We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way too Loud to sleep” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pillar Point Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pillar Point Inn to your Saves list
Pillar Point Inn
380 Capistrano Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94018   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Pleasanton
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Way too Loud to sleep”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Unless you're a sound sleeper I wouldn't recommend this place, road noise too load with cars constantly driving down all night, 3 bars within a block with people shouting, talking till 3am, can't do anything about the fog horn sounding every 10 seconds, with windows closed we couldn't drown out noise with TV turned up, stay somewhere else if you want a decent nights sleep.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    1
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

We booked the entire 11 rooms at Pillar Point in June for a wedding the weekend of October 23rd. We booked the rooms before the website went down, the voice mail box filled up and our angst grew. Fortunately my daughter (the bride) was able to drive over to the inn and determined that the Oceano Hotel & Resort next door had taken it over. The Oceano said they intended to update a few things and then reopen in August.
Fast forward to the present. We became very familiar with Ken Seidler, the reservations manager at Oceano, as we adjusted reservations in the months leading up to the wedding. I spoke with Ken as we were checking out, in part to complain that what had been billed as a "bed & breakfast" no longer provided breakfast. He apologized for this but stated that it was not the intention of Oceano to operate as a B & B. (would have been nice if he had told us that before we arrived). He said Oceano would use the 11 rooms as overflow and as a low end marketing tool reflecting that rooms "starting at $149.00" were available when in truth all the Oceano rooms are $275.00 and up.
He admitted that they had been perplexed about what to do about the facility when they essentially inherited it. The old owners at Pillar Point had basically been put out of business when the shadow of the Oceano rose above them three years prior. There had been talk of an event center. Then talk of a retail center. Perhaps a corporate retreat location with a meeting room. For the present they operate it as the cheap rooms at Oceano with limited services. The rooms are, however, very nice.
This review isn't attend to espouse the virtues of this hotel as much as it is to bring folks up-to-date on the goings-on. The location of Pillar Point/Oceano is wonderful for access to the harbor, the walking distance to restaurants (Half Moon Bay Brewing Company, Ketch Joanne, Barbara's Fish House, Mezza Luna, Cafe Classique). And the Oceano/Pillar Point Inn are not your only accommodations north of Half Moon Bay. You have Harbor View Inn across the street , Inn at Mavericks around the corner, The Beach House Hotel a half mile south and Seal Cove Inn a mile and a half north. Just check your locations through TripAdvisor before departing. It is a wonderful area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

This wonderful bed and breakfast, our favorite since it's rennovation, has apparently ceased operation. We miss the gracious hospitality of the inkeepers, Melodye and Mary as well as the inn itself.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mightymizike
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

We enjoyed our stay. The place doesn't look like much from the outside, especially compared to its neighbor, the Oceano. On the inside, though, the place was great. The room was very attractively and romantically decorated, comfortable and spacious, and the indoor gas fire made it cozy. It's within walking distance of several nice restaurants. The innkeeper was friendly, too. Downsides: although it views the ocean, it directly overlooks the marina--no lapping beaches, etc., just a bunch of boats bounded by rocks. Also, there's a horn that sounds off in the distance every few seconds all day and night--the noise is faint but enough to be bothersome if you're a light sleeper. Aside from those few slight issues, we were charmed by Pillar Point Inn and would easily recommend it. No breakfast menu--host made egg/tomato casserole (ok) with sausage and homemade banana bread (quite good). Also, the host offered fresh baked brownies which were very good.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseville ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

I needed a peaceful place to stay while playing a golf tournament at the famous Half Moon Bay Golf Course. The Pillar Point Inn filled the bill. It was 15 minutes from the course. The inn featured ocean and harbour views, Friendly inn keeper,,(Thanks Mary,, loved the freshly baked cookies),,. I am bringing my wife next time,,and no golf clubs...

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

Wow! What a difference new owners (along with the same staff) have made! The entire property has been updated, deferred maintenance has been completed...Pillar Point is now wraps you in luxury - can highly recommend it now. Great views, great furnishings. Cats still lurk in the parking lot, checking the cars like little mechanics.

We will be back.

  • Liked — updating, location
  • Disliked — missed some of the foliage
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay area california
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2006

We stayed here with our inlaws over Thanksgiving week. We stayed two nights in two of the upstairs larger rooms. There are nice views of the bay/fishing boats and we mostly had the place to ourselves. The innkeepers mother is so sweet! .. They have a lovely breakfast every morning and they do not hesitate to fill any request. The Halfmoon Bay Brewing company is across the parking lot and Barbara's Fish Trap is right across the street. We suggest a visit to both. The sad thing was they are building some monsterous hotel nextdoor to this quiet little inn. Chances are you should stay here while you can, it probably wont be open forever. Yes, it has seen better days but the point is the location. You can explore Princeton by foot and relax and the innkeepers want to help you to do that! .. They really are nice people and it can be romantic. Give it a try. Don't forget to visit the gardens in the back of the property.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pillar Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pillar Point Inn

Address: 380 Capistrano Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94018
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pillar Point Inn is located on Half Moon Bay in the quaint village of Princeton-By-The-Sea, which is 25 miles south of San Francisco. A charming inn offering ocean view rooms, comfortable bed and home made breakfast. Renovated in 2008, this Inn offers easy access to the beach and information on activities in Half Moon Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pillar Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pillar Point Hotel Half Moon Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pillar Point Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.