We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stop on the Coast near Half Moon Bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flavor

Flavor
260 Capistrano Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
+1 650-726-8000
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Flavor is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 87 Restaurants in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We believe that reasonably priced "American Comfort Food" is a rapidly disappearing culinary cuisine in the Bay Area. We decided that we would not let that vanish. Providing a fine balance of basic tasty foods and exquisite culinary delights where comfort and creativity collide, we proudly present El Granada with our latest venture- Flavor. What is California Comfort Food? Simply put, it is an attempt to take some of the classic and not so classic comfort dishes and have our wonderful chefs add some sort of twist to them. We will always try to provide the freshest ingredients and attempt to use local and organic ingredients when possible. Devin / Francisco
Los Altos, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stop on the Coast near Half Moon Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Flavor has a sub title of California Comfort Food. They do a great job and one of our go-to places on the coast. Garlic fries are great, salads fresh and creative. They have a nice selection of non-meat items including noodle soups and a polenta burger which is big enough for 2 meals. The outside of the building is not much to look at but the staff is always friendly. Lots of parking...after eating, take a short walk out and see the wonderful little marina and bay just across the street.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    29
    11
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Party Place.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The staff was accommodating for our big party group-planned in advance -drinks were quick and tasty-food was over the top good-they individualized our menu. The house made ketchup was a bonus!
Pastry chief on staff...made candies and cookies too!
Good prices-loads of parking-incredible setting....looking into the ocean....ask McQueen at the bar for a good beer!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, Ca
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Hence the name”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The kids wanted to go to Sam's Chowder House but it was packed - this was down the street so we decided to give it a shot. After all, comfort food is always good.

Service was great from the moment we walked in the door - very friendly.

Our server dude was super nice. Between my wife and the kids, we ordered:

Crab salad - butter lettuce with green goddess dressing and lots of crab - very good.
Pasta with butter - just he was son #1 likes it. Al dente with not too much butter.
Spaghetti with meatballs (x2) - only comment here from son #2 was that the meatballs seemed a bit mushy. I tried them and liked them
Fish and chips - Fish was fresh halibut. Came with real chips, not fries. Cole slaw was very good.

It was all "favorful" and I'm glad that there's another restaurant option in this area. Atmosphere is nice - casual. Restaurant was clean and as mentioned, service was great. My wife forgot her handbag and they took care of it for us - we picked it up the next day.

Recommended

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Not sure what it wants to be...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Friendly greeting when we arrived. Plenty of parking.

Billed as California comfort food, the menu seemed rather generic to us with many selections you could get just about anywhere. Food and drinks were nothing special despite a glowing description from the server. A fellow diner was having steak and it looked pretty unappetising, she left most of it. The service was too intrusive; overall we were underwhelmed.

This restaurant felt more like a standard diner, though with slightly more upscale decor.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Eat here instead of Sam's Chowda.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

They close at 3:30 to prepare for dinner! We ate the triple Mac n Cheese (added bacon and shallots), toasted burger buns, and the Flavor spinach salad. Delish! Friendly service, great prices, and a nice atmosphere.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flavor also viewed

 
Half Moon Bay, CA
 

Been to Flavor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flavor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.