We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Good - Service Needs Work” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Deli Cafe

Garden Deli Cafe
San Benito Hotel, Half Moon Bay, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 87 Restaurants in Half Moon Bay
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Food Good - Service Needs Work”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was our first visit to this Deli (and this was not one recommended by a local merchant - but thought we would try it since he had outside seating with music). We ordered a 1/2 sandwich (tuna) and a whole sandwich(turkey). Our order was mishandled in that we got 1/2 turkey and a whole tuna. I took the whole sandwich back to get it right. The person who prepared my sandwich said "thats what you ordered". I corrected him and he then said "well then that's what your husband ordered". Wrong again. I told what I ordered and that I wanted that order. So he did prepare what I originally ordered but clearly not happy - and no apology. As it turned out we were also over charged by $2.00+. Since we both only ended up with 1/2 sandwiches and we paid for one full size and one 1/2. Food was good but the service isn't worth going back for.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truckee, CA
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Came for the sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

After seeing the TA reviews and arriving at lunch we stopped here first. Perfect timing, as soon there was a long line out the door. We ordered the pastrami to share and it was perfect. (If you're really hungry get your own as they are your average bread size sandwiches). No rye so we went for the whole wheat, fresh and perfect and hit the spot. The outdoor seating area is open with your choice of shade or sun and the fact we could have our dog with us made it even better!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“If you only have one sandwich while in Half Moon Bay. . . !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

First, the Garden Deli Cafe serves more than just sandwiches, and everything's good. There are tasty soups and salads, and brownies. Second, the sandwiches might just be the best you ever have, anywhere. Wonderful bread -- white, wheat, or walnut olive -- baked on the premises daily. (If you're very lucky there might be a loaf left over at the end of the day which you can buy.) The other ingredients are fresh as well, and the sandwiches are huge. (But you can order a half sandwich.) Third, Marie, the manager, is synonymous with "Garden Deli" and she's charming (even when rushed, which is most of the time because the line goes out the door). If you'll only have one sandwich while in beautiful Half Moon Bay, get it at the Garden Deli Cafe. (It's where the locals get lunch.)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best sandwich I have ever had!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This little deli makes it own homemade breads and it does make for a sandwich that is out of this world. We ordered pastrami and cheese sandwiches that were warm with melted cheese. The pastrami was very lean and tasty. Both of us agreed it was the best pastrami sandwich we had ever eaten. They also have loaves of bread that can be purchased to take home. For a tiny place, they do a good business. I, along with many other reviews of this place, agree, if you are in Half Moon Bay, stop by there for lunch or an early dinner. I believe they close at 5 pm, You will not be disappointed.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great homemade food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This great little cafe is fantastic, big choice of sandwiches on several different breads, which all come with a lot of extras as standard. All the bread is homemade by the cafe. Tasty soups and your usual cafe fair, Coffee, tea, juices etc. Nice area outside to relax and eat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden Deli Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Garden Deli Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Deli Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.