We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine only if you can have a room not too noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Benito House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Half Moon Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Benito House
Save Saved
You added San Benito House to your Saves list
356 Main St., Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Los Angeles area
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fine only if you can have a room not too noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I should have read the reviews that recommended rooms 4, 5, and 6. Maybe then the noise level would have allowed us to sleep. Our group instead had rooms 1 and 12, which were definitely much too noisy. We used our excellent-quality earplugs and also a white noise machine, but still couldn't sleep on a Monday or Tuesday night, except between 2 and 5, when we didn't have bar or street noise. Also, one of our two couples arrived late, were given Room 8, only to find it occupied. It scared the people in room 8 out of their wits. Not cool.

Room Tip: Room 1 and 12 are definitely not quiet enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    11
    6
    9
See reviews for
6
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at the San Benito House for two nights, Fri & Sat. It is a really quaint establishment-built over a huge bar. There are only a few rooms that have bathrooms actually in the rooms--so be sure to request one, otherwise you will be sharing a bathroom in the hall. There is a great deli attached to the hotel that bakes up some sweet smelling bread in the morning. The line for a sandwich wrapped around the street during lunch. The downside to the hotel is that is sits on top of one of the only "nightclubs" in town. The music blared from 10pm until exactly 2am. We could hear every single word of every song. Luckily, we liked the music, but if you are looking for somewhere nice and quiet--this isn't it. Overall, we had a nice time. The people were friendly, the contenintal breakfast was good, and we enjoyed being right in the middle of town.

Room Tip: Parking can be very difficult on a Saturday. No reserverd parking for hotel guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I read all the reviews before going there and I don't know what people are complaining about! Certainly it's noisy as an old hotel who has music can be but the music dies down at 11-12pm so not a problem. We really enjoyed the stay and the personnel are friendly and helpful but do not suffer fools kindly! The bed was old but very comfortable and clean. Also very good price to spend the night. Would come here again!

Room Tip: Don't stay above the bar or dining room. I believe room 4,5,or 6 is good as they are far from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

Best sandwiches on the coastside. Homemade bread, fresh ingredients, and baked goods. More importantly, incredibly reasonable prices

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This stay reminded me of some of my stays in modestly priced pensiones through Italy. The room was adequate with the essentials of a comfy bed to sleep in. Earplugs took care of the bar noise. We stayed in room 4. We got towels and 2 bottles of water for our 2 night stay. There were no cups or glasses. A bureau with a mirror, a comfy bed, a solitary straight back chair, and a bedside stand with a lamp made up our bedroom: cozy. I'd have preferred a desk and chair and extra lamp to the bureau as there was a closet to store our clothes and suitcases, but no place to comfortably write. The bathroom was like the one I grew up with in the 1960's: the layout the same with barely enough room to sit on the toilet without banging into the sink. The big tub had a shower extension but no curtain and so required careful maneuvering to a) keep the bathroom from flooding, and b) try to stay warm while showering. I found it odd that there were no guest brochures in the room. Also, no phones, so had to use my cell phone to ask if there was wifi and what the password was. The room was not refreshed with towels or bottled water for our 2nd night stay. We only got one key. The staff was friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was adequate and with a little help from our own stash of travel oatmeal, walnuts and nut butters was delicious :) The sandwhiches at the deli were the best I have ever had!!!!! That would definitely be a five star rating! This place is not for everyone, but I had a lovely time. This place requires a flexible, adaptable, and positive attitude (and earplugs!) and you'll be just fine.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We came on a groupon so it was worth it from that standpoint. We found the room to be very clean and the queen bed comfortable with nice sheets and pillows. Yes it is old but nice high ceilings. Breakfast was OK with coffee, tea, fresh hard boiled eggs, pastries, cereal and fruit. If you want absolute quiet and luxury, this is not your place.
Pros:
great downtown location - you can walk to all of the shops and not that far of a walk from the beach.
We got a good deal with the groupon and nice to have the 2 welcome drink coupons.
Cons:
Yes it was a little noisy from the bar until things quieted down around one but it was very peaceful on Sunday night/Monday morning.
You have to be a little patient with service as basically people running the restaurant and bar check you in and help you.

Room Tip: We had room 1 which is in the NE corner above the deli - a little further away from the bar but some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We just came from a weekend getaway at the San Benito House on a groupon special. My husband and I had trouble booking a weekend to use the groupon before it expired, so we ended up downgrading to a room without a bath (it was that or lose the deal I'd already purchased).

While we had a blast, I would definitely hesitate to recommend this hotel to just anyone. It is LOUD. Unless you plan to be right in the middle of the raucous action downstairs in the bar (as we were), you're going to be quite miserable with the level of noise. As another reviewer mentioned, it's a pub with rooms. We enjoyed ourselves in that situation, but we went there with the intention of joining the party.

We were in room 6 which is one furthest from the bar, but it was still really loud late into the evening. The room was also pretty tiny, with not much room to maneuver around. The bathroom down the hall for those rooms without is clean and separated into two rooms (toilet and shower). There are only 3 rooms of 12 that share the bath in the hall, which isn't bad. You can also run downstairs to use the bar bathrooms if need be. The shower was comfortable with good water pressure and plenty of hot water, clean.

All in all, we had a good time staying here and being right upstairs from the party. Plan a visit with the caveat that you are heading for a boisterous place!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Benito House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Benito House

Address: 356 Main St., Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best B&B in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
San Benito House Hotel Half Moon Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Benito House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.