We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Days Inn with a view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fire and Wine Package
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Indiiana, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Days Inn with a view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Sure it is a nice location with superb views, but as someone else commented, unless you play golf this is not a good price for value hotel. Of the 5 places we have stayed during our two-week honeymoon, this was the most expensive and our least favorite for reasons too numerous to list here. What's more, after a long day of traveling, we looked forward to a good night's sleep only to receive a phone call at 2:00 am asking us about energy efficiency in our room!! After recovering from the shell-shock of a call I thought was maybe a prank, we called the front desk to find out what was going on. Apparently someone on our floor complained of noise (we hadn't heard a thing) and they were calling our room either to see if it was us or tell us to quiet down. Not being able to sleep, we did eventually hear some music next door, but I'm sure the hotel phone calls were louder and more disturbing. Did they call every guest on the floor, or without checking it out decide it was us? There was barely a possibility and no offer for compensation. We contemplated checking out, but being near the end our trip, it is more a hassle for us to move than to stay. Do what we did not- save your money and stay at Days Inn-- at least you will get to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    198
    82
    51
    33
See reviews for
149
440
26
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Beautiful hotel in a equally beautiful location. Spa was very nice as were the guest rooms and public areas. Prompt turn down service each night, and pleasant staff. We were there in July and found the weather to be cool enough for a sweater in the daytime and a jacket at night. Nice outdoor firepits overlooking ocean. The swimming pool was not impressive. Golf and beaches nearby. Food was very mediocre at the two restaurants we ate at, as well as with room service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

It would be hard not to love your stay at this Ritz. From the time you drive up, as the valet who opens your doors says, "Prepare to relax!". We were greeted upon check in with a glass of complimentary wine. Our room was in the main building. If you have a choice, and are not traveling with small children or pets, stay in the main building, it is better than the golf course "cottage" rooms. If you want to park by your room (for free at the cottages, main building is about $45 for parking per day), have a pet or a child that wants to run around and be at the pool, stay in the buildings by the golf course. Our room looked toward the ocean and a golf green. We had a fireplace on our patio. The weather is usually very cool in Half Moon, so they give you extra "outdoor" blankets to use on your patio by the fire. (very nice touch). Bathroom with separate shower and doored toilet area. Very nice in white marble. In room coffee. Ok, so you can tell I like it, I'll just list the pros and cons:
Pros:
Great, I mean GREAT service and friendly staff. Didn't meet one staff member that didn't speak.
Beautiful, comfortable rooms
Best women's spa/locker room I have been in
Good workout facility
Fairly good running trail - can run on it for 7 miles if you would like:)
Indoor pool (not that close to main building - con??)
Great restaurant on site (actually two great restaurants)
Easy walk down to the beach -where you might spy a couple of sea lions like we did.

Cons:
Expensive...but if you want to spluge or have a lot of points, worth it!
Spa treatments expensive by my book...
Indoor pool, so so...
Pretty cool out, even in summer (not the Ritz's fault)
I'm trying to think of more cons, but honestly, this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in!

Easy drive out from San Fran area. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: Stay in main building with a firepit if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearland, texas
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We were originally given a guest house room, which was very far away from the main hotel and nothing special. We asked to be moved and they did move us to another room. Our room had a view of the front of the hotel, so no big deal. Room was very nice. Only complaint is that used glasses were left on chairs outside by fire pits. I mentioned to an employee that there were empty wine glasses on chairs where we wanted to sit, and he was very rude and condescending. They were never removed, so I removed them myself before we sat down. Only rating this hotel very good because of the amazing views. It was very overpriced for the service with the exception of Sean, who led us on an amazing segway tour. He was great and this is a must-do if you stay here! Be prepared for high prices for everything here. Valet parking is $45 a day and I ordered an iced tea to go from the bar and was given a coffee sized paper cup and charged $6.50 and room service breakfast for 2 was $72!

Room Tip: Guest houses are far from hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I've been here twice, and I highly recommend dining and sleeping here. The spa is great, gym overloops the cliff and gazebo. great views. Property is well maintained. Rooms are top notch. I love the fireplace. The first visit was overcast, which still can be romantic. The second visit was clear, sunny, breezy and spectacular views.

The Navio restaurant is superb. Excellent chef and sommelier. The hotel wait staff and room service are so nice. Valet guys are cool.

I hear the golf course is just okay. Pebble Beach is much better. Golf course is beautiful, but I heard there are other places on the coast that are better.

Lots of weddings take place on the gazebo lawn.
My favorite: They greet you with a glass of wine!

the only downside - there are no nearby restaurants, only one in the lobby for breakfast and lunch. Navio for brunch - which is awesome - and dinner

Room Tip: try to sleep in the main house. The guest houses are close to the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I was visiting the Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay over the weekend. I have been there before and have always enjoyed my time there. The hotel is very beautiful and well-maintained. It is overlooking a spectacular section of the Pacific Ocean. It was overcast and very cool which was great coming from the San Joaquin valley where the summer temperatures were very warm. Outside there are well manicured lawns and many chairs to sit in and enjoy the view. There were two large firepits in which some were roasting marshmallows. It was just a great place to relax and enjoy the view and the sounds of the waves. If one wants to go down to the ocean there is a nice well-maintained path from the hotel to a beach area a short distance away. Inside the atmosphere is cozy. As one enters the main entrance there is a fireplace with a welcoming fire. The hotel is secluded near the cliffs and a great place to get away from it all and just relax.

Room Tip: If you want a room with your own firepit there are a few of the rooms that have one. Ask for one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novato, CA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

my wife and i had an anniversary weekend here recently which we thoroughly enjoyed. however, given the price points of the ritz carlton, i'm not sure we would go back unless we had a certificate like the American Express one we used for one free night, complimentary breakfast, and parking. the cost of the room (i think we were originally going to be in one of the out buildings but we were upgraded to a deluxe room on the 6th floor of the main building with a view of the ocean and the 18th hole) is in the $545-635 range for a weekend night but on top of that you have (i) a $25 resort fee, (ii) a $45 valet parking fee (really?, this is half moon bay, not downtown manhattan or union square), (iii) the usual taxes, so realistically you you are going to pay at least $680/night for a basic room with no breakfast or complimentary drinks included. while we don't object to paying for pricey hotel rooms (we usually get a suite at the campton place when we do a local getaway), we do think the ritz carlton is a bit over the top in terms of what it charges. however, our review isn't going to change their pricing policies so one should at least know what to expect!

the great things about our stay were (in no particular order):

-the view from our room was great looking south down the coast and with a view of the 18th hole. watching the golfers (a few competent ones but mostly duffers and hackers!) was great entertainment. one guy made a beautiful long putt which we applauded from our room much to his pleasure (he had an audience). another bunch of guys forgot their clubs on the green which the following party had to pick up. others ended up completely losing their balls.....
-the staff did some very nice anniversary treatments for us. when we came back from dinner on the first night, there was a rose petal heart on the bed in our room, and when we had our couples massage the next day they did the same rose petal treatment on the massage beds and gave us a "thank you" anniversary gift (thanks courtney and diana for wonderful massages)
-the staff are very polite and professional and the rooms are of fairly good size. the bathroom shower is fairly small (no couples shower!) but the bath is of good size.
-the breakfasts are good but expensive ($27 for the cold buffet, $41 if you want an omlette or something cooked as well). one of our breakfasts was included in our complimentary night package while the other was comped because of a snafu (the order took ages to arrive)
-they give you a nice half glass of wine at check in
-our housekeeper was very good

the "need to improve" parts are:

-the check-in was polite and professional but they could have explained more about how the breakfast credit worked. we had no idea so when we showed up at the restaurant the next morning and told (jessica?) we had a complimentary breakfast, she looked at her list and told us we were not on that list! it took her until the end of the breakfast (well after we had ordered) before she confirmed what we had told her. however, she still couldn't tell us exactly what would be covered. consequently, we ordered a couple of cheaper items lest they tell us at the end that what we ordered was not covered by our rate. other hotels are more explicit on breakfast policy so one knows what to expect.
-the valet parking thing for $45 is pretty ridiculous. as far as i can figure, you cannot self park if the other tripadvisor reviews are to be believed so you are stuck with this. as i said above, this is not union square so they should just ditch the whole parking charge. when we stayed at a high end hotel in central rome, the valet parking was included, and the same applies for when we stay at capella pedregal in cabo san lucas. i don't know how the ritz carlton justifies this policy other than the fact that they have a captive audience.
-resort fee of $25 per day? i did use the fitness center once but i'm not sure it warrants the additional charge
-we would have liked to get a newspaper delivered to our room in the a.m. we were never asked about this at check-in. again, things could have been explained a bit more completely when we arrived.

all in all, we did appreciate the ritz carlton and it's staff on our anniversary weekend but as i said in the header, it is overpriced for what it delivers compared to other high end hotels that we frequent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel combines the beauty of the Northern California coast with the history of old Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.