We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenominal Service, Hotel and Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fire and Wine Package
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Phenominal Service, Hotel and Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Ritz-Carlton in Half Moon Bay to celebrate our 14th wedding anniversary this month (October). We were absolutely amazed from the moment we drove up to the hotel! We are used to 5 start hotels and luxury travel, but the Ritz went above and beyond that! We have never experienced such top notch customer service - we truly felt like VIP customers the entire time. The location is breath taking with the hotel sitting on the cliff overlooking the crashing waves.

After a long drive in stuck in bumper to bumper traffic on Highway 92, we were a bit frustrated. However, at check-in we were immediately put at ease. They honestly empathized, gave us a full glass of wine each while we were being checked-in and walked us around the hotel property while we waited for our oceanfront room. When our room was ready, we were called on our cell phone and the bags had already been delivered to the room. The hotel surprised us by delivering complimentary strawberries dipped in chocolate and a personalized anniversary card. That was a very nice touch.

As part of our stay, the spa is complimentary. Not only is it better than spas at luxury hotels such as the Four Seasons, the service was unbelievable. The check-in person was very nice and she provided us with a tour of the spa. There is a co-ed jacuzzi spa room (gorgeous and huge) along with his and hers areas, which includes another jacuzzi, steam room, dry sauna, quiet room fully stocked with snacks, teas, fruit, reading material and fireplace. We were having such a good time, we wanted to stay longer and change our dinner reservations by 1 hour so I asked the spa check-in person for a house phone. Without hesitation, she kindly offered to call the restaurant to request the change and she would notify me in the spa. Within 5 minutes, she came in and told me the dinner reservations had all been changed with a smile on her face.

We went to Navio for dinner, located inside the hotel. We were not sure where it was in the hotel so we asked the bell man who was standing next to the check-in desk. With a smile on his face, he walked us to the restaurant to make sure we could find it. The food was wonderful. We are normally low cal eaters, but decided to try the pork belly appetizer. This was to die for. The pork was so tender that it melted in our mouths. The local halibut was extremely fresh, steak cooked to perfection, and it came with the perfect amount of small side bites on each dish. The somellier was extremely knowledgeable, enthusiastic and energetic.

Upon returning to our room, our bed was covered with beautiful roses and the TV was placed on a fireplace channel. The bedding is luxurious and soft. Complimentary slippers and robes are provided. The bathroom decor is lovely with marble and a separate toilet room.

We will certainly return to celebrate another anniversary or birthday. We are frequent luxury travelers and the service at the Ritz Carlton - Half Moon Bay was the best we have ever experienced in our lives.

Room Tip: Splurge and go for the ocean front room - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    205
    84
    53
    33
See reviews for
150
456
28
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

A September wedding in San Francisco inspired us to take a few days afterwards and head down the coast for a road trip. Our first stop was the Ritz Carlton at Half Moon Bay.
This hotel is a quick hop from San Francisco and we decided that its ocean front location and rugged coastline beauty might make it worth the splurge. It was (sort of).

The hotel is beautiful and its web site photos don’t lie. The most outstanding feature, however, had to be the staff. Every single one of them we encountered from the outdoor bar staff to the valets who parked our car were terrifically well trained and made it their business to learn our names. That was nice. It was also such a nice touch to find the valets had cleaned the windshield of our rental vehicle, and there were two bottles of water awaiting us when we got in the next morning.

The restaurants on the property have wonderful ocean views and the food is well-prepared and served – but perhaps not earth-shattering.

Like other reviewers, we wondered about the “value” of this luxury hotel. We concluded that its price tag, exactly twice what we had paid a night at the Stanford Court (Marriott Renaissance property) in downtown San Francisco the night before, was perhaps not worth it. However, it‘s difficult to compare since one is a seaside resort while the other is downtown. All we can say is that our gut impression of the relative value is that the Ritz Carlton name may imply luxury; you don’t necessarily have to pay this much for a luxurious experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We are at the hotel now and have been here since yesterday. Will stay one more night but so far, we would not return here. You can decide for yourselves whether you would come here.
For a luxury class hotel that should WOW because that's expected at a hotel that costs this much, it's been average. It has not been bad, but at this price, one would expect some WOW's. We have stayed a many luxury hotels including some other Ritz-Carltons that we have continued to return to, but this is not one that stands out except for the location.

The good:
Absolutely a beautiful site for a hotel. Front door and concierge services have been excellent.

The average:
Turn down service last night did not bother refilling the coffee used or refill the cups so that we could not have fresh coffee this morning
The room size and hotel decor is just average for this class of hotel.
When we checked in, we were offered newspaper choices for the morning. WSJ, USA Today and San Francisco Chronicles would be free, but if you wanted a NY TImes, there would have been a surcharge. Really? For a hotel that charges $25 resort fee? For a hotel that charges over $600/night?
Looked for a place to buy pastries this morning and had to get it from the restaurant which was ok but for two little croissants, it was $9.
Needed a couple of advils as well this morning but the 'store' would not be open until 8:30. The front desk said they had them and would I like them charged to room? Sure, no problem. $1 for each advil. Again, disappointing.
$45 to park the car. Really? I know there is a cost to parking but $45?! What's worse is that there is no option to park your own car.

We are happy to pay to be at a luxury place but when the service and amenities are disappointing, we will not return. It just feels like the hotel knows you are a bit stranded because it's set apart in a beautiful location, so they take advantage of the situation and super-overcharge for everything. Silly. Won't get loyalty for that.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I just come back from this great hotel and have to say my stay was incredible!
The hotel is located on the golf course. It’s huge and in very good condition. I would say a golfer paradise! )

My costal view room was a little bit small but very nice and well organized. I couldn’t get a room with the fireplace on the balcony, but the next time I will go there I will make sure I have it!

Landscape and the beach area are very solitary and beautiful. I loved the feeling of the privacy in this hotel.
Every day around 5 pm there is a dressed up man playing on Scottish bagpipe. This is a great time to have a glass of wine and enjoy the sunset by the big fireplace in the hotel area.

SPA – is a special subject to talk. I am a very advanced “SPA user” and I am very picky. But SPA in this Ritz was fabulous! I would recommend make a reservation for Rejuvenate body treatment. This treatment has 3 levels: invigorating organic exfoliation, Vichy showers and full body massage. My appointment was with the therapist – Sabrina. And she was unbelievable! I have tried a stone massage as well and it was great!

This hotel is about 35-45 min away from SFO airport. I arranged a pick up from SFO and it cost 168$ tax and tips incl.
I think from now on I prefer to stay in this hotel. This way I will be able to mix my business meetings with the pleasure!

I would recommend this hotel for people:
-Nature lovers.
-People who prefer keep their Privacy.
-People who love SPA.
-Golf lovers.
-People who like to travel with pets.

P.S> Don't forget to check the pic. I have from this hotel. Hope it will help to make up the mind if it is smth you may like...

Room Tip: Costal view room is great! But if you want to take 100% out of this Hotel take a room with a costal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui Hawaii
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011 via mobile

Half moon bay provides everything you need for an amazing vacation - whether it's a romantic weekend getaway (reserve an ocean view private fireside suite) or a family holiday - (join other guests around the community firepit).

They offer an amazing spa, fabulous , golf, Segway rental & lively sportsbar - there really isn't a reason to leave the resort!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Amazing location, breathtaking views. We stayed in the rooms on the 1st floor with our own firepit. We used our firepit in the morning and evening.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

I attended a conference at this wonderful property. First, the Ritz people are the best. They redefine service over and over again. The property is isolated on a wonderful, rugged coast line. With an outstanding links course (the Ocean course) and a great 'Old Course', one is set for golf. The spa is terrific, the bar is fine. My wife relaxed thoroughly and could have stayed longer. Walking, resting, playing, eating, drinking; its all done at the high end of the experience scale at the Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay.

Room Tip: Ask for the ocearn view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel combines the beauty of the Northern California coast with the history of old Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.