We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite family restaurant in the entire Bay Area"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of It's Italia

It's Italia
401 Main Street, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
6507264444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
It's Italia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mill Street
Transit: Samtrans bus stop is located one block away from It's Italia, on the corner of Main and Kelly Streets, right in front of our City Hall.
Description: It's Italia opened in 1997 as a San Francisco style trattoria and pizzeria serving gourmet pizzas, house pastas, and creative salads, always with a California Italian flavor, and a wine list of 10-12 varietals. Ten years later, our menu has expanded to include steak and seafood grilled specialties, artful antipasti, and a decadent array of housemade desserts from our pastry chef. Over 120 bottles line up on our wine list from Italy, California, France, Spain, Australia, and New Zealand. As always, we have remained faithful to a local coastal California Italian cuisine, with its cosmopolitan nature, bringing produce and cheeses from local farms, meats and poultry from quality and organic growers, and seafood from a variety of waters. Most importantly, we are a little local community restaurant that serves locals. Lots of locals! Our advertising is mostly word of mouth. Our energy is inviting, positive, and friendly, and when you come in, you are invited to be part of our family.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My favorite family restaurant in the entire Bay Area"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is my #1 favorite restaurant in the bay area, all things considered. Of course you can go fancier for couples/romantic but if you need a place that satisfies both the adults' need to eat excellent food artfully prepared, while simultaneously feeding older children (not for babies!), then this is the place for you. Half Moon Bay is a fabulous excursion (don't forget to see the old-timey jailhouse) and the murals painted on the buildings. But DO eat here. Lunch offers paninis that are baked while you wait. The salads are superior; the soups are GENUINELY house-made from scratch. The environment is elegant but not fussy. When I lived here, I travelled over the mountain to eat here at least weekly. After moving to SoCal, this moved to top of my list for dining with old friends and family. Absolutely A+++

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    68
    18
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Reservation absolutely needed!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Stayed at the hotel next door, decided to have dinner here. We didn't have reservations, but went before the crowd started rolling in..there were quite a bit of tables available.

Was seated right next to the check-in booth..awkwardly place table where the hostesses are right next to you and the waiters constantly within my personal space as my chair was covering all the menus so I was bumped a few times in their attempts to get it.

Foods was ok, the dessert sucked. Ordered tiramisu for my husband and I and it was semi frozen inside and watered down, we ate it all as the portion wasn't that big, and we asked for it to be take off our expensive bill as it wast to par, but manager said we consumed it all and that he would take half of it off our bill ( better than nothing I guess). Would not eat here again.

Also, when we were seated, another couple came in about 10 min later without a reservation, but because he know the host, was able to request a seat next to the window!! We were close enough that we can hear!

Would rather go to Chez Shea across the street.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, CA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Family Resturant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Great family Resturant everything from Pizza for the kids to Steak for your hungry one. Try the Half Moon Bay Pizza with sausage, onions and artioche with thin crust, yummy.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor service and all the food tastes the same (salty)”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

We arrived without a reservation (party of 4) for an early dinner on a Sunday evening. The restaurant was relatively empty (no reservations required) and we were seated immediately. The food was moderate, unexciting, and overpriced. After we finished dinner, declined the offer for dessert, and lingered over a cup of coffee, the hostess (owner? manager?) approached our table and asked to LEAVE because there was a party waiting for our table (and there were other tables available in the restaurant; this group of people just happened to want our table!!). Our table had not been reserved at a certain hour, so we considered this request to LEAVE quite rude. We unanimously agreed that it would have been most appropriate to ask us if we minded moving to the bar area, and offer us a cocktail or a dessert in consideration for the inconvenience. We will never return.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Saturday Brunch Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

Haven't been to It's Italia! in quite awhile, and decided to stop in for lunch on Saturday. Was pleasantly surprised to see that they offered an extensive brunch menu. The zucchini frittata was very tasty and poached eggs on crispy polenta cakes with prosciutto and spinach were flawless. A nice Orvieto from the wine list was a bargain at $24/bottle. Much more than just pizza, It's Italia is a great place for a leisurely Saturday brunch with friends.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed It's Italia also viewed

Half Moon Bay, CA
Half Moon Bay, CA
 
Half Moon Bay, CA
 

Been to It's Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage It's Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.