We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Stylish Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon Bay Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Half Moon Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Half Moon Bay Inn
Save
You added Half Moon Bay Inn to your Saves list
401Main Street, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Charming and Stylish Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This is a lovely and very stylish hotel. It's charming, warm and cozy. I really enjoyed my stay. The staff was gracious and welcoming. The only complaint I would have is that my room was quiet small. With my luggage in the room, it was very tight to walk around. There were larger rooms that I peaked into while they were being cleaned. There seemed to be plenty of available larger rooms, and I wondered why they had not upgraded me to a slightly larger room since they had the space. I was there on a slow Monday night. Just for the management's consideration I would say that if you have the space, upgrade your guests when possible. I might not return to this hotel because of the small room, whereas if they had upgraded me to a larger, more comfortable room, I would definitely have returned. I was only there for one night, and although, I enjoyed my experience, I don't think I could have been comfortable in such a tiny room for more than one night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    20
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
8
34
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich/Switzerland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Half Moon Bay Inn is a nicely decorated hotel with comfortable rooms. Upon arrival we noticed a constant noise (vent fan) from the restaurant below and when we asked about it, we were offered to stay in another room. We decided to change to the room next door which has a nice small outdoor deck. Although the hotel had a lot of vacant rooms that night, we had to pay extra, no mention of a free upgrade, even though we noticed too late that the noise was also audible in the other room. All in all, with the coffee maker, flatscreen tv and great wifi it was a nice stay, but we've experienced much better value at other places.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This is the sort of place you always dreamed of opening, if you only had the money and style. Dazzling decor and use of the old building space. Feels Tuscan.

Great hosts. Quirky building. Fantastic linens.

This is not on the beach, nor does it have an ocean view, but Half Moon Bay has plenty of coastline to look at all day long and this is right in the best part of downtown. Stay here and eat lunch at the Ritz, and save a few hundred.

Only complaint is the noise, but that goes with the territory of being in the middle of downtown.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I booked this inn through Zozi offer with the wine tasting at Barterra tasting room down on Main Sreet. The hotel staff was nice to take the time taking us to our room. The location of the hotel is quite convenient, we can walk to the restaurants near by. It is a small and relax town. You can take your pet to this hotel which is quite nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our two day stay at this hotel. Though older, this hotel has no "older musty" smell. Our room had been refurbished and the decor was great. The atmosphere was incredible. It was clean. The beds very comfortable and the service was unbeatable. We did not have the opportunity to eat at their restaurant. We would gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Half Moon Bay Inn and loved it. The service was great and the décor was beautiful. The beds were very comfortable with down comforters and pillows the sheets were Egyptian cotton. Everything was neat and clean we really enjoyed our stay. The restaurant next door was amazing and we can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

This is the latest hotel to open on Half Moon Bay's Main St. Everything about the hotel's rooms feel luxurious. The mattresses are wonderful, the sheets are egyptian cotton, the comforters are down.

The prices, however, are very reasonable, depending on when you go.

The only things that would make this better would be: fireplaces in the rooms, and breakfast. However, there are plenty of yummy places to have breakfast nearby.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that does not face the heating/coiling unit, which can be a bit noisy, even with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Half Moon Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Bay Inn

Address: 401Main Street, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent, award-winning boutique inn was built in 1932 and recently renovated to preserve its Spanish Revival Architecture. Our gorgeous and luxurious rooms have an old world charm, designed with your comfort in mind. Centrally located in the heart of downtown Half Moon Bay, you’re just a stroll away from some of the best restaurants and shops. This fantastical and luscious location is like a little bit of Europe in downtown Half Moon Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.