We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Rooms were beautiful and you can't beat the view and the unbelievable beach. The staff was friendly and attentive. By far the best service in the nation. Food was above average in the bar and lounge. I'd stick with the beautiful restaurants within the property for excellent food.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-CarltonHMB, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Christy,

We cannot thank you enough for your kind words. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed so much of what makes The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay special. You can rest assured that we will continue working to deserve the humbling distinction of “Best service in the nation.” We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
The Ladies and Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    215
    88
    53
    35
See reviews for
166
483
28
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This hotel is unbelievably beautiful. The cottage rooms have their own private fire pit which is really fun and the rest of the hotel is stunning. Even if you don't stay here, stop by and have a cocktail outside on their expansive patio just for the views alone.

I can't wait to come back and play a round of golf and relax.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-CarltonHMB, Executive Offices at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Ashley,

Thank you for your kind words! Daily golf and nightly fireside cocktails are two surefire ways to enjoy a stay at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay. Please let us know if there’s anything we can do to help plan your next relaxing visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
The Ladies and Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Enjoyed two night getaway weekend in an oceanfront firepit room at this 5-star property along the Pacific Coast. Service from all staff was impeccable -- prompt, courteous, and welcoming without exception. Room was comfortable, thought not especially spacious. Bathroom was elegantly decorated, though the shower was surprisingly small. Firepit on the ocean-facing patio was definitely the highlight. Enjoyed one of the most beautiful sunsets I have ever seen! Overall, the vibe is one of complete relaxation. Had an outstanding dinner at Navio restaurant as well, which also boasts one of the best views in the Bay area.

Room Tip: Firepit rooms are a worthwhile splurge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-CarltonHMB, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear myangsf,

Thank you for your feedback. It sounds like the theme of your stay was “location, location, location”! We’re so happy that you were able to experience one of Half Moon Bay’s signature sunsets. There are truly no words to describe that moment when the sun disappears over the bluffs and beyond the horizon. Add the warmth and convenience of your own, private fire pit, and it becomes truly magical. If you could use a bit more space next time, we would be happy to find you more suitable accommodations. Until then, please let us know if there’s anything we can do to be of service.

Sincerely,
The Ladies and Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This Ritz does not disappoint. Although an initial snafu with our reservation at check-in, the rest of our stay was just lovely! Beautiful room (although nightstand and desk scratched with age); great gym, facing the ocean. Outside fire pits and blankets were a plus. Best staff member was Dalia, our turn-town service attendant -- she was deferential, kind, thorough and took care of our room with a smile. Also, the young man at the concierge desk was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Ritz -- Deluxe Ocean View Rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-CarltonHMB, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear srir8286,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay. We always love to hear from guests, especially when our ladies and gentlemen have gone above and beyond to create a special experience. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience at check-in; you can rest assured your next stay will be free of incident and filled with everything you’ve come to love about our resort.

Sincerely,
The Ladies and Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed here recently for an event at the property. This hotel has everything - beautiful views, outstanding amenities, typical top-notch Ritz-Carlton Staff, and excellent food. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: pick a waterfront view (corner if possible)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed there on points, but nothing indicated that we were treated less then other guests, on the contrary. A couple of days before we arrived I received an inquiry from the hotel whether they could make reservations, or that we were on a special trip. I indicated that we were travelling to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday, but also indicated that her birthday was the day after we left Half Moon bay.
When we arrived my wife was greeted with a genuine happy birthday. We received a very nice room, and went for a walk along the coast. After we returned, we received a very nice gift for my wife's birthday (although it was two days later and the hotel knew this).
We dined in room, and that was also a treat.
I have nothing but good comments about this hotel. Nice staff, good room, great bed, etc. etc.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-CarltonHMB, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Stef V,

Thank you very much for sharing your review of your recent visit. We are so pleased that you chose The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay for your wife’s 50th birthday celebration! It sounds like you both enjoyed a very special stay.

A walk on the beach and private in-room dining are hallmarks of a romantic couple’s getaway. Next time you join us, I’d welcome you to plan a wine tasting or a round of golf. There’s so much to do and see here in Half Moon Bay!

Until we meet again, please let me know if there’s anything we can do to be of service.

Sincerely,
The Ladies and Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We stay on February 21/22 at this great hotel set above the cliff tops.it reminder us so must of Scotland,the morning fog and the piper at dusk.This hotel is top notch,great value for the money and the staff are great .we had a problem with some noise above our room when we contacted the desk mr.Manuel Terra took control of the problem moved us to new room and check the next day to see if we needed anything else he is a credit to the ritz carlton group,service at its best!they are great with kids as well with a ongoing treasure hunt going on all the time.My only regret was that we were only here for two nights before we moved on to L.A .thanks for a great stay .

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-CarltonHMB, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear HowgateRestaurant,

We appreciate you taking a moment to share your review your stay with us this February. With fabulous golf and rolling green hills, Half Moon Bay is very reminiscent of a Scottish getaway!

We apologize for the issue of room noise, but I’m very pleased to hear that Mr. Terra was so helpful. He is certainly known for going above and beyond for guests. Thanks so much for mentioning our V.I.K. (Very Important Kid) program – it’s such a blast for young guests.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation and will join us again soon. I look forward to speaking with and seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
The Ladies and Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel combines the beauty of the Northern California coast with the history of old Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.