We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon Bay Joe's

Half Moon Bay Joe's
2380 South Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
650-560-9260
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 87 Restaurants in Half Moon Bay
Cuisines: Italian, American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Casa Grande, Arizona
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“very nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

we stopped on way to san fran, what a wonderful restuarant, very nice staff, had a light light breakfast,fruit cup, bagel, coffee. i noticed other people's food, everything looked so good.next time thru we are stopping by joe's, and find a place to stay in half moon bay, so nice, very scenic location.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    14
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“You HAVE to go for dessert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We didn't think there was much choice for dinner in Half Moon Bay, and decided on visiting Joe's because we passed it on our way to the beach. My colleagues and I are so glad we did. From the outside, the place isn't much to look at, and you might say that it could use some interior updating as well, but it was neat, clean, and cozy. It's a diner, not a five-star restaurant. That said, they had a nice wine list, and a menu with a lot of variety. One of my coworkers ordered the lasagna and said it was delicious. The other ordered steak with ravioli and gave it rave reviews as well. I ordered Honey Fried Chicken with mashed potatoes and gravy. I got five pieces of chicken, and a generous portion of potatoes to go with it.....and a salad. I have a pretty big appetite, and I was starving when we got there....I did manage to eat most of the chicken, but I barely put a dent in the mashed potatoes, mostly because I was saving room for dessert. So I ordered the Tiramisu.....and our waiter, also an owner, brought me a HUGE piece. I don't think I ate half of it before I asked for a box and nibbled on it for the next two days. Warm and friendly service and atmosphere....check it out if you're looking for comfort food.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best clam chowder I had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I cannot forget the savory meal and the great views while waiting for the table. It is usually packed but it's worth the wait.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Please call before going”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We were staying next door and popped over for a bite to eat only to find that the restaurant was completely closed for a private event. Please check in advance before arriving, they may be closed.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Old Style Coffee Shop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This is pretty much a basic, no frills restaurant. We come often for breakfast - simple and generous. They propose a 4 egg omelet, but you can ask for a 2 egg omelet and they'll adjust accordingly. One of the few places you can still get Canadian bacon in addition to the standard breakfast meats.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Moon Bay Joe's also viewed

 
Half Moon Bay, CA
 

Been to Half Moon Bay Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon Bay Joe's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.