We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option for the neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2930 North Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Half Moon Bay
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great option for the neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a nice hotel. Like most Comfort Inns and hotels in its category it is two stories with no elevator. The staff was very pleasant. The room was a nice size with good furniture including a refrig and microwave.
The bed and furniture were fine. I was particularly impressed that there was a full-length mirror. (I think a lot of people who visit Half Moon Bay are there for a party/wedding –I was— so it is nice to be able to get a full view of yourself.)
The breakfast was what I’ve come to find is a Comfort Inn standard with a wide array of items including hard-boiled and cooked eggs, and heated breakfast meats. (Per an NPR report I heard while traveling most breakfast buffet food that is in a big tub comes from an off-site kitchen. It’s not a matter of the hotel quality; it’s about a lack of facilities to handle large volume in a short period.) The breakfast space itself was quite large; no worry about not getting a place to sit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    57
    19
    9
    2
See reviews for
29
55
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tillamook, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This property was very clean and perfect for the family activity for which I was in HMB. Breakfast was good with a wide variety of foods to suit different tastes. The coffee was excellent!

The lobby and larger dining area were very inviting and our whole clan had a great time. It is an easy walk to the beach from this property.

I would recommend it as a clean, reasonably priced property convenient for activities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed in the Comfort Inn at Half Moon Bay labor day weekend.. Our room was very clean and spacious. Had a window in the bathroom facing some trees. We were on the second floor near the stairs, and we did not hear any noise during our stay. Check in was fast and easy. All the beach restaurants were booked solid, so the person at check-in suggested Jersey Joe's which was perfect for us. Delicious hamburger with a cold beer! Since the hotel was sold out, we anticipated eating in a crowded breakfast room, but they opened a meeting room so there was plenty of space. The breakfast was abundant and fresh! In the morning, we were heading north across the Golden Gate bridge, so I asked the desk clerk, Bryan, for directions. He was so patient, gave us excellent directions to the bridge, and tips to avoid any traffic jams. Thanks, Bryan, we were at the bridge in less than an hour!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yosemite area
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We knew it was Half Moon Bay at high season, in August. But with our daughter's wedding, we had little choice. After much research, Comfort Inn was not quite the lowest rate, but the lowest rate of a hotel I trusted. Now I don't trust them as much.

The big problem, and it was very big for us, was that internet didn't work in our room. Since all the wedding information, including four meals, three different locations, maps, times, etc. was in the cloud, and since I was the point of contact for a lot of relatives, this was a big problem. I had to take my laptop to the lobby to get online. Since AT&T also has terrible reception in Half Moon Bay, it left a lot of folks scrambling unless they'd printed out hard copies. Breakfast at other hotels ran a little later on weekends, but they never promised us that.

The beds were good, the room smelled a little musty but you kind of expect that in such a damp beach climate. We could not air out the room because of the cigar smokers in the back parking lot that looked like employees after their Friday shift. Less expected was the hotel full of bike riders, who went through the fairly nice breakfast like locusts, limiting what we could get this morning. Everybody was long on apologies for their short comings (no, we have no control over the cigar smokers outside your room even though your wife is virulently allergic; no, we cannot move you to another room of the same type away from the smokers or with internet connections or upstairs even though you have not unmade any beds or used any towels because we don't have maid service less than an hour after the start of check in time to clean up the room after you; no, we've been complaining about the internet to corporate for a while, and perhaps if you fill out a complaint form they'll listen to you) but short on action. At other hotels with other chains, when things went this poorly and were clearly the hotel's fault, I've received actions to try and fix things, or tangible apologies such as points in their frequent stayer program. But here, I felt it was high season, and they were going to sell out, and not spend an extra nickel to make us want to stay there again, or indeed at this chain again. But they were certainly good (experienced?) at apologizing. Two employees suggested I complain to the manager when he was in and he might give me a discount, but it didn't happen.

If you're not counting on internet, don't care about customer service, and don't mind spending over $130/night for a fairly nice but musty room, then it was probably a bargain. Other family members paid more and were glad they did. At other times, I might have shined off on what went wrong, but every thing this weekend was tightly scheduled and we got zero accommodation or results on anything that might have reduced our problems because we did not get a non-smoking room (because of outside smokers) or internet.

I rate them poor value (rather than terrible) because it was high season at a beach resort, but other than those circumstances I'd rate it terrible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed in a 2 double bed room (212, I think) for 2 nights. This is good spot as it has a decent outlook from the upstairs floor and is at the back so was quieter
Comfortable beds. Clean and well equipped
Friendly front desk gave us several good meal recommendations which we could even follow when jet lagged
Breakfast decent enough
It is a motel, but made us feel welcome (no character, but you pay for what you get) even though it is essentially just a functional place

Room Tip: (212, I think) was good spot as it has a decent outlook from the upstairs floor and is at the back s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We checked in around 10 pm, Josh made it easy and quick. We stayed in room 211, in the back that was away from the Highway. We had a good night sleep. Room was excellent, expected from Comfort inn, it is better than the other Comfort inns I have stayed in. The morning agent also helped me to print out a boarding pass. They do have bf in morning but we dint have time for it.
Thanks for everything, will be back.

Room Tip: In the back, was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We wil definitely come back. The room is clean and big. It has basically everything. The breakfast is nice. The staff was being very helpful. We also enjoyed the location that is close to the bay. We had a very good night sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay

Address: 2930 North Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.