We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fire and Wine Package
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The Perfect Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My best friend and I spent the weekend of March 8th at the Ritz in Half Moon Bay. This was hands down, the best weekend away I've ever had! The location is unbelievably beautiful to the point it takes your breath away. The hotel is situated on a bluff overlooking the ocean where you can see and hear the waves crashing up against the rocks throughout the day. The details of the hotel itself are all elegant, but what truly makes this destination a standout is the service. We were at the hotel for three days, and by the time we left it felt like we were leaving a group of friends that made our stay special. From the car valets, to the welcome glass of wine offered by the front desk, to the staff in the conservatory who were genuinely warm and friendly...all were AMAZING! Make sure you take advantage of the spa, which is included with your resort fee. The steam room and hot tub were a great way to unwind and relax. Checking out was slightly traumatic, we never wanted to leave, but regretfully even credit cards have their limits. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Make sure you check out the view you're booking when you're making a reservation. Our room h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    205
    84
    53
    33
See reviews for
150
456
28
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Beautiful location on the cliffs,Hotel old world,charming,beautiful decore,rooms are extremely comfortable with all the amenities,towells white and fluffy,food beautifully presented,service excellent.Car meeting us at the airport was a plus. I was there with a Beauty and Wellness Group for 3 days with everything included. This is a very up market Hotel,high end,great golf course which surrounds the Hotel.It was a memorable experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

What a great property. Stellar service and wonderful grounds as well as a great breathtaking location. Always impressed by the Ritz service and attention to detail. We travel alot for business so these are always our first choice of sty. Thank you for a delightful place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin,CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

What a breath taking property and the service was outstanding. I knew it was going to be a great weekend when the doorman greeted me by name when I arrived. The food in both restaurants was fantastic and the wine bar is a nice touch. Here is my only heads up if you are coming in the summer months - this property has 2-3 weddings almost every Satuarday and the hotel does block off a good chunk of the outside restaurant and lawn area for a few hours. But if you are a golf and spa lover......stay here, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Came here for a company getaway and was more than satisfied with the property and the service! The first thing anyone will notice is the beautiful location. Situated on the cliffs above the ocean in Half Moon Bay, the view from all parts of the property and the golf course are breathtaking.

When you first check in, the staff is very connected, from the security booth, valets, to the front desk, so everyone greets you as if they know who you are. The valet/bell staff were more than helpful with providing a great level of service, sending some bags to the event space where we had a company dinner, and helping unload the car of some heavy items. Checking in was a breeze - our room was available immediately and beautiful. While we didn't have an ocean view, we did have a great view of the golf course, and loved the details in the room, from the french-style doors in the bathroom, to the wonderful sitting area by the window for lounging around.

During the day, we took a segway tour - which was super fun! I have always wanted to ride a segway, and learning to do it, and riding along the coastline was a great experience! Easy to do, the guides were great instructors, and I would definitely do it again.

The food was the only semi-disappointment. At the event, we had several options, and had a fish and a beef dish. The fish was a bit overdone, and the server asked how people would like their beef prepared...but it was a braised shortrib! Strange question to ask for that particular dish. Besides that, everything was great and we walked away full, and satisfied.

When returning to the room, the turn-down service has been done, and the television had been tuned to a station that showed a burning fireplace - very nice touch. The lights were dimmed and it felt very relaxing and soothing to relax. Sleep was wonderful - the bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in, and checking out was a breeze. Would I return? Yes! There were even some celebrity sightings while we were there! Great location, great amenities, and great staff!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just finished a fabulous weekend getaway at this beautiful resort. The hotel is exceptional. So, many things to do! They have two golf courses, one overlooking the ocean which we played on and was amazing. There are fire pits outside to gather around and have drinks, Bocce Ball games, walks along the beach and much more. This is a perfect location for romance! Food was delicious and service was excellent.
Minor issues like the sea spray ever present on the exterior windows so they view of the ocean isn't as sharp as I would prefer, but that's okay, it's still worth it!!

This place was bustling with people and everyone seemed to be enjoying their time at this fantastic resort!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Went for a business trip. Hotel, service and atmosphere were special. Grounds and views from the public rooms were spectacular. We were in a standard room with a view of the hotel entrance so it was adequate but I understand that the rooms facing the ocean, or the rooms with the fire pits are very romantic. Food was very good. Spouse played golf and was pleased. Greeted at check-in with a glass of wine and a charming, friendly person who engaged us in conversation. Would love to go back for a vacation.

Room Tip: Probably worth paying extra for ocean facing or fire pit rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel combines the beauty of the Northern California coast with the history of old Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.