We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property with Sounds of Ocean Waves!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property with Sounds of Ocean Waves!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This Ritz does not disappoint. Although an initial snafu with our reservation at check-in, the rest of our stay was just lovely! Beautiful room (although nightstand and desk scratched with age); great gym, facing the ocean. Outside fire pits and blankets were a plus. Best staff member was Dalia, our turn-town service attendant -- she was deferential, kind, thorough and took care of our room with a smile. Also, the young man at the concierge desk was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Ritz -- Deluxe Ocean View Rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-CarltonHMB, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear srir8286,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay. We always love to hear from guests, especially when our ladies and gentlemen have gone above and beyond to create a special experience. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience at check-in; you can rest assured your next stay will be free of incident and filled with everything you’ve come to love about our resort.

Sincerely,
The Ladies and Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    242
    97
    52
    39
See reviews for
198
524
32
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed here recently for an event at the property. This hotel has everything - beautiful views, outstanding amenities, typical top-notch Ritz-Carlton Staff, and excellent food. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: pick a waterfront view (corner if possible)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed there on points, but nothing indicated that we were treated less then other guests, on the contrary. A couple of days before we arrived I received an inquiry from the hotel whether they could make reservations, or that we were on a special trip. I indicated that we were travelling to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday, but also indicated that her birthday was the day after we left Half Moon bay.
When we arrived my wife was greeted with a genuine happy birthday. We received a very nice room, and went for a walk along the coast. After we returned, we received a very nice gift for my wife's birthday (although it was two days later and the hotel knew this).
We dined in room, and that was also a treat.
I have nothing but good comments about this hotel. Nice staff, good room, great bed, etc. etc.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-CarltonHMB, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Stef V,

Thank you very much for sharing your review of your recent visit. We are so pleased that you chose The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay for your wife’s 50th birthday celebration! It sounds like you both enjoyed a very special stay.

A walk on the beach and private in-room dining are hallmarks of a romantic couple’s getaway. Next time you join us, I’d welcome you to plan a wine tasting or a round of golf. There’s so much to do and see here in Half Moon Bay!

Until we meet again, please let me know if there’s anything we can do to be of service.

Sincerely,
The Ladies and Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We stay on February 21/22 at this great hotel set above the cliff tops.it reminder us so must of Scotland,the morning fog and the piper at dusk.This hotel is top notch,great value for the money and the staff are great .we had a problem with some noise above our room when we contacted the desk mr.Manuel Terra took control of the problem moved us to new room and check the next day to see if we needed anything else he is a credit to the ritz carlton group,service at its best!they are great with kids as well with a ongoing treasure hunt going on all the time.My only regret was that we were only here for two nights before we moved on to L.A .thanks for a great stay .

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-CarltonHMB, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear HowgateRestaurant,

We appreciate you taking a moment to share your review your stay with us this February. With fabulous golf and rolling green hills, Half Moon Bay is very reminiscent of a Scottish getaway!

We apologize for the issue of room noise, but I’m very pleased to hear that Mr. Terra was so helpful. He is certainly known for going above and beyond for guests. Thanks so much for mentioning our V.I.K. (Very Important Kid) program – it’s such a blast for young guests.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation and will join us again soon. I look forward to speaking with and seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
The Ladies and Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We were greeted from the time we got there and felt like celebrities the whole time. Had club lounge access so we felt like we were in an all in inclusive hotel. Food great, view spectacular, bag piper amazing, spa treatments to die for, sunsets beautiful,
fire pits outside our room. Golf course view beautiful.
Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-CarltonHMB, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Natalie S,

Thanks for your review! It’s wonderful to know that you enjoyed your recent stay here at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay. As you found, there is nothing quite like the Club Level experience, and we would love to be able to give you the celebrity treatment again soon. Next time you find yourself daydreaming about bagpipes at sunset and peaceful evenings spent fireside, just give us a call.

Sincerely,
The Ladies & Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We spent 4 nights at the hotel - a mix of business (attending a conference) and pleasure. As expected at a Ritz Carlton, the service was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel has an excellent position overlooking the sea and surrounded by the golf course. When the tide is out, long walks on the beach are possible. The outside area has plenty of seating and the fire pits are great in the evening. However, if the weather is poor, there is limited indoor lounge space. The food is good but portions are small (as commented on by guests that we invited to join us). The only niggle we have with this hotel is the excessive charge for the compulsory valet parking at $45 per night (day guests were only charged $10 per day).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-CarltonHMB, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear John C,

Thanks for sharing your recent experience here at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay. We always love hearing from business travelers who managed to have a little fun during their stay. If you enjoyed the hotel in the winter, you’ll have to visit again during the warmer months to experience summer on the coast. There’s nothing quite like it, and we’re confident that with a little more leisure time, you’ll find even more to love. Until then, please let us know if there’s anything we can do to be of service.

Sincerely,
The Ladies and Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We are Bay Area locals and love this property. It is a great place. We have gone for romantic get aways, family weekends (including our dogs) and just for the day. The outside fire pits are great for making s'mores and drinking hot chocolate. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room with the a private fire pit on your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
0.7 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
5.1 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 645 reviews
5.4 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
5.5 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
12.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel combines the beauty of the Northern California coast with the history of old Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.