We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ocean View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach to your Saves list
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   407 Mirada Rd, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Allen, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Ocean View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We loved our stay at Cypress Inn at Half Moon Bay. Our room was large and comfortable, the ocean view was incredible, and the traffic noise from people and cars on the street below us wasn't even noticeable. Loved the little shops and cafes down the street, and you have very easy access to the walking trail along the ocean. We would definitely stay here again. We left with wonderful memories and wishing we had booked a longer stay. Great place for some serious peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Pillar Point offers great views with good privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    54
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
18
199
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Sleep 50 feet from the ocean and enjoy the calming sound of waves throughout your stay. Sun or storm, this is the place to stay. So affordable, too, for what you get. "Wine and cheese" hour is an understatement. There are warm snacks, too, beside the fire, fruit, teas, and coffees. Breakfast is always bountiful - comfort food should you choose to indulge, or healthy options. The inn, though not dog friendly, is close to a dog-friendly beach. Cozy and clean, the Cypress Inn is the place to stay. The nearby (1 block) Miramar Beach Restaurant offers entertainment and a full, hoppin' bar, too. Whether you're traveling over the coastal hills or miles by plane, this is the place to experience Northern California's beauty. It's quiet, too. I have never heard noise from another room. (Have stayed here 6+ times.)

Room Tip: The main building is the place to be for a premium view; the second floor is my favorite but the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We live less than an hour away from this inn, and stay there a couple of times a year. The views are the best of any accommodations in the area. Although it is on a street across from the ocean, there is little car traffic on the street and no street noise to disturb the sounds of the sea. There is a pleasant happy hour with wine, non alcoholic bevs and nice snacks, that have been enough for a meal if we have had a big lunch. Later in the evening is a sweets happy hour. The Miramar Beach restaurant is a short walk away and further away on a nice walking path is Sam's Chowder House, both serving fine fish and seafood. Half Moon Bay is a charming little village a few minutes inland by car, whith shops and more restaurants. Another reviewer described the rooms as a little tired. In some bed and breakfasts the emphasis is on decor and luxury linens. At this inn the beds are comfortable and the linens fresh. Each room is unique and the decor is beach bungalow funky. Some of the rugs or upholstery may be a little worn, but compared with other properties in the area, the price is very reasonable. (And they do have off season discounts for past guests). I'm afraid if they fix it up, the price will go up too much. I love it as it is!

Room Tip: All rooms are unique, located in three different buildings. One building has poor views over the par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is a very special place for my wife and I now. The room was perfect with a view to die for. Loved the spa tub and the fireplace. The management took special care of us on this day, our 20th wedding anniversary. I'll always remember that. Everything was just great and I'd recommend this place to those that can afford it. It's expensive but for that special occasion it's totally worth it. Hope to go back some day.

Room Tip: I recommend 2nd floor and above rooms (kingsize bed).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lafayette, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Cypress Inn at Miramar Beach is gorgeous, located just across the road from Half Moon Bay. The rooms are contemporary, lovely, and some have really romantic views of the Pacific Ocean. The staff is extremely thoughtful, and the location is perfect for exploring the California coast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California, USA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I have stated at the Cypress Inn four times in the past few months, each time was in a different room. First of all, realize that you are not going to be closer to the beach ever (metaphorically). The beach is wide and sees little use as it is off the beaten track, so I give high marks to having such a great beach to yourself.

As for the rooms, you get what you pay for, and you get quite a bit, even with the lower priced rooms. The pricier rooms are definely better. At this price range, meaning full suggested retail, the rooms are overpriced as the breakfast is a bit weak (more on this soon). Some of the furnishings in the room need upgrading. The carpet and couch in the last room I stayed in desperately needed to be completely changed out as they were stained from years of service.

The layout of each room is eclectic as the geometry and footprint of each room is different, each trying to maximize the potential view. This is not a cookie cutter hotel, but a bed and breakfast.

The bath amenities are average. I had expected some higher end, name brand soaps and bath salts at this price. The tubs in the rooms I have stayed at were spacious for two, and each tried to take advantage of having a view, which is a rarity in any accommodation.

The beds were average, with a couple needing to be upgraded soon.

This is a bed and breakfast, and there is wine and cheese in the afternoons and sweets in the event as well as breakfast of course. I have stayed at some other properties owned by the same company, and each has a different level of dining experience. The Cypress Inn tries hard, but ultimately, the breakfasts seem outdated and average for the price range. Their sister hotel down the road in Capitola has stellar breakfasts. However, the service here is charming and personable. Breakfast in bed comes with coffee tea, and juices, breads and jams along with the hot entree for the day. The hot entree just misses the mark. Not bad at all, but I expect a bit more for the price.

Given all of that, I do enjoy the place. The location is unbeatable, if privacy, and seclusion is your goal. The pounding surf and not so distant fog horn will lull you to sleep. Great location for storm watching. The hotel is often booked. Mid week rates are more reasonable. The service is great, and the staff are knowledgable and will happily share advise if asked.

A bit of investment in maintaining the the dated furnishings, and a bit more effort with the breakfasts will encourage me to give this a 4 star in the future. I am generally a hard grader on trip advisor. The hotel is speedy for what you get, but the location balances out the equation. If a stunning empty California beach is your goal, then you can' do mich better

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Antigua
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful setting right on the beach. Our room was in the annex behind the main building, which on arrival we were not too keen, however when we saw the room, it was very nice. Very comfortable bed, modern open plan bathroom, quiet and pretty much everything one looks for in a good hotel. We had breakfast in our room, and why not, it's a nice place to be; the breakfast was imaginative and very tasty. I highly recommend the Cypress Inn and I will definitely be back.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach

Address: 407 Mirada Rd, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Miramar Beach in Half Moon Bay, sights and sounds of the Pacific are just outside your door at the Cypress Inn. Eighteen rooms and suites offer dramatic ocean views, and each features luxurious feather beds, fireplaces and private baths. Guests are treated to a full breakfast each morning and a selection of wine and hors d’oeuvres are freshly prepared each afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Inn On Miramar Beach Hotel Half Moon Bay
Cypress Inn Half Moon Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.