We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fire and Wine Package
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Half Moon Bay
Las Vegas, NV
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We did not stay at the Ritz however we wanted to go take a look and have lunch on Sunday. We had to valet park and when we drove up they informed us that it would be $20.00 to go in and take a look or $10.00 if we ate at the coffee shop. We were a little surprised that we had to pay $10.00 to go and have something to eat. They should tell people that at the guard gate, not at the valet parking area. The valet actually apologized for the charge when we came out and asked for our car. Maybe he thinks it is an unusually high charge to go and have lunch at a coffee shop too.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    561
    183
    75
    48
    32
See reviews for
144
410
26
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Was surprised that this property wasn't up to the usual Ritz-Carlton standards. Rooms were less than clean and the beds the most uncomfortable I have experienced in a hotel in years. Would expect that the mattress should have been replaced a long time ago. Food was adequate but very expensive for what it was. Overall, nothing special but the view from the patio. However, Michael in reservations and Greg in the restaurant were lovely and responsive. They really provided excellent, personalized service. Thanks to both of them!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, ME
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent 6 days at this hotel resort and the service, location and views were absolutely top notch. However, eating here is a different experience. Food is solid but so overpriced as to take away from the experience. There has to be a reasonable alternative!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Reserved a fire pit ocean view terrace room which was nicely appointed. The view of the ocean is obscured by the hill in front of terrace so not much of a view but the bathroom and living areas are spacious and comfortable. One need not play golf to stay here, it's simply a beautiful location with the sea, wildlife and walking trails. Would only recommend view rooms since the front of the hotel faces homes and car port etc . Asprey amenities and seller are tub and shower. Large bathrooms and plenty of closet space. I paid 855 a night and while a bit steep it's a great place to unwind and relax

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on the first night of our honeymoon since we were married in Wine Country and had a night in the Bay Area before flying out on a Monday morning. We were pleasantly surprised with the fact that it was not actually too bad of a drive to the airport! We did not have any trouble finding it with our GPS.

We were hesitant to stay here given some of the reviews on TripAdvisor about the quality of the staff and the experience, but I have to say, in terms of service, this hotel really got it right. All (and I truly mean ALL) of the staff we encountered, from the valet to the front desk staff to the room service, were polite, polished and went out their way to make sure you enjoyed your stay. We stayed in a ground floor, firepit room (complimentary upgrade) and found it to be quiet, spacious and well-appointed. The beds were heavenly, the bathrooms are gigantic and exceptionally clean and I honestly did not want to get out of that amazing shower. They also have a great bagpiper play in the evenings as the sun sets, which is a neat experience.

Knowing I was going to write this review, I really tried to find something wrong with this hotel, but I found nothing. To top it off, this hotel has absolutely incredible views and a great walking path (but bring your jacket because it is very chilly near the ocean!). This may have been the most relaxing day and night of our entire honeymoon. As a side note, we were staying on points, and they honored our Marriott Platinum Rewards status (without even asking), which we were not sure they would do, including complimentary internet.

The valet parking is expensive ($45), but we were given a resort credit that covered it. Also, this is a large hotel and is fairly busy, but they still manage to make it feel personal and upscale. I would love to stay here again, and hope to do so again in the near future.

Room Tip: The ground floor fire pit rooms are lovely and have great sunset views, though they are close to one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Il.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the Ritz on the 1st day of our San Francisco/Napa trip. The rooms were unbelievable .the grounds and view breath taking. Great view of the golf course and the bay. The bar had a great wine flight that we sampled. The staff and managers were all accommodating, professional and very friendly. The stay made our trip memorable.

Room Tip: You want to be high up, with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

First the good news... The view is spectacular, the health club was clean and up to date and the staff, excluding the Front Desk attendant Kelli were great.

After seeing the room I was assigned, I was not happy and went back to the Front Desk for a change. Kelli was not very helpful and the only option presented to me was an upgrade that was charged at $150 per night. Given that I am a Gold member and the hotel was at 60% occupancy, I believe more should have been done to alleviate my concerns without an additional charge being levied. In my trips throughout North America and Singapore, this is a common practice followed at Ritz properties but not at this hotel.

The suite we paid a premium for was roomier, but was not cleaned to the normal Ritz Carlton standards. There were crumbs on the couch and the furnishings definitely were in need of an upgrade.

We did write the GM of the Hotel to voice our concern prior to posting this note but were not given the courtesy of a response, which speaks volumes as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel combines the beauty of the Northern California coast with the history of old Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Venere, Otel and Priceline so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.