We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Visalia, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great service and view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

One of the best hotels on the northern coastline of California! The service was outstanding and the views were hard to beat as well. My fiancé and I enjoyed sitting next to the outdoor fireplace as we watched the sun set over the Pacific. The blankets were also a nice gesture. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    215
    88
    53
    35
See reviews for
166
483
28
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This hotel is amazing! The staff work very hard with attention to every detail - housekeeping, valet, bellman, servers, hosts - it is clearly well organized . If there is even a moment's wait, someone is already apologizing and offering you something! Completely over the top!

I used my trove of Marriott points for a lovely overnight with my mother. The scenery is lovely, the walks on the cliffs, the ocean views. Be warned it's cold - bring a jacket!

Also, I should have taken a photo of the indoor pool - it's full length, about 5 or 6 lanes. Adults are allowed in the morning (no children) so you can get a great work out in total peace. It's in a glass house with a retractable roof about a 5 minute walk from the main area, which was also lovely as it's alongside the cliffs and ocean.

We enjoyed the restaurants immensely. We couldn't get a reservation at Navio but we enjoyed breakfast with a view at Conservatory and room service for dinner. Delicious, worth every penny - fresh, local ingredients. The staff is fully attentive to any special request!

We could have spent the entire time in the resort but there are also fun things to do in Half Moon Bay and Pescadero - enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-CarltonHMB, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Womanexecutive,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. It sounds as though you and your mother enjoyed so much of what makes our resort special. There’s no place in the world quite like Half Moon Bay, and you’ll find something new to love every time you return.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. A dinner at Navio can certainly be arranged. Just let us know when!

Sincerely,
The Ladies and Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The approach to the hotel is not what I was expecting but once I arrived I was blown away. The service was outstanding, the rooms and view spectacular. The golf course is like your playing in Ireland. The fire pits outside a great place to enjoy the sunset listening to the bag pipes. A great place to vacation with the family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

The location can't be beat and the staff are terrific. Food was delicious but overpriced. Rooms are very nice. Facilities are beautiful. Enjoyed the indoor pool and walks by the coast. Beautiful golf courses and spa. Was charged for a meal I didn't have and am still waiting for a call or email back. Other than that, an amazing stay. And did I mention the location? Breathtaking!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I didn't realize that the was a Ritz Carlton in Half Moon Bay and when my wife took me as a surprise for our 30th wedding anniversary, I thought I'd died and gone to heaven. All of the luxuries that one has come to expect from the Ritz...and on the Pacific Ocean as well!

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Pacific Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

My husband and I along with our 5 yr old daughter stayed here for a couple of days and we stayed in the guest house with fire pit.The room was AMAZING along with the view.We also brought out 2 dogs which was also a bonus that the hotel was so pet friendly.We have stayed at the Ritz a few times before but this one was the best!The fire pit room with the ocean view was just so relaxing.Our daughter loved roasting marshmallows at night which was such a plus.They also provided this hot chocolate bar outside during the evening which was really cool and very kid friendly.There was plenty of things to do for adults as well as kids which made it very cool. The only negative i would give is that the rooms do need to be updated, at least the room we stayed in needed one.it was a little 90's looking. the other thing that seemed like it could have been better was the food. we tried a bunch of things from the room service menu as well as the casual dining restaurant and it just didn't seem up to the standard that I was expecting with the Ritz. Our overall experience was great and relaxing but if those 2 things were fixed it would really elevate the entire experience.

Room Tip: guest house with the fire pit terrace and ocean view rooms are amazing!they are not in the hotel but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-CarltonHMB, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Amy T,

Thank you for your kind words. We’re delighted to know that your whole family—dogs included—enjoyed a relaxing few days here at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay. We appreciate your honest feedback about our rooms and cuisine and will be sure to take your suggestions into consideration moving forward.

We hope to see you again soon and feel confident that your next experience will reflect the standards you’ve come to expect from a Ritz-Carlton resort.

Sincerely,
The Ladies and Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

After staying at the Ritz Carlton a couple of weeks ago, I can't imagine anyone staying anywhere else. The room we were given was a double queen that sat a couple rooms to the right of the center courtyard and reception area. Two gorgeous adirondack chairs and our own gas firepit provided the perfect setting to watch the gorgeous sunsets just past the 18th green, and behind the bluffs that are a mere 50 yards away. The waves crashing just within an earshot and the gorgeous views are matched by none. The rates at which these rooms were priced are amazing, especially given the amenities and incredible views. Honeymooners, vacationers, or just a random west coast adventure this place is PERFECT. Great for couples and families alike, with access to the beach and bluffs within a couple minute trek down the walkway on the property. The rooms are incredibly comfortable and spacious, including french doors to the bathroom, with large tub, separate shower, his and her sink, and a separate room for the toilet. The entire facility is extremely clean and the staff is top notch. There are two restaurants on the property that offer some amazing cuisine and a sommelier that is on point with recommendations. If you are looking for a place along the coast in California, there is NO other place you should visit! A+++++

Room Tip: Request a room that faces the courtyard, they have the best views, and firepits on the patio. PERFEC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel combines the beauty of the Northern California coast with the history of old Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.