We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome fish & chips” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barbara's Fishtrap

Barbara's Fishtrap
281 Capistrano Rd, Half Moon Bay, CA 94044
650-728-7049
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 82 Restaurants in Half Moon Bay
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
miami
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome fish & chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011 via mobile

this little gem's food was AMAZING! Had the fish & chip with local amber beer, while girlfriend and aunt had the gralic dungeness crab (AMAZING). Must try this place when ever in Half Moon Bay. Side note: bring cash or use the ATM in the back, they don't accept CC

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    98
    42
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“It was wonderful...couldn't even finish it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We had the big combination fish fry, I can't remember the name. It comes with clam chowder (the best) or salad and your choice of rice or potatoes. We ordered an extra bowl of chowder and split the rest. The prawns, scallops & squid were out of this world.
Of course the sourdough was fantastic. Unfortunately we were 1 day before the new crab season catch was delivered, but can't complain about anything. Very casual and comfortable, I'll bet the view would be great during the day, but we were there in the evening. I'll go there again given the chance.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Love the seafood....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Love the seafood, location and service. Always a great place to be!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twain Harte, CA
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great Lunch, but get there early!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Finally tried Barbara's and was not disapointed at all. Food portions were good, fresh, and very tasty! Did thing though, prices were a bit on the high side. Make sure you get there early, for they get busy quick and stay busy. Great lunch stop for sure!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Indiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

What a gem!! I had fish and chips, since they're "best fish and chips around" according to everyone who eats there and they definitely lived up to that! My sister had the clam chowder in a sourdough bowl and it was very good. The clam pieces were diced very small and we were told it was made without milk so the base is not as thick, so not soo heavy. We will definitely be going back!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbara's Fishtrap also viewed

 

Been to Barbara's Fishtrap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barbara's Fishtrap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.