We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A romantic inn with a fabulous view.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast Inn

Save Saved
You added Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast Inn
211 Mirada Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
ny
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A romantic inn with a fabulous view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

My husband and I drove straight from the San Francisco airport straight to the inn. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our room, which was lovely with a fireplace for the chilly coastal nights. The breakfasts were gourmet and delicious. The views are amazing, with the waves crashing on the rocks right across the quiet road in front of the the inn. Can't wait to return to celebrate another big birthday!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    10
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
44
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at Landis Shores. It is a perfect couples only place to get away from everything. Great breakfast both mornings and we enjoyed waking up and standing out on our balcony, looking at the ocean. The moderate temps also made sitting outside in the evenings pleasurable. We loved sitting there, enjoying a bottle of wine. The room itself was just like in the pictures, albeit a bit smaller than expected. Heated tile floors is also a nice touch, even though we didn't need them. There was even a jetted jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. Landis Shores also has an afternoon happy hour with wine and appetizers. Highly recommend Landis Shores if you find yourself in the area.

Room Tip: While all rooms have an ocean view, choose one that directly faces the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed for the New Years weekend. Booked a very nice queen room. Room was nicely appointed, modern and well maintained. There is a small balcony with each room and all are ocean front. The view was great. The owners were as hospitable as they can be. We were made to feel very welcome. There is a street and walkway between the lodge and ocean. Not a whole lot of vehicle traffic but there is quite a bit of foot traffic, people jogging, walking dogs to the beach, etc. For myself I was not bothered by it and did enjoy watching the dogs play on the beach. Keep in mind this lodge is more of couples and not families with children. They do have a two person per room rule which is clear when making reservations. I appreciated basically the adults only aspect as of course children will be children and this really isnt the place. The owner/chef really knows his way around the kitchen. Breakfast was terrific. Everything made from scratch. Our weekend included a New Years Eve dinner. We started out on the third floor where homemade hors d'oeuvres and great wines were served. All were excellent. After, we went to the dining area where we were served a four course meal all freshly prepared. Everything from the soup to dessert were as good as it gets. If your looking for an ocean front B & B with great views and food that is basically for couples you couldnt go wrong with Landis Shores. I will be returning.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed in the Landis Shores B+B for the first 4 days of our holiday to California.

This was a great place to overcome the jet lag and chill out. We did walk along the shore, sleep to the sound of the ocean, watch strollers walking their dogs along the shoreline, etc; we also saw dolphins passing by on one day.

The room is clean and very comfortable. The view of the ocean is unobstructed.

The breakfasts are great, the extra tea and coffee available at most times of day was very welcome too.

However, in 4 days we never saw the sun once, foggy every day. This was a surprise to us but to be honest had no effect on our view of this stay at Half Moon Bay. To be able to walk around freely without shade hoping or having to slap on the Sun cream was fine by us. It also added to the mood of the place. One day we did drive in-land and the saw the sun - its only 20 mins away if you really miss it!

So we heartily recommend this place and would seriously consider it on any return visit to California.

Room Tip: all good but sea facing has a slight advantage but yo pay more as expected
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011 via mobile

If you like to walk along the shore, sleep to the sound of the ocean, watch strollers walking their dogs along the shore line, and just have a relaxing then then you can not beat the Landis. The room is clean and comfortable. The view of the ocean is unobstructed and the sounds and smell of the surf are right there for you. The room is a nice size, tastefully decorated and supported by a nice bath with separate shower. The floors are radiant heat, the fireplace is a nice touch, and the parking is easy. The owners have games, movies, and books that you can enjoy as well as a nice breakfast and afternoon snack that are included. Across the street is a nice restaurant. The only things that I wish could have been better was that the balcony is very small and there is no privacy between you and the next one, we liked to sit out there but our neighbor smoked and when you are so close to each other there is no privacy. Another suggestion would be to update the tv. A bit pricey but worth it.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

All 8 rooms have an expansive ocean view, and the inn is right across the street from the beach. Delicious breakfast. Very farm and friendly staff. Fell asleep to sounds of waves every night. Very relaxing. Close to all the local attractions.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Landis Shores and especially enjoyed how close we were to the ocean and wonderful waves. The lodge is quite nice and very clean. I wish I would have taken my own pillow as the pillows provided were much too soft and lumpy. The bed was a little hard but everyone has there own idea of what's comfortable. The breakfasts were nice and presentation was pretty. Very good coffee and the staff was friendly. The long stretch of beach outside is ideal for a nice long walk. We have stayed in many B&B's and found this one nice but not a five star. It is pricy but you pay for being right at the ocean's edge.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 211 Mirada Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landis Shores - An Oceanfront b&b Inn
Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Hotel Half Moon Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.