We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an amazing hotel...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fire and Wine Package
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Half Moon Bay
Sydney
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“an amazing hotel...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

this was a hidden gem well worth the trip..the estate is amazing and the views and castle like hotel delivers....would love to stay a little longer next time as we only stayed 1 night...but if i get the chance to get back there would definitely stay again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    566
    186
    75
    49
    32
See reviews for
146
413
26
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is an outstanding Ritz Carlton in one of the most beautiful settings in California. The hotel is perched on a bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The rooms are very nice and cozy - mine had a gas fireplace - and the Club level provides great value. There is a walking/jogging path that runs along the coast for about a mile. Outside, there are seating areas around fire pits, where guests can roast marshmallows and star gaze. Very special and romantic!

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

I just spent the last three days here. Service was top notch. Food was top notch. Amenities are top notch. The views leave me speechless. Am at a real loss for words to say more. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I first saw this hotel in a magazine then oddly on a American Pie movie. Then I tried it, surprisingly close to SF city. It is a very good looking property and when/if the fog is clear, the views are gorgeous. BUT there is really no beach access, just views and for half my trip it was all fog. When I tried going out to see the ocean from the hotel, 3 yelled at me, as the front is a golf course hole and they wanted to play through, very disconcerting that it is crammed into that space. The restaurant was fine, and pretty, the lobby as well, and the room was nice. This is more retreat for solitude, very quiet area. But no, it isn't a place where the ocean is intergrated, its a place where you go for a misty time of seclusion and hopes that the fog disappears.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife & I visited the Ritz for our 20th anniversary and absolutely enjoyed it. Our room was in the main hotel overlooking the 18th green of the Links course and the ocean. We loved sitting in the Adirondack chairs on the back side of the hotel at sunset and at night at the fire pit with a nice glass of wine. It's expensive but worth every dime! If you want to splurge, make sure you have the Sunday brunch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Ok, this is the Ritz. Sitting on this amazing cliff overlooking the pacific waves, birds and the occasional bag piper in the afternoon. I am here on a company sponsored trip. Whoever is complaining about the rooms deffinitely did not get mine. It is gorgeous, my ocean view is surreal, for lack of a better description. The food is good, service is excellent. Not a horrible drive to San Francisco. Hate the parking rates, just ridiculous. $220 for a massage is also bad, but again: Its the Ritz. It is a secluded hotel, so expect to rent a car or depend on shuttle, if you are not here for the golf, which is pretty amazing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Missouri
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Here is one beautiful location in the world! One that has it all! Beautiful hotel; challenging golf course; friendly staff; and a view you can't beat.
Sitting on a bluff above the ocean, windows look out on a surf that is jumping with high waves and excitement. follow the nearby paths however, and you will find restful pools and gentle tides for wading. Such a combo for the senses.
We didn't stay to eat but did notice lovely spots for dining outside. all in all, a place I'd love to spend the night in luxury.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel combines the beauty of the Northern California coast with the history of old Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.