We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in HMB” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon Bay Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Half Moon Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Half Moon Bay Inn
Save Saved
You added Half Moon Bay Inn to your Saves list
401Main Street, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Half Moon Bay, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Best in HMB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This is the sort of place you always dreamed of opening, if you only had the money and style. Dazzling decor and use of the old building space. Feels Tuscan.

Great hosts. Quirky building. Fantastic linens.

This is not on the beach, nor does it have an ocean view, but Half Moon Bay has plenty of coastline to look at all day long and this is right in the best part of downtown. Stay here and eat lunch at the Ritz, and save a few hundred.

Only complaint is the noise, but that goes with the territory of being in the middle of downtown.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    18
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
8
32
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I booked this inn through Zozi offer with the wine tasting at Barterra tasting room down on Main Sreet. The hotel staff was nice to take the time taking us to our room. The location of the hotel is quite convenient, we can walk to the restaurants near by. It is a small and relax town. You can take your pet to this hotel which is quite nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our two day stay at this hotel. Though older, this hotel has no "older musty" smell. Our room had been refurbished and the decor was great. The atmosphere was incredible. It was clean. The beds very comfortable and the service was unbeatable. We did not have the opportunity to eat at their restaurant. We would gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Half Moon Bay Inn and loved it. The service was great and the décor was beautiful. The beds were very comfortable with down comforters and pillows the sheets were Egyptian cotton. Everything was neat and clean we really enjoyed our stay. The restaurant next door was amazing and we can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

This is the latest hotel to open on Half Moon Bay's Main St. Everything about the hotel's rooms feel luxurious. The mattresses are wonderful, the sheets are egyptian cotton, the comforters are down.

The prices, however, are very reasonable, depending on when you go.

The only things that would make this better would be: fireplaces in the rooms, and breakfast. However, there are plenty of yummy places to have breakfast nearby.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that does not face the heating/coiling unit, which can be a bit noisy, even with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Califonia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

First, Half Moon Bay is a charming Northern California coastal town, that has not been over commercialized. The Half Moon Bay Inn is a lovely inn, in an older building. It is wonderful, clean, comfortable and centrally located. We spent two nights in one of the suites, we were sorry to have to go. I loved the privacy and the feel of being in our own apartment. Set right downtown, east of highway 1, you can walk to restaurants and shopping. You are several blocks from the highway and several more from the beach. The innkeepers are pleasant and helpful. Quite ideal.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We choose Half Moon Bay Inn to break up our drive from Mendocino to Monterey. It was a good choice. The rooms were on the small side, but beautifully furnished, and really comfortable. The location (two blocks from the highway) makes it a good choice for travelers, as does the variety of restaurants within walking distance from the Inn. Take note that the Inn favors herbal soaps and other fragrances which I found off-putting (I'm the kind of person who does not like body lotions or perfumes). Although some of the reviews complain about noise from the restaurant, we did not find this to be a problem on our stay, perhaps because it was quite cold and so we kept our windows and door to the patio closed. The owner was very helpful on the phone with decisions about which rooms would work best for our family. Compared to other towns on the California coast (such as Mendocino or Monterrey), I wouldn't consider Half Moon Bay a destination city, but I would stay at Half Moon Bay Inn again if I happened to be in the area.

Room Tip: Call the Inn before you book on line to discuss the various options -- for example, we had a shared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Half Moon Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Bay Inn

Address: 401Main Street, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent, award-winning boutique inn was built in 1932 and recently renovated to preserve its Spanish Revival Architecture. Our gorgeous and luxurious rooms have an old world charm, designed with your comfort in mind. Centrally located in the heart of downtown Half Moon Bay, you’re just a stroll away from some of the best restaurants and shops. This fantastical and luscious location is like a little bit of Europe in downtown Half Moon Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.