We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for Everyone on this Menu!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of It's Italia

It's Italia
401 Main Street, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
6507264444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
It's Italia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mill Street
Transit: Samtrans bus stop is located one block away from It's Italia, on the corner of Main and Kelly Streets, right in front of our City Hall.
Description: It's Italia opened in 1997 as a San Francisco style trattoria and pizzeria serving gourmet pizzas, house pastas, and creative salads, always with a California Italian flavor, and a wine list of 10-12 varietals. Ten years later, our menu has expanded to include steak and seafood grilled specialties, artful antipasti, and a decadent array of housemade desserts from our pastry chef. Over 120 bottles line up on our wine list from Italy, California, France, Spain, Australia, and New Zealand. As always, we have remained faithful to a local coastal California Italian cuisine, with its cosmopolitan nature, bringing produce and cheeses from local farms, meats and poultry from quality and organic growers, and seafood from a variety of waters. Most importantly, we are a little local community restaurant that serves locals. Lots of locals! Our advertising is mostly word of mouth. Our energy is inviting, positive, and friendly, and when you come in, you are invited to be part of our family.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Something for Everyone on this Menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A spotless restaurant with simple but inviting decor, good service and an extensive, interesting menu, well-prepared meals made with fresh ingredients -- plus a bar and outside dining. Lovers of unusual cuisine can find stuffed grape leaves, Hawaiian Walu, and kale, fennel, nuts & seeds salad. The rest of us can feast on tenderloin filet kabobs, Caesar salad, sandwiches and mesquite grilled meats & fowl. There's a wide range of paninis, pastas and pizzas. (The lasagna is wonderful!) IF YOU EAT, YOU'LL LOVE IT'S ITALIA!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    68
    18
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I were in the area to look @ houses. One day we drove up PCH & stumbled upon this AMAZING little community. It was getting late & we happened upon this quaint little Itslian restaurant & went in. We were seated quickly & began to admire the sense of community here. We ordered an appetizer, a bottle of wine, & our dinners. The staff was prompt & friendly. And Oh. My. Gosh!!!... The food was to die for! I will never forget: I had the local, fresh wild boar osso buco & it was FANTASTIC!!! I have never enjoyed that dish so much! Super fresh & not too gamey, it was like eating Sunday pot roast dinner @ my Grandma's :) My husband's lasagna was fresh, moist, & rich. Dinner was so good that I can't even remember what I had for dessert but I'm sure it was divine too Haha We will never, ever forget this small, charming town & our only real experience here was this restaurant... That is saying a lot! We cannot wait to return!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A "Must" for Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We found this corner restaurant while roaming the main downtown street shops. We checked with the restaurant, and they highly suggested reservations - in the afternoon the only times available were 5:15pm and 7:45pm, so make your reservation early.

The reservation time was well worth waiting for. We opted for Italian cuisine, but the pizza looked delicious, and there was a parade of locals picking up take-out pizza orders. Our waiter was prompt and attentive, and the dinner was scrumptious. They have a courtyard dining area, but a chill was in the air so we relaxed inside. It was a bit noisy, but the restaurant was packed with happy diners. This restaurant will definitely be on our "must" list next trip to this area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
half moon bay, ca
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“far more than a pizzeria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Don't let the name fool you, this is a really nice Italian restaurant with a complete menu of beautifully prepared Italian dishes. The ambience is comfortable and casually elegant with great service and full bar.If weather permits, ask to eat on the outside patio - complete with raised fireplaces...so nice. There is also seating at the bar which we have found to be friendly. I have never had a pizza there, but I have had appetizers, salads, pastas and entree's, all great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Service ,Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were promptly greeted by the owner herself and seated. The food was fabulous, and the location was beautiful! looked truely "Tuscan" with a nice, modern touch. The food was so good, I wanted to eat it cold for breakfast!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed It's Italia also viewed

Half Moon Bay, CA
Half Moon Bay, CA
 
Half Moon Bay, CA
 

Been to It's Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage It's Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.