We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an amazing hotel...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Ritz-Carlton Rewards
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“an amazing hotel...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

this was a hidden gem well worth the trip..the estate is amazing and the views and castle like hotel delivers....would love to stay a little longer next time as we only stayed 1 night...but if i get the chance to get back there would definitely stay again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlieziri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
NYC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is an outstanding Ritz Carlton in one of the most beautiful settings in California. The hotel is perched on a bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The rooms are very nice and cozy - mine had a gas fireplace - and the Club level provides great value. There is a walking/jogging path that runs along the coast for about a mile. Outside, there are seating areas around fire pits, where guests can roast marshmallows and star gaze. Very special and romantic!

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

I just spent the last three days here. Service was top notch. Food was top notch. Amenities are top notch. The views leave me speechless. Am at a real loss for words to say more. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanTheTravelerFromNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I first saw this hotel in a magazine then oddly on a American Pie movie. Then I tried it, surprisingly close to SF city. It is a very good looking property and when/if the fog is clear, the views are gorgeous. BUT there is really no beach access, just views and for half my trip it was all fog. When I tried going out to see the ocean from the hotel, 3 yelled at me, as the front is a golf course hole and they wanted to play through, very disconcerting that it is crammed into that space. The restaurant was fine, and pretty, the lobby as well, and the room was nice. This is more retreat for solitude, very quiet area. But no, it isn't a place where the ocean is intergrated, its a place where you go for a misty time of seclusion and hopes that the fog disappears.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tomk626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife & I visited the Ritz for our 20th anniversary and absolutely enjoyed it. Our room was in the main hotel overlooking the 18th green of the Links course and the ocean. We loved sitting in the Adirondack chairs on the back side of the hotel at sunset and at night at the fire pit with a nice glass of wine. It's expensive but worth every dime! If you want to splurge, make sure you have the Sunday brunch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eethomaswfnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Ok, this is the Ritz. Sitting on this amazing cliff overlooking the pacific waves, birds and the occasional bag piper in the afternoon. I am here on a company sponsored trip. Whoever is complaining about the rooms deffinitely did not get mine. It is gorgeous, my ocean view is surreal, for lack of a better description. The food is good, service is excellent. Not a horrible drive to San Francisco. Hate the parking rates, just ridiculous. $220 for a massage is also bad, but again: Its the Ritz. It is a secluded hotel, so expect to rent a car or depend on shuttle, if you are not here for the golf, which is pretty amazing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Missouri
Level Contributor
156 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Here is one beautiful location in the world! One that has it all! Beautiful hotel; challenging golf course; friendly staff; and a view you can't beat.
Sitting on a bluff above the ocean, windows look out on a surf that is jumping with high waves and excitement. follow the nearby paths however, and you will find restful pools and gentle tides for wading. Such a combo for the senses.
We didn't stay to eat but did notice lovely spots for dining outside. all in all, a place I'd love to spend the night in luxury.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GGMaSue19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 689 reviews
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
The Fairmont San Francisco
The Fairmont San Francisco
#16 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,740 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,868 reviews
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel highlights the beauty of the Northern California coast with a modern and elegant decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing