We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A popular place with very good food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barbara's Fishtrap

Barbara's Fishtrap
281 Capistrano Rd, Half Moon Bay, CA 94044
650-728-7049
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 82 restaurants in Half Moon Bay
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Sylva, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A popular place with very good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Barbara's Fishtrap came highly recommended, and I can see why. The menu is large with fish, oysters, scallops, and lots more. I had tempura oysters but they were more like batter-fried then tempura. They were quite tasty. My friend had the scallops, but he preferred my oysters. The service was fast even though they had a full house, with folks waiting in line (40 Minutes) for lunch. Barbara's does NOT take credit cards.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    89
    84
    34
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Turlock, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great "hole in the wall"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Meal was fine but a little pricy for what it was. We got the crab sandwich which was delicious and a seafood sampler. Had a bit of everything on it. Although it was tasty it was too much fried for me. If I had to do it again I may order the same thing but would ask the prawns and scallops to be differently. Love the atmosphere.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food, if you have time to wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We went here based on recommendations from friends and were not disappointed. There was a long wait for an inside table, but we followed the example of some locals and ordered from the takeout window. There were tables nearby, and it was a beautiful day, so we were much happier outside, anyway. Be warned that the shrimp in the shrimp sandwich is NOT fried. That took us by surprise, given everything else on the menu that is fried. The shrimp was not bad, just unexpected. We ordered the tempura artichokes because we had never heard of the dish before, and loved them. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Granada, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great little spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

its so cozy, get there early and enjoy. Once you are done head down the street and enjoy the wonderful store with flowers painted on the wall outside called Nasturtium.
Fish and chips is my recommendation for Barbara's

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A true taste of Half Moon Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

If your looking for a place to eat seafood, look no further. It is not a fancy restaurant, and it doesn't offer an eclectic selection of off the wall culinary items. Instead, it's allure is the simplistic menu of great tasting fish in a diner setting with a view of Half Moon Bay. Barbara's Fishtrap is a slice of true Americana. You can find it off Highway 1, and it's a must-see. The staff are friendly and efficient, but you must be willing to wait for a table. The food is a local favorite, so it's always busy. But, the wait is worth it. Be sure to try the clam chowder...I consider myself a chowder aficionado, and Barbara's is truly one of the best!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbara's Fishtrap also viewed

 

Been to Barbara's Fishtrap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barbara's Fishtrap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.