We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for strip mall sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shiki Japanese

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shiki Japanese
20 Stone Pine Rd, Ste E, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
(650) 712-8886
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 87 Restaurants in Half Moon Bay
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Half Moon Bay, California, United States
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good for strip mall sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This place has good fresh fish and other Japanese dishes. This isn't the best sushi in the world, but for the price it is damn good. The overall place is well run, you get fast service, you get what you pay for and then some. For HMB this is the best bang for tor the buck.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Covington, KY
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
“Good lunch option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

One of 4 Shikis in Half Moon Bay, this review is for Shiki Cuisine located at Stone Pine Center. There's a sushi bar but since I'm not a sushi kind of guy we got a table and looked at the menu. I ordered a gyoza appetizer (I love these) and Pork Ramen. I'd never had real Ramen. I expected this to be miles above the salty, cheap packaged variety and I was right. Tasty, tender pork, a flavorful broth, and lots of noodles - yum. My companion ordered the Shrimp & Vegetable Tempura. He thought the batter was just right, along with the variety of vegetables. Both lunches also came with a small bowl of miso soup. The decor was nice, our waiter was a bit dour but attentive. I'd come here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Not terrible, but not outstanding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This Sushi restaurant in a strip mall in Half Moon Bay is just okay and frankly with Sushi Main Street in town they will have to step it up to compete.

The rolls were over sized, a pet peeve of mine, really a slice of a roll should fit in you mouth easily right? Other than that the selection was typical the price was fine, service was fine, but it just seemed to be missing something.

I won't go back because I just prefer other options locally, I likely would not recommend for the same reason.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Excellent food and always really good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Whether you like sushi or cooked entrees, Shiki does a great job with lots of choices. We both really love their teriyaki, as well as the sushi choices. I've never had a bad meal here! The service is great and the seating is mostly all booths, so you can sit and chat with some privacy. Don't let the location [in a mini mall] deter you - the inside is warm and gracious.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Solid traditional Japanese/sushi in Half Moon Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

Had a lunch here while visiting Half Moon Bay. Strong sushi menu including a reasonably priced lunch chirashi entree I had. My wife got a bento box with soup, salad, tonkatsu, and spicy tuna roll.

Fairly small inside with nice bar with CNBC on during the day. Service was very good and the place was busy as lunch which is always good.

Would recommend to others - there was another sushi/fusion place on the main street but have a feeling this place is more traditional.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shiki Japanese also viewed

 
Half Moon Bay, CA
 

Been to Shiki Japanese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shiki Japanese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.