We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save the aggravation and go elsewhere!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Point RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Half Moon Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pelican Point RV Park
1001 Miramontes Point Rd., Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel amenities
Modesto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Save the aggravation and go elsewhere!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Nice location, but the park is in fairly run down condition. The staff is not helpful at all, most unreasonable people. Most places go the extra mile to have repeat customers, not this place. All parks must have rules, but they go out of their way to enforce them, where clearly there should be some latitude. We love the area, but will NOT be going back to a place that goes out of their way to make you feel like you are imposing. Not recommended at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    5
    5
    30
See reviews for
17
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Pelican Point RV Park is an older RV park with narrow pads and out-dated sewer drains. However it is well worth it to stay there as long as you are prepared.
The staff is very nice and helpful; the daughter particularly in helping us park - she was an EXPERT in directing!
The location is wonderful, near the ocean, walking path, easy drive to downtown and restaurants, and things to see & do.
We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoore, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We have been at Pelican Point RV park for several months and love it there. Their rules for the park put us at ease knowing that it is always safe, quiet and clean. They have been very helpful and have gone above and beyond when giving information of the area. There are great, clean amenities here - a laundry, small store and clean bathrooms with shower. Beautiful, tall trees adorn the RV park, and most of the time at night, you can hear the waves (this is amazing) from the beach that is only a 5 minute or so walk below the RV park. The town of Half Moon is very nice and people even smile there. If you don't like rules at an RV park that keep it safe, clean and quiet, this may not be the place for you, but we feel blessed and happy to be here.

Room Tip: There are rules here - we like that because we can always count on clean and quiet; if you like clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California - North Bay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

The park is close to the ocean and that is about it. The sites are okay but not laid out well or well maintained and in the rain become mud bogs, The management and most workers seem to really hate their job and the people they serve, or should I say don't serve. In a camping atmosphere, fun and joy is the mantra, but not here. The staff and management make you feel you are intruding on their private land. I felt like I was imposing when I used their toilets and even when I was buying something form their poorly stocked "store". I agree with others that the manager is vindictive and a control freak. He treats people like we are out to ruin his surroundings and property.

We have stayed here for 3 years in a row, and thought past years might just be poor timing. However, 3 years is too consistent. Whatever the management has that is bothering them so much, it is causing others that spend good money for supposedly good service to have a very poor time. It is time they moved on to a new endeavor, maybe cleaning barnacles off of the local boats.

Room Tip: Go to the park down the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The park is nice, the management is sub-par. The manager gets vindictive if questioned about his strict rules. It was raining and a member of our group put up a canopy at their site to stay dry. The maniac manager very rudely, barged into our site while we're eating dinner and told us to take it down. "It's the rules". He's completely unreasonable and wouldn't open up the group meeting room for us. The electrical power is unreliable and not maintained very well.

Some sites are unusable and have no power. The manager threatened to tow away cars parked at these unusable sites.

The manager complained about our Home Depot fire pit saying it's a fire hazard, even in the rain. The manager is a control freak who can only tolerate elderly people who stay in their RV's all day long and don't come out.

The manager threatened one of our group members saying, "He will remember and never allow them to return".

Our group has stayed there for years, but we won't return and will advise others to stay away from Pelican Point.

Happy Trails,
Bill

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I really enjoyed our stay over New Years and had no problems. The location is ideal; within walking distance of beach and trails. The town of Half Moon Bay is just down the street. The sites are close together, but I don't know of any private campground with hookups that isn't. The views are spectacular; try to get the upper rows. It is not kid friendly. You must keep your dog on a leash and can't let him howl at your site while you are out sightseeing. They do not make exceptions of any kind. They do "escort" you to the site because they are close together and you can back up off the end. Just ignore the manager. If he is a control freak, hostile, and obnoxious, what do you care? He's not staying with you. We will absolutely be back next year.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We book our trip for Thanksgiving well in advance for 8 people. When the reservation was made, it was stated there would be 8 of us. We were told that would be okay. When we arrived, they decided that we could only have 6 on the sight. After some discussion with the woman at the desk, she said we could pay an additional site cost for the 2 other people and having 8 on the site would be okay. We came back to pay the additional fee and she changed her mind. We ended up with 2 people stranded and forced to find a hotel for them over a holiday weekend! The management staff is extremely rude in addition to very stringent rules - check in before 8pm no exceptions, no fire pits, and they will follow you to your site to make sure your vehicle doesn't get close the grass when you are parking your RV. The only plus is that it is near the beach and allows pets. The State camping site is a much better option.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pelican Point RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Point RV Park

Address: 1001 Miramontes Point Rd., Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty lodging in Half Moon Bay
Also Known As:
Pelican Point Rv Park Hotel Half Moon Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Point RV Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pelican Point RV Park to your Saves list