We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fire and Wine Package
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Half Moon Bay
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fall getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

What can you say? It's the Ritz Carlton in an ideal location-absolutely gorgeous perched on the cliffs of the Pacific. We stayed in a club level room to take advantage of the spectacular views. If you golf, there are two courses that are picturesque and challenging. The food was perfect and service top notch! We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Do splurge on club level if possible. Well worth the extra $$$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    559
    183
    75
    48
    32
See reviews for
144
409
26
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I had the privilege of staying at this property with my wife who had a 3-day gathering. I know what you’re saying why write a review on the Ritz! We all know that Ritz Carlton properties are all typically 5 Star. Well the reason I’m writing this is because this is the closest that one would get to staying a luxurious resort located in the Bay Area with a stunning costal scenic view. No need to fly or drive to Southern California when you have one in your backyard. The property is Immaculate and stunning. The staff is the “BEST” that I have come across and the rooms are top tier. Upon walking into our room I quickly noticed drinking glasses (not plastic) individually wrapped in paper. This throws out the theory of a property that I stayed at in Sydney when I complained about the glass being left out collecting dust and their response to me was that their housekeeping team clean thoroughly! Yeah right!! Anyway, what a perfect touch. One is showered with room amenities, bed linen that would be compared to Barbacci and Frette, furniture décor right out of a magazine and FREE Wifi!! The entire property is breathtaking and the perfect vacation getaway or corporate gathering.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here on our way to Hong Kong. Although it is a 30 minute drive from SFO, I am really glad we stayed here. They property overlooks one of the better views in Northern California. We spent much of the evening sitting at one of the fire pits overlooking the ocean. Very romantic! This would be a great place to spend a relaxing weekend!

The room was standard quality you would expect at a Ritz. The service was spot on, but not stuffy. The only possible knock on the place would be the food. I had a very blad salmon sandwich and my wife a very average crab cake for dinner. The food was just not that tasty.

Great hotel- we plan on coming back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Cushy, very attentive staff, posh cozy rooms, breathtaking views, spa, very nice dining, and lots of expensive cars out front, kind of what you'd expect when you are paying $400 to $1500+ per night.

We had a great corner suite with views of the coast out all windows. Though pricey, this is the sort of place you go to be spoiled by an obsequious staff.

For that special occasion, this is the place to go for a few nights!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is off the beaten path. You wind a corner and suddently, there is this majestic uprising of beauty. It is not pretentious. It fits in with its God-given surroundings. At the entrance was the most beautiful display of pumpkins! Indescribable. The sky was foggy, and a man wearing a kilt was playing bagpipes! We immediately felt we had discovered something magical! It only got better, as staff were so friendly and helpful; we discovered the wonderful trail along the ocean (perfect for a late afternoon stroll or early morning run...we did both); we enjoyed the view of that incredible ocean; we relaxed in our luxurious room. Breakfast in the restaurant was fantastic, as were our servers, Maria and Maria. Excellent coffee. Then massages---Diana was magnificent!

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms with a patio look wonderful. Will request that next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I had a great driver who showed me around SF before bringing me over to the Ritz. Greeted by name and walked me to my Club Level room with an amazing view of the ocean. Loved my fireplace! Sitting at the fire pit outside watching the sun set was beyond gorgeous! Club Lounge was wonderful. Spa was relaxing and my massage amazing! Every staff person I met was kind and spoke! Can't wait to come back to this incredible hotel!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This property is one of my favorite Ritz Carlton properties. It rivals Laguna Niguel as one of the most scenic and most attentive properties from Ritz Carlton that I've ever stayed at. While I don't think it's thought of as a flag-ship property (the way Central Park is), it is absolutely gorgeous with amazing ocean views, the spa is wonderful, and the restaurant (Navio) is a training ground for Michelin Star chefs. See former chef Peter Rudolph for proof at Madera (at the Rosewood hotel now).

Overall, this is a romantic, highly attentive Ritz with two great golf courses and a magnificent Spa, fire pits, and wine tasting rooms. Great for couples, probably OK for kids although I think this is a more couple and business targeted Ritz. A lot of companies like to do offsite retreats here because it's only 30 minutes from SFO airport but feels a million miles from anywhere.

Room Tip: Firepit rooms are on the ground floor and are gorgeous views. They aren't the largest rooms on p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel combines the beauty of the Northern California coast with the history of old Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Venere and Priceline so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.