We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautiful view of Pacific!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fire and Wine Package
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Noida, India
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Most beautiful view of Pacific!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My sister loves this place. This is a must do if you are visiting San Fransisco or you are in Bay Area. This place has one of the most beautiful golf courses of the world! I visited this place in April 2005 and I still have some good memories of the place!

Room Tip: Must do place! Choose a ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    199
    82
    51
    33
See reviews for
149
441
26
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

I booked two rooms here as the Ritz in San Francisco was completely full. But, what a great surprise.

I was less than impressed with my last stay at the Ritz SF, and this one reinstated my faith in the Ritz Carlton brand (post-Marriott buy out). The rooms were simple but nice with a bit of personality (rare for a Ritz). The grounds were impeccably manicured, and for the most part, the staff was fantastic. There was one concierge who was overtly rude, but beyond that, really fantastic.

Definitely recommended whether you're spending time in SF or not. Without traffic it's only about 30 minutes away, and along the beautiful CA coast.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay is another of Ritz Carlton's breathtaking locations, but the staff members are equally amazing. They were the nicest and most warmly welcoming hotel staff we have ever encountered, and our stay was replete with special attentions and instantly-met requests. The view from the main building is terrific, and we preferred that location to the guest houses. The place is very romantic, with great trails along the coast and hiking in nearby redwood forests.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building, ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

This property is a dream come true - the location, rooms, service, food... We loved it! Thank you for such an amazing time..

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This hotel is set on a bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean - it's amazing. That said, without that location, it wouldn't have garnered 5 stars.

Accommodations: 3-4 stars. We had a ground-floor, oceanview, firepit suite. It was very well-appointed, with amazing views - though I honestly could have done without the golfers in the evening, but I'm not going to linger on that to complain.

The bed was not as comfortable as I'd expect for nearly $700 per night, it had some sort of weird cushion thing on it that was lumpy and terribly uncomfortable. Additionally, a personal pet-peeve, why can't these high-end places pony up for fitted sheets?! It's SO annoying to wake up with the sheet loose and the mattress cover, or in this case, lumpy cover thing, exposed.

The bathroom was huge, and beautiful, but again, for that price, and a bathroom that size, I would have expected, and preferred, to have a separate shower and tub. At 5'4", I had a difficult time climbing in and out of the tub. The water pressure was mediocre at best.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by a seriously too-small portico with lots of (but not enough) very busy bellman and valets running about. It was a mini traffic jam, and it was like that every time we left or returned. We were handed a glass of wine, nice after the swarm outside, but had to wait for a bellman to finally get our luggage as we were running late checking in and had reservations at the restaurant.

In our room we found a s'mores kit (a nice thought, but the chocolate was too fancy to melt, the marshmallows too fancy to roast, and the graham crackers to hard to bite), and a lovely note congratulating us on our 10th anniversary. Upon return from dinner later that night, turn down had also decorated our bed with lots of rose petals, some as a number 10, and turned on the fire (the TV turned to a fire channel). Nice touch.

Ah, the location. Finally. The views were magnificent, no other way to say it. There is a great walking trail - public, mind you - along the sea cliffs, that stays busy, but is highly worth it. The sunsets were amazing.

Fun: We signed up for the Segway tour - SO MUCH FUN! They're very simple to learn to use, and the tour took us around the property and showed us many gorgeous views that would have been quite the walk by foot. Highly recommend the Segways - FUN!

Room Tip: Definitely go oceanview, and firepit is highly recommended unless you'll be annoyed by the const...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

You'll get everything you expect, plus more! The staff is amazing. Rumor has it, each staff member has the authority to spend upwards of $1,000 without approval of a manager to make you happy. They take customer service very seriously! The location cannot be beat. We've been here two Januarys in a row and have been amazed at the glorious weather. No fog . . . gorgeous sunshine! Upgrade to Club Level and you won't need to eat or drink anywhere else for the entire weekend. The only downside is the spa. It's beautiful, but their spa services are not top-notch. I've had a disappointing pedicure and massage, and at their sky-high prices, I probably wouldn't try again.

Room Tip: The terrace fire-pit rooms are worth the splurge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Shores, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

What an amazing place. Secluded with breathtaking views of the Pacific ocean. On a cliff, you want to walk out to the edge, turn around, and just stand in awe of how beautiful it is. Rooms are very quiet. The beds are incredibly sumptuous and comfy at the same time. If you get a room in the 800's you'll be separate from the main hotel and if you're on the ground floor, you'll have a fireplace! Very nice. There are also fire pits on the ground floor of the main hotel, so be sure to ask for that too!

The staff were incredibly warm and generous. You'd expect nothing less from the Ritz Carlton.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel combines the beauty of the Northern California coast with the history of old Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.