We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Mavericks

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Half Moon Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Mavericks
346 Princeton Ave., Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
austincoolcouple
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Unfortunately we were on a whirlwind trip but really wanted to hit Half Moon Bay even if just for one night. The Inn at Mavericks did not disappoint. We stayed in the Mavericks corner suite with patio and it was cool to see the seals and birds. Love the binoculars in the room! The foghorn did not bother us at all-it was very comforting.
The room was spotless and there was nothing one could want for as there were drinks, wine, champagne, snacks, coffee, etc. Look forward to coming back when we can stay awhile when the surf is up!

Room Tip: if you want a particular room call ahead and speak with owner to assure it's availability!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    34
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
100
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed one night in the Montara Room, a corner king. The room was large and quite lovely. It was clean, decorated beautifully and had a wonderful view of the bay. The bathroom was also large and lovely and the soaking tub was heavenly. The basket of snacks was a very nice touch. It was within easy walking distance of many restaurants. I ordered the Anniversary/Honeymoon package. The wine that came with it was wonderful. The bottle of champagne was actually two small, cheap twist off bottles of sparkling wine that was undrinkable and that was my only disappointment. Other than that, it was perfect!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed one night in Mavericks 1 (corner unit with a patio). The room was huge with perfect bay views. The room was udpated, clean and has a wonderful bathtub! All the details are tended to, from a very comfortable bed to to-go coffee cups. The property is within walking distance to plenty of restaurants and was easy to find. As other travelers have said, if you are light sleeper, bring earplugs. We didn't have a problem with the fog horn, but I can see a light sleeper having trouble. Highly recommended Inn!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed two nights in the Dunes room. It is an upstairs corner room with a good view of the harbor. The room is fairly large with a great bed! Quiet, too with the exception of the fog horn which we found curiously soothing. The bed was very comfortable. Owner very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Fabulous place, good size room, very clean, THE most comfortable bed ever - my husband didn't snore once! And a great bathroom. We loved the coffee machine (& French vanilla uht milk!) and the goodies basket that was topped up daily.
Can't fault it as it was perfect to wind down after a long flight (from London). We arrived to a foggy bay & the horn sounding but it just added to the atmosphere. The balcony & firepit was a nice addition too. We loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Sorry we were here for only one night! We had the Dunes room. Totally lovely. Decorating and quality of furnishings just first class. Bathroom a stunner. We had a great view of the bay. The fireplace added wonderful romantic atmosphere, and the room was equipped with everything we could have needed, Great fire pit we could light. Just a remarkable find.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My husband and I found serenity in a big way at this little inn. I think my large dog even found serenity too.
The room was very clean and a nice size with a fridge, microwave, dvd player, plus free wi-fi and parking (nice). Some other wonderful perks was the goodie basket for us plus a goodie snack bag for our dog. We felt so welcomed from the moment we walked in.
Since we brought our dog and we don't like to leave him in the car while we eat we opted on ordering take out from local resturants and brought it back to the room. The room has a nice dining table so we were able to have wonderful meals with a beautiful ocean view.
Note; the owner is always avaliable to call but not always on the property. He did come and check with us to see if we needed anything which was great for us but if your the type of person that need staff 24/7 maybe this place isn't for you.
We love this inn and we can't wait to take our doggy back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jetty room which was an end unit on the bottom floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Mavericks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mavericks

Also Known As:
The Inn At Mavericks Hotel
The Inn At Mavericks Hotel Half Moon Bay
Address: 346 Princeton Ave., Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Mavericks is a unique sensory experience that blends sumptuous accommodations with an oceanfront setting. …Unique – because we are the only ocean front Inn at Half Moon Bay…Located in the quaint village of Princeton-by-the-Sea and just a few short minutes north of historic Half Moon Bay; the Inn at Mavericks sits on a small waterfront bluff overlooking picturesque Pillar Point Harbor and the Pacific Ocean. Here you will find activities such as beachcombing, tidepooling, hiking, kayaking, surfing, shopping, and oceanfront dining all within easy walking distance…Or, just relax on the veranda of your elegant waterfront guestroom, reading a book and listening to the ocean waters lapping against the soft sand and rocks.If your travel plans include a visit to San Francisco, whether for a romantic getaway or business meeting, the waterfront Inn at Mavericks should be at the top of your “must stay” list. We are just 20 minutes by car to San Francisco’s Union Square. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Mavericks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Inn at Mavericks to your Saves list