We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Ritz Carlton but not the best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Ritz-Carlton Rewards
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Ritz Carlton but not the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

Spent 3 days there last year. The location is amazing, but the hotel needs to be refurbished, it is looking old.
Great golfing place.

Stayed July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
california
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

A beautiful hotel located in magnificent surroundings. The attention to detail is very evident. Hotel staff is most accommodating. It definitely has earned a five star status. Enjoyed the bagpiper. Celebrating special birthdays at such a magnificent hotel provides us with great memories.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 67snowball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The Ritz Carlton Hotel chain has a deserved reputation for luxury. Their property in Half Moon Bay, near San Francisco, is no exception. It is a magnificent location - on a bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The hotel fine dining restaurant is one of the best I have ever patronized. And the bagpiper that plays every afternoon just adds a perfect touch as you sit and watch sunset.

Room Tip: I think lower floors, on the north end of the building, are desirable. But most any room is going t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We are average travelers who don't book Five star. But this was an anniversary so we splurged and took the lowest priced room. I doubt people who regularly travel Five star care what trip adviser types have to say so this is for the special occassion splurgers like us. Yes it is definitely five star, and spectacularly beautiful. It's possibly worth it just for the view and overall ambience. The staff are all very nice and gave no impression of snobishness as they wisked away our rented Ford Focus( valet parking you see )and steered our less than designer bags into reception. Regardless, don't expect for a moment you will be doing anything unescorted and that tips will not be required for services proffered. Being inexperienced at this game I did fail to tip on a couple of occassions when I probably should have. Fortunately I was not made to feel any less for the error. Everything is very professional here, even the handling of the pretenders and splurgers.But in California it's hard to tell who has real money and who does not. Everyone is casually dressed, even at night in this fancy hotel restaurant. Maybe everyone there was a splurger ?? Anyway, the food was excellent but of course pricey. Therein is the only negative thing I could say.This particular hotel is located out of the way so if you opt for more reasonable priced meals in town you will need to go through the valet thing to get your car. Other than that a definite five star and worth it for a night's splurge on a special occassion.

Room Tip: The least expensive rooms are the pet friendly ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nairene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Unfortunately, we are not golfers. The beautiful view of the ocean is cut off by acres of golf course, carts, and golfers. However, a beautiful view it still is.

We found the service to be very good; at these prices, it should be! We stayed in the oceanfront suites in the guest houses. Another reviewer complained about the pool events for local special needs kids; we appreciated them, as they provided something for our toddler to watch and enjoy. There is not much for a toddler in Half Moon Bay except a small toy store (Lemos Farm is only open during the weekends), and the Ritz Kids events do not apply to kids under 5.

However, the hotel concierge was able to supply us with a superlative babysitting recommendation: Town and Country. We hired a really wonderful babysitter for two nights.

As for the food - Navio is closed on Tuesdays, so we mostly ate at The Conservatory Lounge. Service was fine, there is a nice jazz group on Thursdays, but it would be nice if the menu were expanded. However, room service was highly satisfying - we ordered breakfast almost every day, and there were a range of choices.

A word about soundproofing - I will agree that this was not taken into account when the hotel was constructed - I cannot speak for the main hotel, but the pricey oceanfront suites were noisier than I would've expected. I think our upstairs neighbor had a pacing problem.

The spa facial was excellent but I just found all of the products on Amazon.com for $20 less than the spa shop price, so I'm kicking myself for not investigating first.

Finally, I do agree that the property is somewhat rustic for the price; some Ritz-Carltons seem downright palatial in comparison. However, I will say that we greatly enjoyed our stay because of the gracious service, the clean air, and the spectacular views. However, if you enjoy privacy and quiet, I would recommend that you visit during inclement weather, as we did.

Room Tip: Ask for a top-floor suite by the ocean, because you will hear your upstairs neighbors pacing back an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelsterNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

My husband surprised me with a visit here a couple weekends ago. While I appreciate the thought, I would have rather spent the money on a trip to visit my family across the country. Yep, it cost that much....for ONE night. The room was nice, but I thought it was rather small for the cost. It was the same size as any other hotel room, with the exception of the bathroom, which was roomy and nice, with a spa tub to relax in. The decor was lovely, and the ocean view beautiful. Falling asleep listening to the ocean waves is always a dream.
But the biggest disappointment was the cost of the food, which raised out total cost by double. When my husband decided to check out their breakfast bar in the morning, he came back with two plates of fruit, eggs and yogurt. Two plates...for over $70!! For a breakfast buffet?! He said he had no idea of the cost up front or he would have walked away. While the hotel was lovely, and the service was exceptional (everyone was very kind), we feel totally ripped off after this experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calebsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Rooms were lovely, really nice and modern feel to the whole hotel, the Spa was fantastic, the service is all you could ever ask for from an American hotel.

Staff were very courteous and efficient and super friendly.

"No problem " to anything you asked for at any time.

I thought eh food was outstanding, especialy the breakfast and the fruit, the steaks were original and delicious, all the fayre was beautifully presented, Hightly recommend this hotel

And then their were teh golf courses which were in immaculate condition DESPITE 6 inches of rain the previous week. I preferred the Old Course personally which was interesting adn varied althought the cliff views and scenery on the Coastal course were stunning . lots of fog as you would expect in this area of the country but did not worry us in the slightest

Very very good stay

Room Tip: Sea View a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamV54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 690 reviews
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,862 reviews
Nob Hill
The Fairmont San Francisco
The Fairmont San Francisco
#16 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel highlights the beauty of the Northern California coast with a modern and elegant decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing