We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Singularly unimpressed!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay

Save Saved
You added The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fire and Wine Package!
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Singularly unimpressed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Was surprised that this property wasn't up to the usual Ritz-Carlton standards. Rooms were less than clean and the beds the most uncomfortable I have experienced in a hotel in years. Would expect that the mattress should have been replaced a long time ago. Food was adequate but very expensive for what it was. Overall, nothing special but the view from the patio. However, Michael in reservations and Greg in the restaurant were lovely and responsive. They really provided excellent, personalized service. Thanks to both of them!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    502
    165
    67
    45
    30
See reviews for
132
364
24
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, ME
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent 6 days at this hotel resort and the service, location and views were absolutely top notch. However, eating here is a different experience. Food is solid but so overpriced as to take away from the experience. There has to be a reasonable alternative!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Reserved a fire pit ocean view terrace room which was nicely appointed. The view of the ocean is obscured by the hill in front of terrace so not much of a view but the bathroom and living areas are spacious and comfortable. One need not play golf to stay here, it's simply a beautiful location with the sea, wildlife and walking trails. Would only recommend view rooms since the front of the hotel faces homes and car port etc . Asprey amenities and seller are tub and shower. Large bathrooms and plenty of closet space. I paid 855 a night and while a bit steep it's a great place to unwind and relax

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on the first night of our honeymoon since we were married in Wine Country and had a night in the Bay Area before flying out on a Monday morning. We were pleasantly surprised with the fact that it was not actually too bad of a drive to the airport! We did not have any trouble finding it with our GPS.

We were hesitant to stay here given some of the reviews on TripAdvisor about the quality of the staff and the experience, but I have to say, in terms of service, this hotel really got it right. All (and I truly mean ALL) of the staff we encountered, from the valet to the front desk staff to the room service, were polite, polished and went out their way to make sure you enjoyed your stay. We stayed in a ground floor, firepit room (complimentary upgrade) and found it to be quiet, spacious and well-appointed. The beds were heavenly, the bathrooms are gigantic and exceptionally clean and I honestly did not want to get out of that amazing shower. They also have a great bagpiper play in the evenings as the sun sets, which is a neat experience.

Knowing I was going to write this review, I really tried to find something wrong with this hotel, but I found nothing. To top it off, this hotel has absolutely incredible views and a great walking path (but bring your jacket because it is very chilly near the ocean!). This may have been the most relaxing day and night of our entire honeymoon. As a side note, we were staying on points, and they honored our Marriott Platinum Rewards status (without even asking), which we were not sure they would do, including complimentary internet.

The valet parking is expensive ($45), but we were given a resort credit that covered it. Also, this is a large hotel and is fairly busy, but they still manage to make it feel personal and upscale. I would love to stay here again, and hope to do so again in the near future.

Room Tip: The ground floor fire pit rooms are lovely and have great sunset views, though they are close to one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Il.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the Ritz on the 1st day of our San Francisco/Napa trip. The rooms were unbelievable .the grounds and view breath taking. Great view of the golf course and the bay. The bar had a great wine flight that we sampled. The staff and managers were all accommodating, professional and very friendly. The stay made our trip memorable.

Room Tip: You want to be high up, with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

First the good news... The view is spectacular, the health club was clean and up to date and the staff, excluding the Front Desk attendant Kelli were great.

After seeing the room I was assigned, I was not happy and went back to the Front Desk for a change. Kelli was not very helpful and the only option presented to me was an upgrade that was charged at $150 per night. Given that I am a Gold member and the hotel was at 60% occupancy, I believe more should have been done to alleviate my concerns without an additional charge being levied. In my trips throughout North America and Singapore, this is a common practice followed at Ritz properties but not at this hotel.

The suite we paid a premium for was roomier, but was not cleaned to the normal Ritz Carlton standards. There were crumbs on the couch and the furnishings definitely were in need of an upgrade.

We did write the GM of the Hotel to voice our concern prior to posting this note but were not given the courtesy of a response, which speaks volumes as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the Ritz in Half Moon Bay the end of August and it certainly lived up to the reputation it holds.

We arranged a limo through the concierge before coming in, and the trip from the airport (SFO) was surprisingly short and enjoyable. Limo driver was very nice.

The property itself was beautiful, and we had a huge suite on the 5th floor (concierge level) and although not overlooking the ocean it was still nice. Beautiful views and we did have some nice weather. Although it was supposed to be in the 60's it was sunny and nearly 70 every day. The fog does roll in when it wants to though.

Sitting by the Pacific is always wonderful and relaxing. Plenty to do by going into town (nice shops) or just enjoying the view. Hiking, bird watching and trips into the California countryside can fill your days.

Taxis are readily available, but give them a few minutes to arrive.

Food was very good at the lounge and at Navio and the Conservatory (our waitress Shannon one night was super).

The only negative I have is that the pool is somewhat off property (10 minute walk) and enclosed. Personally I love sitting by the pool and getting sun, so don't have those expectations when you come.

I have to say that the entire staff was perhaps the most courteous and accommodating when compared to any other property I have stayed. Friendly greetings, always willing to help and seemed to really enjoy what they were doing. They should all be commended as its the people that make this Ritz a great property.

Spa was also very good, great massage and nice lounge/hot tubs and a coed mineral bath. I would do again.

We did do an organized winery tour with our convention group (about 20 of us). It certainly could have been better organized on the logistics and how the time was spent. Still nice to see some beautiful country, but if you have a car do this on your own.

We did get a good rate on the rooms for 5 days, so look for specials. Either way it ain't cheap!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay

Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Ritz-Carlton Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz-Carlton
Half Moon Bay Ritz
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton
Address: One Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel combines the beauty of the Northern California coast with the history of old Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.