We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fire and Wine Package
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Half Moon Bay
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Ritz for our 20th Anniversary. The service was first class and the location was unbelievable. You must get the rooms with the fire pits. We used our fire pit in the morning and evening with views of the golf course and ocean. We were treated very nice with extras for our anniversary. The cost is high but well worth it for special occasions. The restaurants were great and the deck overlooking the ocean was perfect to have a drink and watch the sunset. Had a great drive down the coast to Carmel. Highly recommend.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    536
    174
    71
    47
    31
See reviews for
139
391
24
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norton Shores, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and felt spoiled and relaxed. Although we are not golfers, it was a wonderfully romantic place to visit. The golf course is right on the ocean and must be a wonderful place to have a round of 18 holes with friends. We stayed at the Club Level and wouldn't have needed a meal elsewhere! Staff throughout made our stay memorable. We were greeted at the check in desk with a glass of wine and they provided me with a little birthday gift in my room and a nice dessert at dinner. We definitely would stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I went here for our wedding anniversary, and while our celebration was lovely, the venue fell short of expectations. I will concede that this locale was hyped very much to me, and I had high expectations, but for this high price point of luxury and it being a Ritz, I don't think they were unreasonable. All the positive views about the location and setting are spot on--the views are spectacular, the coastline is dramatic, and I would highly recommend enjoying happy hour and sunset on the fire pit patio while listening to the bag piper---the atmosphere is romantic, festive, while still being relaxing. My main quarrel with the experience was the level of service was not commensurate with the price point. The staff made it very difficult to bring our well behaved dog, and it was only after prodding them multiple times that I discovered their dog friendly 'cottages' on the property that allow for canine residents. The rooms have nice facades, but they lacked attention to detail---our deck was dirty with lots of chipped paint, and the cleaning staff consistently forgot to pick up used dishes. The highly touted food was average, and hackneyed. I really wanted this venue to deliver an experience that was deserved with its top rating, but it was not good value. Pick another lodge, and just visit the happy hour and beach instead.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanfrancisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I love this place, we go usually around Halloween time yearly, I'm always have great time, food services, spa and the view is just mesmerizing. I really recommend it all around the year, however it is fantastic in the fall time, now get your loved one and enjoy it

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a long weekend at this property. The hotel is situated on a very picturesque piece of property on the coast. While the hotel is nice; it is small. While there on Thursday and Friday, my husband and I enjoyed peaceful views of the ocean and quiet meals among other travelers who had paid $$$ for all that the Ritz provides. However, beginning on Friday night and continuing into the rest of the weekend -- many, many Californians came into the hotel to sightsee. The hotel provides an on-site, free multi-level parking garage for the public to access the beach. With that privilege, many, many people from off-property come to enjoy the same sights the hotel guests pay to see. They often do not respect the solitude and peace that the hotel guests crave. They also take up many of the spa appointments, outside seating facing the ocean and meal reservations. Be aware of this before booking your reservation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

If you like ocean and golf course views, it's hard to find a better location than this. The October weather was dry and sunny when we visited, so it added to the ambience, although we experienced the Half Moon Bay wind and chill during one of the evenings outdoors. The staff thoughtfully provided blankets for those who didn't dress warmly enough. We were here for a conference, so we had wide exposure to the food and service. It met expectations, and some of the recipes with locally sourced ingredients proved first rate. We appreciated the ocean and 18th hole views from our room, liked the decent glass of local zinfandel we were offered at check-in, and found the room and property met the decor and standards you would expect at a Ritz. All in all, the price costs you dear for everything, but if the weather cooperates as it did this time the indulgence is worth it for a few days.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The location is stunning and for the most part our experience was excellent. Two things keep me from saying that the expereince as a whole was excellent for a Ritz experience.
One was the check-in process. We did check in a little early, but were told that we would be in our room by 4:00. We were told we could wait in the club lounge and they would come and get us when our room was ready. We had a room at the club level. We waited and waited and well past four no one had come for us, but other couples that were waiting had been summoned and told their rooms were ready. We finally checked and they said they were sorry, they didn't undertand why we had not been called, but our room had been ready for a while. We had to rush to get down to dinner reservations when there should have been no need for that.
Second reason I would not give an excellent rating was the restaurant, Navio was not up to par with some other Ritz property restaurants where we have eaten.
On the positive side ... this location is stunning. Sitting in the club lounge looking at that view over champagne is wonderful!
The room was comfortable and clean. The staff was kind and helpful and the food presentations in the club lounge were some of the best we have experienced. The concierge was helpful in making suggestions for other places to visit and things to do in the area.
The wine bar was fun and enjoyed trying an aroma and taste test with the sommelier.
There were several weddings on property this weekend and looked like they were well prepared for some nasty weather on day.
We would love to come back. It may seem picky not to give an excellent review, but ... we stay at many Ritz properties, so we do expect a lot.

Room Tip: Chose the club level if you can facing the ocean. We noticed people that had the main level rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel combines the beauty of the Northern California coast with the history of old Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.