We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Main Street

Sushi Main Street
696 Mill St, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
650-726-6336
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 82 Restaurants in Half Moon Bay
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Reservations
Half Moon Bay, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Always a good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I have eaten here several times and it is always great sushi. It is one of my favorites in Half Moon Bay. Main Street Sushi now has two separate rooms with separate entrances which makes it more likely to walk in and get a table or place at the sushi bar. I would say on this visit, service was slow, but I had time so it was OK.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    28
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

This is not a review for sushi/sake afficianados as I am not expert in those. I can say that this was a nice place for gathering with friends, the staff was hard-working, and the decor was different and attractive. Everyone seemed to enjoy their food and the experience.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Good, reasonably priced food. Unique interior design - chairs/tables made of what looks like driftwood, walls have Indonesian influences. Back to the food - service was great, food was well prepared although the Teriyaki was a little 'weak' tasting. The Tonkatsu sauce was strong. Located in the middle of town, as the name implies.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011 via mobile

Customer service was horrible!!! Ordered soup and some sushi but never got the soup even though we reminded them twice to bring it- they still put it on the check!!! Treatment was unprofessional-very slow, took forever for server to take our order and they were not busy at all, had only like 10 people in the restaurant. The food was not good- i tried sushi before and these were one of the worst ive tasted. Would not recommend to anyone. Im sure there are tons of better sushi places in the town.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
1 review
“Amazing Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

I've eaten Sushi all over the world, and this place is up there with some of the finest. I love that they serve traditional Japanese food such as Udon soups as well as an incredible selection of sushi. You can choose from something traditional or one of their own creations like a Lady Gaga roll (try lobster, mango & beef dish for a special treat). Eat in the main restaurant on Main if you want to drink more than wine beer or saki. I like the atmosphere better here. We love this place so much when we want a nice dinner out we've practically given up on the other restaurants in town. The proprietors recognize us and customer service is some of the best I've ever experienced including seating us for dinner at almost 10pm one night. For fun try the chefs special "man drink" a traditional Japanese saki concoction served from a glass jar on the counter containing all kinds of crazy ingredients including seahorse! I work in San Francisco and the sushi there doesn't touch this and by comparison notably better . It is incredibly fresh and reasonably priced. Its hard to imagine how this place got such a poor review. Must have been an off night, I'd give it another try.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Main Street also viewed

Half Moon Bay, CA
Half Moon Bay, CA
 

Been to Sushi Main Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Main Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.