We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic weekend at RC Half Moon Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Romantic weekend at RC Half Moon Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We came down to Half Moon Bay for a relaxing weekend for two - great place for a romantic getaway, although given the beautiful beach it would also be fun for small children. We didn't golf, although the course looks nice. The setting is beautiful, the staff as always at the Ritz fantastic, the room spacious and attractive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    233
    92
    52
    39
See reviews for
190
512
31
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich region
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton in Half Moon Bay for two nights as part of our Highway 1 trip. We loved the place! The location is spectacular, the cliffs are fantastic, the view to the ocean breathtaking, the rooms are quite small but beautifully decorated and equipped with all the amenities that you expect from a Ritz Carlton. We stayed in a few RCs before but this is for sure one of the bst we have seen so far. The interior, the bars and restaurants are very warm and cozy. The food is great and the staff is very friendly.

We are not Golfers, but I assume that this must be a paradise for Golfers. However, there are a few other nice things to do around the hotel: nice walks above the cliffs, good jogging trails and don't miss a visit to hthe village. The Ritz Carlton offers a free shuttle to main street HMB.

Downsides? Not that many, maybe that the heated pool which is located about 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel is not rally up to speed anymore. It looks a bit old. The fitness room next to the pool is also very old, so you should use the one that is located in the main hotel building. The Ritz also offers free bikes, however, unfortunately not for kids.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

This is one of those places where you felt it was worth what you spent. Clean & beautiful with an unbeatable ocean front location. Great for couples overnight if you are relatively local. We live the the SF Bay area, so an hour drive south brings us to this wonderful gem close enough for an easy get away but with a location that makes you feel like you got away. The spa was excellent and worth blocking several hours at least to enjoy all the amenities. Also loved to VIP lounge that is surprisingly family friendly. We didn't bring our children, but we could have and would have enjoyed it because it's set up so you can get your own food at your own pace.

Room Tip: We were on the golf course facing side and liked it because you could also see the ocean. It was qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

The Ritz Carlton at Half Moon Bay is by almost all accounts a great place to stay. The hotel is luxurious with great amenities and a phenomenal spa if you like that kind of thing. The staff and the service are both impeccable and the setting is magnificent. The walk along the bluff is wonderful and the town itself is charming.

There are two main dining areas which serve excellent food with views over the ocean and the downstairs rooms on the bay sport fire pits where one can languish in the evening watching the sunset whilst sipping a somewhat overpriced cocktail.

The main dining space is very American: huge room, high ceilings, very little intimate lighting. They could have done a much better job creating a series of cozy spaces. That's just my 2 cents.

Which brings me to the negative aspect - value for money. It's simply put way overpriced. Whether it's the fact that cars have to be almost automatically valet parked for a lot of money, or the drinks, the food, the wine or the rooms themselves - you really want to have an excuse simply to blow cash.

All in all it was a wonderful weekend we spent there but honestly, not worth the price in my books.

Room Tip: Take one of the downstairs rooms on the bay with a fire pit
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

From the moment you walk in, you are wrapped in luxury. The grounds and the hotel are simply elegant. The service was superb. We were staying for 2 nights in a suite and it was spacious and well appointed, everything you would expect from a Ritz Carlton. We had in-room breakfast once and ate in the restaurant once. Both times, the Eggs Benedict were superb.

At sundown each night, a bagpiper plays throughout the grounds adding another touch of class and ambiance to this already beautiful and posh resort.

Another tip- Bring fixings for s'mores, they have fire-pits situated around the ocean side of the property and you can make them instead of buying one of the Hotel kits.

One odd note: If you bring a car (which you basically have to to get there) you MUST pay for valet parking. at $42+/night, this seemed steep to me. When asked if we could self-park, we were told we could, but it would still be $42.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room, unless you want to look at the Golf Course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

Spent 3 days there last year. The location is amazing, but the hotel needs to be refurbished, it is looking old.
Great golfing place.

Stayed July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

A beautiful hotel located in magnificent surroundings. The attention to detail is very evident. Hotel staff is most accommodating. It definitely has earned a five star status. Enjoyed the bagpiper. Celebrating special birthdays at such a magnificent hotel provides us with great memories.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
0.7 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 416 reviews
5.1 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 636 reviews
5.4 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
5.5 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
12.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel combines the beauty of the Northern California coast with the history of old Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.