We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2930 North Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Anchorage
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good value, pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We occupied the last room available, a special needs / pet friendly room that would not normally be our first choice. As it turned out, we had a very pleasant night's stay.

The desk attendant was very friendly and showed us the room without the slightest reservation (forgive the pun). On the way he indicated they had a great cleaning crew and he thought we'd be impressed, but if not, he'd be pleased to call around for us and find another option. That seemed above and beyond the call as far as I was was concerned (especially for the average service person in California!). He was right. The room was very clean -- couldn't smell any animal scent -- and the room had a very comfortable layout.

It was also very quiet, despite its proximity to the highway.

Downsides? WiFi kep bumping me off -- and the TV set wasn't new enough to use with our laptop entertainment -- only one restaurant within walking distance -- but I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    69
    24
    9
    2
See reviews for
32
65
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We were greated by a charming girl on reception who gave us a free upgrade to a King Suite with a spa bath. This was very nice even though we had booked in advance. The room itself was large and clean. A very good breakfast was served. I would have given it a 5 but it was still quite expensive even with the upgrade - our most expensive of the holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have been staying here for 8 years but this was our last visit. $150 plus for an upstairs room next to the highway, room stank of dirty pits, no more complimentary paper, staff unhelpful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This was a very good value in a good location on Half Moon bay. We used this as a starting point to go down Hwy 1. Ample parking and the hotel is a close walking distance to the beach. There are also very good seafood dining choices nearby. This was a hotel we would stay in again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norco LA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Typical hotel/motel layout. Check in/out was quick and staff was friendly. Room was very clean, and comfortable. Some guest were having a good time across the way but didn't disturb us for long. Breakfast was good with a good choice of fresh food. Great starting location for anyone driving Hwy 1 down the coast from San Francisco.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Good points:
. location is between downtown and harbor
. plenty of parking
. helpful staff
Bad points
. loud room heater/ac below front window woke me up every time the thermostat turned it on; did not get a restful sleep.
. room floor shook when next room guests walked around
. noisy motel style with public walkway in front of room door and window
. noisy (creaky) front door
. room and shared sink area had no kleenex
. old style television box
. no access lane to enter hotel lot from northbound highway 1

Room Tip: I've stayed at the neighbor hotel when it was a Days Inn, and it is no better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Our vacation was sidetracked a bit and we needed to find a place along the coast. What a great find this CI was! Despite same day reservations, we were met by very friendly office staff and
provided with a quiet, clean and comfortable room. This CI reminded me of a small lodge that you would find in the mountain areas, with lots of trees and earth colors, a warming fireplace in the main room, and a delightful hot breakfast - omlettes, waffles, sausage patties - all included. The wonderful lady taking care of the breakfasts continuously checked that everything was kept clean and stocked, all with a smile and a "Good Morning!" greeting to every guest. Yes, this place is right off the main highway, but there was absolutely no traffic noise heard in the rooms. Kudos to the staff and management!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay

Address: 2930 North Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.