We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing trip, well worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Penn Valley, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Amazing trip, well worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We have stayed at other fine resorts and Ritz Carlton locations, but this was by far the best. The views are incredible and the golfing (recommend ocean course) was quite difficult but a wonderful experience. The service and people are incredibly kind and warm and the fire pit at dusk is a ton of fun! Navio was a great dinner and our waiter was the best we have had at any restaurant! We tend to like to visit new locations each time we travel, but this is one we will certainly return to. Highly recommend!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    208
    87
    53
    33
See reviews for
157
462
28
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, New Mexico, United States
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We went out over Father's Day in June and of course the prices were very high but we really wanted to stay there so we did. We had two rooms with private firepits that overlooked the 18th green and ocean. Wonderful view. The staff was very accommodating in the outdoor bar and both restaurants. The guys played the ocean course which was beautiful. We took a segway tour on Father's Day morning which was really fun.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely. Lovely facility, rooms, and grounds. Great staff.

Room Tip: The private fire pit rooms are just too much fun to not stay in one.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Excellent resort and hotel.
It is expensive, you definitely get what you pay for.
The staff can make every reasonable request happen. Pet friendly.
Pros-
Everything. Beautiful views, comfortable swanky hotel. Wines - incredible, of course.
Cons-
Pricey.
25-30 minute ride from San Francisco depending on traffic.
Food - was good, but not fantastic. Excellent presentation and plating. Seemed a little bland. Califonia "healthy living"influence? Enjoyed cheaper, tastier food in the town of Half Moon Bay.

Came here for golf. Even if you are not a golfer this is a great place.
And the town of Half Moon bay is quaint, easy to navigate and interesting.
Golf-
What a beautiful course(s).
Strange thing- no driving range to warm up on.
Greens- the most difficult ones you will putt on. They do not hold the ball. A mid iron shot must be played short with the strategy to run up. Even a pitching wedge will run. Plan to use your gap, sand or lob wedges for a high shot that drops straight down if you plan to go flag hunting.
The Ocean Course in a thing of beauty. It is for giving allowing you to recover errant shots without too much penalty.
The Old Course is more challenging. Here you need to bring your A game.
Green fees are $180+ particularly on weekends.
Food at Mullins was just OK and service can be slow. Cart girls were invisible. Apparently for such a swanky expensive course, they only hire 2 or 3 cart ladies.

The hotel staff is fantastic and accomodating. I asked one of the housekeeping staff if they liked working here and the answer was, "It is like family here". And it shows.

Don't over think the decision to stay here. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Any room is great. They have rooms with private gas flamed fire pits. Ocean views are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I am very lucky enough to get to travel and stay in some amazing properties across the globe. We arrived on Thursday and stayed for three nights in one of the cottage suites (which I thought was a little sparsely furnished and tired). The personal fire pit was a cool feature. The hotel property is peaceful, scenic and convenient with an easy drive from either San Jose or San Francisco airports. First impressions say "we have arrived at a 'Ritz Carlton' ". The first impressions didn't last long. If you've ever stayed at a RC, you know there is a certain expectation for level of service. It fell a little short here, especially in the food service department. We had dinner on property the first evening. It was fair, not great. The following morning we made our way to breakfast and were seated in the dining room. Three separate staff and 10min later we finally received coffee and water. The service didn't get any better. If I was at Denny's or Mimi's Cafe I wouldn't care so much. But if you are asking me to spend $70 on a waffle and omelet in the Ritz Carlton, your damn right I expect better service! So, all in all it's a lovely property. It appears to be great for golfers (which I am not). We may have just hit a blip on the radar with the service we received. It certainly wouldn't stop me from returning or recommending this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Ritz for our 20th Anniversary. The service was first class and the location was unbelievable. You must get the rooms with the fire pits. We used our fire pit in the morning and evening with views of the golf course and ocean. We were treated very nice with extras for our anniversary. The cost is high but well worth it for special occasions. The restaurants were great and the deck overlooking the ocean was perfect to have a drink and watch the sunset. Had a great drive down the coast to Carmel. Highly recommend.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton Shores, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and felt spoiled and relaxed. Although we are not golfers, it was a wonderfully romantic place to visit. The golf course is right on the ocean and must be a wonderful place to have a round of 18 holes with friends. We stayed at the Club Level and wouldn't have needed a meal elsewhere! Staff throughout made our stay memorable. We were greeted at the check in desk with a glass of wine and they provided me with a little birthday gift in my room and a nice dessert at dinner. We definitely would stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I went here for our wedding anniversary, and while our celebration was lovely, the venue fell short of expectations. I will concede that this locale was hyped very much to me, and I had high expectations, but for this high price point of luxury and it being a Ritz, I don't think they were unreasonable. All the positive views about the location and setting are spot on--the views are spectacular, the coastline is dramatic, and I would highly recommend enjoying happy hour and sunset on the fire pit patio while listening to the bag piper---the atmosphere is romantic, festive, while still being relaxing. My main quarrel with the experience was the level of service was not commensurate with the price point. The staff made it very difficult to bring our well behaved dog, and it was only after prodding them multiple times that I discovered their dog friendly 'cottages' on the property that allow for canine residents. The rooms have nice facades, but they lacked attention to detail---our deck was dirty with lots of chipped paint, and the cleaning staff consistently forgot to pick up used dishes. The highly touted food was average, and hackneyed. I really wanted this venue to deliver an experience that was deserved with its top rating, but it was not good value. Pick another lodge, and just visit the happy hour and beach instead.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel combines the beauty of the Northern California coast with the history of old Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.