We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING PROPERTY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fire and Wine Package
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
DC, Beirut
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“AMAZING PROPERTY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Ritz Carlton in Half Moon Bay is just amazing. The views are breathtaking. Really one of the most beautiful views anywhere. The Golf course is also incredible.

We noticed a huge improvement in the Restaurant on this trip. This is our third visit to the hotel. In particular, Gonzague Muchery, the food and beverage service manager is so impressive. He made our meal truly very very enjoyable. Also Horace our waiter was fantastic. He made some great recommendations and was really delightful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    189
    79
    50
    32
See reviews for
147
426
26
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I admit is a beautiful location however I found the facilities were not up to par. What was most disgusting was the moldy cup that we found in the coffee machine in a row. When I brought this up to management they acted remorseful,But that was only until we left and their promises of reconciliation were equally as shameful....

I've stayed a number of Ritz-Carlton throughout United States. This one ranks the worst.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at the Ritz in Half Moon Bay for the second time. This is a unique property on a bluff overlooking the ocean. The setting is beautiful. Once again, we loved it. We stayed on the club level and had a great room. Dining options are a bit limited (one restaurant and a lobby lounge), and it's a drive to go off property. That said, I really enjoyed lunch at the conference I attended and in the club lounge the next day. This is a great hotel for a couple of nights (or more if you like golf or spa treatments).

Room Tip: Stay in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel is classic Ritz with their intense focus on the details.
And like any Ritz - be prepared to shell out the big bucks.
It is a wonderful place to spend a Sunday afternoon with or without the sun.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We did not stay at the Ritz however we wanted to go take a look and have lunch on Sunday. We had to valet park and when we drove up they informed us that it would be $20.00 to go in and take a look or $10.00 if we ate at the coffee shop. We were a little surprised that we had to pay $10.00 to go and have something to eat. They should tell people that at the guard gate, not at the valet parking area. The valet actually apologized for the charge when we came out and asked for our car. Maybe he thinks it is an unusually high charge to go and have lunch at a coffee shop too.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Was surprised that this property wasn't up to the usual Ritz-Carlton standards. Rooms were less than clean and the beds the most uncomfortable I have experienced in a hotel in years. Would expect that the mattress should have been replaced a long time ago. Food was adequate but very expensive for what it was. Overall, nothing special but the view from the patio. However, Michael in reservations and Greg in the restaurant were lovely and responsive. They really provided excellent, personalized service. Thanks to both of them!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, ME
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent 6 days at this hotel resort and the service, location and views were absolutely top notch. However, eating here is a different experience. Food is solid but so overpriced as to take away from the experience. There has to be a reasonable alternative!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel combines the beauty of the Northern California coast with the history of old Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;