We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Livin' the Life...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fire and Wine Package
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Livin' the Life...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is off the beaten path. You wind a corner and suddently, there is this majestic uprising of beauty. It is not pretentious. It fits in with its God-given surroundings. At the entrance was the most beautiful display of pumpkins! Indescribable. The sky was foggy, and a man wearing a kilt was playing bagpipes! We immediately felt we had discovered something magical! It only got better, as staff were so friendly and helpful; we discovered the wonderful trail along the ocean (perfect for a late afternoon stroll or early morning run...we did both); we enjoyed the view of that incredible ocean; we relaxed in our luxurious room. Breakfast in the restaurant was fantastic, as were our servers, Maria and Maria. Excellent coffee. Then massages---Diana was magnificent!

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms with a patio look wonderful. Will request that next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    205
    84
    53
    33
See reviews for
150
456
28
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I had a great driver who showed me around SF before bringing me over to the Ritz. Greeted by name and walked me to my Club Level room with an amazing view of the ocean. Loved my fireplace! Sitting at the fire pit outside watching the sun set was beyond gorgeous! Club Lounge was wonderful. Spa was relaxing and my massage amazing! Every staff person I met was kind and spoke! Can't wait to come back to this incredible hotel!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This property is one of my favorite Ritz Carlton properties. It rivals Laguna Niguel as one of the most scenic and most attentive properties from Ritz Carlton that I've ever stayed at. While I don't think it's thought of as a flag-ship property (the way Central Park is), it is absolutely gorgeous with amazing ocean views, the spa is wonderful, and the restaurant (Navio) is a training ground for Michelin Star chefs. See former chef Peter Rudolph for proof at Madera (at the Rosewood hotel now).

Overall, this is a romantic, highly attentive Ritz with two great golf courses and a magnificent Spa, fire pits, and wine tasting rooms. Great for couples, probably OK for kids although I think this is a more couple and business targeted Ritz. A lot of companies like to do offsite retreats here because it's only 30 minutes from SFO airport but feels a million miles from anywhere.

Room Tip: Firepit rooms are on the ground floor and are gorgeous views. They aren't the largest rooms on p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had drinks in a quiet area before we were taken to our private dining room. We had 3 waiters looking after our every whim and they did a great job. We were 14 and tightly packed around the table, not that it detracted from our enjoyment. We went for the set menu with wine but the bill was still around the $4,000 mark. Pleased it was not me paying!

Great food although unusually for the US the portions were quite small, ie the crab dish which I think was from a hermit crab. All in all, a great experience and would stay with the wife here in the future.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The fireplaces, the cliffs, the waves crashing...the setting is spectacular. We took a long walk along the golf course that I will never forget. The weather is chilly, perfect for a comfy sweater and for cuddling up with a warm blanket near a fire pit in the evening. Dinner at the hotel's restaurant, Navio, was one of the best meals we had in California. We only stayed for one night, as there isn't much to do in the area, but it is a perfect stop on your trip along the coastal highway. We enjoyed the spa pools as well and the sitting rooms with magazines and fruit. The hotel is pure relaxation and calm. Highly recommend it to couples, not a place for kids.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

After three days at the Ritz in HMB, I came to the conclusion that for a local getaway in the Bay Area, one would get much more bang for the buck heading north to Wine Country. The room was small, but nice. The food was below average for extremely high prices. The staff was very nice and attentive, but inefficient. Food at the corporate events was below average. We were fortunate to have great and warm weather, so I thought it would be relaxing to sit on the one of many chairs outside, the the service was so poor, it became more stressful to order a drink. By lower prices, or upping their standards, this place would be worth a weekend getaway, but they have a way to go. I've stayed at several Ritz Carlton properties, and this one does not live up to the Ritz standard.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Totally awesome. Great service all around. Great time at the Half Moon Bay pumpkin festival. Great restaurants. Room with ocean and golf course views. Plenty to do. Add a trip to San Francisco and wine tasting to complete the experience. Will visit again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel combines the beauty of the Northern California coast with the history of old Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.