We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel Stay, Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington Heights, Il.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel Stay, Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the Ritz on the 1st day of our San Francisco/Napa trip. The rooms were unbelievable .the grounds and view breath taking. Great view of the golf course and the bay. The bar had a great wine flight that we sampled. The staff and managers were all accommodating, professional and very friendly. The stay made our trip memorable.

Room Tip: You want to be high up, with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    232
    91
    52
    39
See reviews for
188
509
31
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

First the good news... The view is spectacular, the health club was clean and up to date and the staff, excluding the Front Desk attendant Kelli were great.

After seeing the room I was assigned, I was not happy and went back to the Front Desk for a change. Kelli was not very helpful and the only option presented to me was an upgrade that was charged at $150 per night. Given that I am a Gold member and the hotel was at 60% occupancy, I believe more should have been done to alleviate my concerns without an additional charge being levied. In my trips throughout North America and Singapore, this is a common practice followed at Ritz properties but not at this hotel.

The suite we paid a premium for was roomier, but was not cleaned to the normal Ritz Carlton standards. There were crumbs on the couch and the furnishings definitely were in need of an upgrade.

We did write the GM of the Hotel to voice our concern prior to posting this note but were not given the courtesy of a response, which speaks volumes as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the Ritz in Half Moon Bay the end of August and it certainly lived up to the reputation it holds.

We arranged a limo through the concierge before coming in, and the trip from the airport (SFO) was surprisingly short and enjoyable. Limo driver was very nice.

The property itself was beautiful, and we had a huge suite on the 5th floor (concierge level) and although not overlooking the ocean it was still nice. Beautiful views and we did have some nice weather. Although it was supposed to be in the 60's it was sunny and nearly 70 every day. The fog does roll in when it wants to though.

Sitting by the Pacific is always wonderful and relaxing. Plenty to do by going into town (nice shops) or just enjoying the view. Hiking, bird watching and trips into the California countryside can fill your days.

Taxis are readily available, but give them a few minutes to arrive.

Food was very good at the lounge and at Navio and the Conservatory (our waitress Shannon one night was super).

The only negative I have is that the pool is somewhat off property (10 minute walk) and enclosed. Personally I love sitting by the pool and getting sun, so don't have those expectations when you come.

I have to say that the entire staff was perhaps the most courteous and accommodating when compared to any other property I have stayed. Friendly greetings, always willing to help and seemed to really enjoy what they were doing. They should all be commended as its the people that make this Ritz a great property.

Spa was also very good, great massage and nice lounge/hot tubs and a coed mineral bath. I would do again.

We did do an organized winery tour with our convention group (about 20 of us). It certainly could have been better organized on the logistics and how the time was spent. Still nice to see some beautiful country, but if you have a car do this on your own.

We did get a good rate on the rooms for 5 days, so look for specials. Either way it ain't cheap!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

VALET PARKING THIEVES !! A warning to anyone leaving their car with Valet Parking at the Ritz in Half Moon Bay! (This review is only about a customer's experience with theft and the way Ritz management arrogantly deals with their customers).

My personal experience as follows. We left our car with valet parking for two hours on Friday, to join 4 other friends for dinner. Bottom line, a radar detector and camera, total value just over $700 was stolen from the car while during the possession of the valet.

I complained to Ritz about this, and they don't give a damn! Had the run around from them for about 2 weeks before they finally responded with "didn't you read the back of the ticket? We are not responsible for any valuables stolen from your car!

We spent $700 on dinner that night. The expectation is, you do not expect anything to be stolen when your vehicle is in the hands of the Ritz Carlton !!

They have just lost 6 customers from our business group. Their arrogance is second to none!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

While in San Fransisco area we stayed in this hotel for a few days. Booked two connecting club access rooms with water view for my family. You find a lot of locals come to the hotel as a meeting place and to go to its dining venues. The food was generally good and service at the dining venues was good as well. The food at the club lounge was great sometimes and so and so sometimes. The rooms were also showing signs of getting old. The staff was friendly and the experience was positive however the experience did not compare to other wonderful luxury hotels/resorts we have been to in the past. The kids played tennis and played basketball in a half court and all in all we had a nice time. Not playing golf, we felt that this location would have been better suited for golf lovers as it amplifies the beauty of the surroundings. The location of the hotel is a little bit in the middle of nowhere and far away from other possible activities which amplified that one would enjoy more if one played golf. While the location and site is stunning we felt that this was less of a resort location and more of a golf destination / an anchor for a large residential development nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archbold, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel was the best in every category. The service was exceptional and the rooms were very nice. Pay to get the view of the ocean-so worth it. Spa experience was amazing. Wished it would have been warmer during the days we were there but the views were amazing. Loved the turn down service every night--fire crackling on TV, radio playing softly and of course chocolates on pillows!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Unfortunately I have a very high standard of hotels since I was spoiled here starting in 2006 until now. I am not sure why others have given it bad rating. The rooms are great size with a tub and shower. The property is gorgeous, the golf is amazing, the food is excellent and the service is superb! When they brought up our car, there were bottled waters in them. When we went towards the elevator, someone pressed the button for us. I would like to know where everyone else thinks is better so I can give them a shot because I truly loved it here!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
0.7 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 413 reviews
5.1 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
5.4 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
5.5 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
12.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel combines the beauty of the Northern California coast with the history of old Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.