We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheapest in the Bay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2930 North Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cheapest in the Bay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

After checking several places in and around Half Moon Bay, this was the cheapest and still just a short drive from the water. We did not make reservations and they were still able to get us in with no problems. We got 2 rooms with double beds, our room had a very musty armpit smell ounce we walked in. My parents room smelled like fabreez so not as smelly. For the three nights that we stayed the overall stay was ok. The morning breakfast was small, it kind of fits the size of the Inn but has your typical fruit and pastires. If your just looking for a place to sleep and not worried about a view this is a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    75
    26
    8
    2
See reviews for
34
68
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
reno, nv
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

You can park right by the door of your room, great beds and breakfast too. only thing lacking would be a jacuzzi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The room was clean and comfortable as was the room service during our stay. The breakfast was very good with plenty of selections. The manager was extremely professional in his work. Rush hour traffic during the morning was very busy. Take route 92 to get over to the expressway going to San Francisco once as it is quite scenic. Otherwise, if you are going to Golden Gate Park or the bridge take route 35 and the Great Highway.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back on the first floor as it is more peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

The prior night we stayed in a terrible room in San Luis Obispo and were very happy to find a reasonably priced room that was clean and comfortable in Half Moon Bay. The staff was very friendly. The continental breakfast was as good and had a decent selection of items, what you would expect from a mid range motel. We would stay there again without hesitation. The room we had was in the back of the building and we didn't notice any traffic noise.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Arrived late; got a room in the back of the hotel on the ground floor; service was good and the room was clean for just a one night stay.

Room Tip: Great room for a one night stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This place was great for a Comfort Inn, far above what I expected. I had a room towards the back of the property, and it was very quiet, couldn't hear any street noise at all. The room was huge, (for some reason, the deluxe room rate was cheaper than the basic one when I booked online) with a couch, coffee table and desk in addition to the bed, dresser, etc. There was also a fridge and microwave, and the bathroom was quite large. The staff was incredibly friendly, and they had a book of local restaurant menus at the front desk to browse through. Because it's at the north edge of town and there are no sidewalks on Route 1, it's best to drive to any local restaurants, but if you're just looking to walk, the next street over provides pedestrian and bike (no car) access to the coastal trail, a rail-trail that runs for a long way north and south of Half Moon Bay, and has easy access to a number of beaches. It's also a great place to view the sunset.

The breakfast was very good, with cereal, yogurt, fruit, as well as miniature omelets (plain and cheese), sausage, and biscuits. Overall, a great stay that far exceeded my expectations for a Comfort Inn.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We picked this motel for an overnight during our June 2012 visit to Santa Cruz. It is clean, decent and a short drive from restaurants, a Starbucks and a Peets, and a small downtown area. Fortunately we had read Tips on TripAdvisor and knew to ask for a room in the back which was much better but we could still hear some road noise. Reception was very friendly and most helpful. Her dinner recommendation was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in back-directly in the back of the motel or back of a side strip of rooms. Anything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay

Address: 2930 North Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.