Now, we come to the food. What a disappointment. Deep fried calamari - maybe not too bad, if you didn't have a spot just down the block that serves really great calamari in comparison. Entrees - Captain Rick's combo - not bad, but nothing to rave about, either. Reasonable amount of seafood in a nice tomato base sauce. Then there was the pasta dish. Admittedly, the server told me after we ordered that the pasta dishes were being removed from the menu by the new manager. Unfortunately, they hadn't been removed when we ordered the Pesto Linguini with combo shrimp/scallops. For some $18 I felt that I definitely was not kissed first. Although the pesto was tasty, there were 3 shrimp and a small handful of the miniature scallops (not even the thumb sized bay scallops, but something the size of my pinky finger nail after serious sanding down. When I mentioned this dish relative to the cost, was when the server told me about the planned removal of the pasta dishes.

This restaurant has had many good reviews -- I have no idea of what happened here. I would suggest that one stick with the catch of the day or some other fish dish with local caught fish, or the wonderful local dungeness crab.

Again, the server was great, the other staff very friendly. Since we are local, I will give it another try --- they are on the Restaurant.com coupon program and that is an additional incentive to retry it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“What a great surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Little Princeton Seafood has branched out from a fresh-fish store with a few tables, into a warm and inviting restaurant with great food and great service. The artichoke soup is vegetarian [hallelujah!] and the sweet potato fries are heaven. Good coffee, nice atmosphere, and right in the Harbor.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Princeton Seafood Co. also viewed

 
Half Moon Bay, CA
 

Been to Princeton Seafood Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princeton Seafood Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.