We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to use Marriott points - not sure to pay $$$” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Very nice place to use Marriott points - not sure to pay $$$”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

My wife, 4 yr old daughter, and I stayed here using Marriott points for 3 nights the wknd before Thanksgiving. We were upgraded to a 1st floor room with an excellent view of the Pacific with a very nice fireplace pit. We also chose to pay the $150 per night for access to the club lounge which offers 4 "tastings" per day and 3 opens of open bar.

Pros

1) Wonderful view
2) Good staff
3) Good room service dinner
4) Good overall experience with club lounge. Better than expected food but wished lounge was not quite as crowded.
5) Firepit outside room was very nice at night

Cons
1) Room was just OK. We're picky but didn't consider out room to be top-notch.
2) Pool was shared with a condo community and pretty poor. Felt like germs were in the air.
3) If Ritz want's to be truly 5 stars, it needs to feel like the Cloister or Inn at Little Washington. This didn't feel that way.

So in short, we will likely go back using points but not paying the list place of $459 for our room per night.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    242
    97
    52
    39
See reviews for
198
524
32
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
milan, italy
Level Contributor
139 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

Wonderful scenic location, nice building, fantastic golf course, but rooms and bathrooms especially could be larger. Anyway, a good weekend spot.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN FRANCISCO, Ca.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

Wonderful location (views) great check-in staff and valet however I was at meetings from 7am to 3pm and returned to a uncleaned room, and it was a MONDAY , not so busy ... Since when does one have to call and and request ones room to be cleaned at a Ritz Carlton, well I guess the property at Halfmoon Bay. Too bad ... when you pay $$$$ for a room one should not have a single thing hamper your time there, I assume thats what you pay for. One can't beat the location but next time I would try to book meetings up in NAPA where there is more to do than play golf and look at pumpkins and maybe the property has a timely housekeeping service.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

Had a very nice stay, but could not find any photos of the luxury suite before our trip. Made sure to take some when I got to HMB to post here.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We had an amazing time at the Ritz at Half Moon Bay. Expectations are always high for a hotel of this quality, but the staff really out-did all of ours. Selecting room with Club access is definitely the way to go as the food and beverages supplied throughout the day make for a convenient (and affordable) experience.

We can't wait to go back. Thanks Ritz Carlton!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We had always wanted to stay at the the new Ritz at Half Moon Bay and we finally made time this summer. It was a sweet getaway for the entire family. ALl of the staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and the bed was heaven with down everything. My husband played golf all day on Sunday. He enjoyed himself so much that he ended up playing another round, 36 holes in all! I enjoyed the super relaxing spa for most of the time. I also took advantage of the pilates & yoga classes, which were included in the price of the stay. I ended up receiving 2 private classes, because I was the only one there. Lucky me! Our entire family enjoyed the heated pool, which is indoors, but with high glass ceilings. The views are amazing. We all went on an easy walk above the cliffs of the ocean and watched sunset. One of the highlights for my 7-year-old son was ordering smores from room service, which is totally worth the money. We had our own fancy fire pit outside our room and they were the best smores I have ever eaten! Seriously, It doesn't get much better than this. If you are heading back into San Francisco after this luxurious getaway, you might to check your head back into reality by first stopping off at Tres Amigos, in Half Moon Bay, which is some of the best Mexican food for super great prices.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

I visited the Ritz Carlton, Half Moon Bay in November 2008 for an anniversary and could not have asked for more. The service, quality of the hotel and rooms and restaurants are all top-notch. I proposed to my fiance along the bluffs of the property on our first night and thanks to the Ritz, it went perfectly. They even placed rose pedals on our bed in the shape of our initials to great us when we returned to the room.

Our Cottage Room was amazing - large, clean and had a great warmth. We spent hours sitting by our patio fireplace admiring the amazing views. We look forward to visiting the Ritz HMB again soon!!!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
0.7 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
5.1 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 645 reviews
5.4 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
5.5 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
12.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel combines the beauty of the Northern California coast with the history of old Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.