We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, spectacular location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sam's Chowder House

Sam's Chowder House
4210 Cabrillo Hwy N, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-5221
650-712-0245
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sam's Chowder House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
CAMBRIDGE
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, spectacular location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We ended up at Sam's Chowder house as a result of a recommendation from one of the locals...let me tell you the food, service and atmosphere did not disappoint! I had a cup of the Clam Chowder, which hands down was the best chowder that I’ve ever had….Highly recommended! I ordered the seafood Paella which was done to perfection. The location is remarkable and so is the food. Well worth the price of the meal!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    296
    125
    35
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Lobster Rolls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have eaten at Sam's once before and had another great lunch here this trip. Hubby had the tuna melt and I the lobster roll...yummy with lots of lobster. They open at 11:30 for lunch and a line was already forming by 11:15. I would suggest reservations for any meal on the weekends....Sunday we drove by and couldn't get near the place to even park....very busy, but every meal here has been good!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Epic menu, seafood, service, with Fabulous View...!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Epic menu, seafood, service, with Fabulous View...!!! Had a great server, Emily B, a memorable meal of gumbo, fish and Crab Louis; and, cheesecake (to go...) Always a winner, we'll be back...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service and food is awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Awesome happy hour prices. Highly recommend the oysters on Tuesday!
Waitresses both nights were fabulous!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“LOBSTER ROLL!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Great chowder, great crab cakes, great combo fried platter....unbelievable lobster roll! My birthday lunch and the best way to eat lobster. Large chunks of lobster, and no work required! The service and the views just make it that much more special!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's Chowder House also viewed

 

Been to Sam's Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam's Chowder House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.