We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for a Stop on a Road Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor View Inn to your Saves list
Harbor View Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Avenue Alhambra, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Newly Remodeled rooms
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Suisse
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Hotel for a Stop on a Road Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Having read many other reviews, there seems to be sometimes a disappointment regarding the rates in relation to the appearance of the hotel. We have now stayed at the place for one night. In my view the descriptions of the "look & feel" are basically correct. Whether you will like it or not, depends a little bit on the price. If you have to pay a high rate during peak periods, you will certainly expect more for the money. Staying here for a low rate is fine.

The only point for criticism is that the online portal we used for booking showed this as a *** hotel. Not being an expert for hotel categories, but if we compare this to other places where we stayed in the US, we don't quite understand. On the other hand - the place is private owned and not part of a chain, this certainly deserves a plus.

The hotel itself is very close to the Harbor, only separated by the Interstate I. We felt the noise of the traffic as not disturbing. The rooms are practical. We had a fridge, coffee machine and a microwave. The tube television is like the other interior from another time. The rooms are clean and free (reasonably fast) WLAN is available. We did not try the breakfast.

We would come back and stay here.

Room Tip: If you have heady luggage, you may want to ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    36
    19
    12
    24
See reviews for
19
52
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Older hotel. Room smelled awful with a 'freon' type smell. Had to open the windows and door and air it out before we could spend time in it. Great access to other places is the best that can be said about it. If they spent some money this hotel could be a bit more 'user friendly'. Definitely not worth the price paid and would not have spent a second night

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I requested, and received, a remodeled room. It was very, very nice. Large TV with HBO and more channels than a person needs. State of the art shower, hair dryer, coffee, window seat with fully functional windows. The bed was very comfortable. This was the quietest room I can ever remember staying in! Oh, and free wifi. Continental breakfast in the office, with plenty of selections. Office staff very helpful and friendly. Check in is 3:00, but they welcomed me and gave me my room when I arrived early at 12:45! I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Upon walking into our Harbor View Inn guest room we noticed the bathroom flooded and a strange smell to the room. We called housekeeping and they mopped up the flooded bathroom and the manager came and told us that they could not move us to another room. No one bothered to sanitize this dangerous health condition. The ceiling continued a slow drip and the room smelled like urine. Honestly, the worst hotel experience of my life. The manager also refused to provide any compensation for this condition.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The rooms here have obviously not been updated in a long time. The décor is dated and worn. The "breakfast" is pretty much worthless.

But there are some good points too. The location is good, with harbor views. Quite a few restaurants are within walking distance and the café next door is friendly and has tasty food. The young woman at the front desk was very pleasant. Wifi is free. Our room (17) was quite large and pretty quiet. The room had a mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker (and not enough electrical outlets). beds were reasonably comfy.

Basically, it could be great if it were updated. As-is, it's acceptable but overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maisons-Laffitte, France
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a simple older motel style property. Our room was clean and comfortable - if basic. (Fortunately we did not have people in adjacent rooms so we can not comment on room-room noise.) It faces the main road and one hears the traffic passing (but was not excessive).
The desk person was not very friendly. She gave the feeling that she was there because she had to.
Don't bother with the "continental breakfast". (We didn't try it.) Go directly next door where there is a very friendly cafe with large choice of food.
A serious concern is that the hotel insisted on writing the credit card security code on the imprint of the card that they took - a significant violation of credit card security (I have reported to credit card company.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The woman at the front desk was bubbly and helpful. The breakfast needs to be skipped and should embarrass management for the price of a night here. Walk across the street to the yellow coffee shop and have good food.
The control to our roll out windows broke the first time we opened them. This place needs some attention. But maintenance fixed them promptly. Overall, not terrible--and it's the California coast--where everything is great no matter what.
But! Think of trying a hostel--there are two former-lighthouse hostels in this area--much more value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
5.8 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 643 reviews
3.8 mi away
Coastside Inn
Coastside Inn
#7 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Address: 51 Avenue Alhambra, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Harbor View Inn, located on the shores of Half Moon Bay, CA.Come enjoy luxury and comfort at one of the most affordable hotel on the coast, make Harbor View Inn your choice of lodging in Half Moon Bay! Located across the street from the Harbor, along the beautiful California Coast - Just walking distance to the beach and also very easy excess to hwy 1. Guests enjoy the Ocean view. Each of our seventeen comfortably appointed rooms features a bay window seat offering a panoramic view of the harbor and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Half Moon Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.