We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach to your Saves list
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   407 Mirada Rd, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here on our first night in California and what a beautiful place. The room was lovely and the bed sooooo comfortable.

The blueberry pancakes for breakfast were delicious and the freeflowing coffee a great touch. The wine during 'happy hour' was also very welcome after an 11 hour flight.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    55
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
18
205
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Akron, OH
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Wine and cheese in the lobby and cooked-to-order breakfast were pleasant surprises considering the very affordable rates at this small, very comfortable oceanfront hotel in Half Moon Bay. Incredibly comfortable king sized bed with seven (I counted) pillows. Gas fireplace in the room contributed to the coziness and romance of this hotel. Great stretch of beach for running or walking is right out the front door. Lots of dining options are nearby.

Room Tip: We chose a less expensive room (the Venice Beach room) from which you could easily hear the ocean, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Greeted with open arms we just loved everything about this place! They took the time to choose wonderful wines, cheese and snacks for happy hour. Breakfast was great as well! Room super cozy with great pillows and bedding...just all around a fantastic experience! We'll spent 2 nights next time and skip Carmel!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here on our trip from San Diego to San Francisco and it was by far our favourite stop! We stayed in a few expensive hotels but this by far was the best value and service we received on our entire trip. Check-in was very quick and we were shown our room and how to use the TV and fireplace. The cheeses and wines were a great addition and appreciated. If we are ever in this area again, I would stay here again in a second! I will also recommend the Inn to everyone I know travelling to California!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach in Half Moon Bay has everything a traveller could want from a bed and breakfast along the California Central Coast. If you are looking for very comfortable rooms, inviting fireplaces, a freshly prepared breakfast, and an afternoon happy hour with local wines and cheeses, then come here.
The staff will take care of you, the ocean will entertain you, and the waves will lull you into a state of oceanic bliss. Local restaurants abound, the beach is at your back door, and the result is nothing less than complete relaxation. It is cold and foggy, so bring a sweater and a jacket and maybe a blanket or two, but bring yourself here nonetheless and enjoy yourself.

Room Tip: Check online for rooms. The pictures are an accurate representation of what is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was my second time visiting the Cypress Inn.. I love it..The first time we stayed in El Luna (moon room) and this time we stayed in El Sol (sun room). The rooms are perfect, fireplace to take off the chill as the sunsets in the evening. Breakfast delivered to your room and offers a delicious homemade breakfast..we stayed 3 nights with enjoying quiche/fruit/crossiants/coffee/tea one morning, pancakes with berries/fruit/juice and the last morning we dined in the main shared living space with other guests to have breakfast burritos, and apple/chicken sausages.. there was also cereal and yogurt available, definitely something for everyone. As evening approaches there is happy hour with wine and appetizers (fairly heavy choices as this is why I only ate the chowder at Sam's Chowder house!) and later they make dessert available. The ambience of this location is wonderful, a great place to enjoy a few days to truly rest, relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery. OH and did I mention on the 3rd floor is Cheryl Fuller who gives a great massage!!

Room Tip: i've stayed int he main house both times.. rooms are very private, when in your room you do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This small inn is directly on the ocean with just a little street with virtually no traffic between the inn and the sand. So the location is perfect if you are needing some beach walks, falling asleep to the crashing of waves and comfort. My room was smallish, but nicely appointed, red tile floors, nice bedding, sliders to the small balcony/patio and clean, acceptable bathroom. My only complaint was the noise inside the hotel. My room (El Mar) was next to reception, kitchen and eating area and so in the mornings, it was easy to hear all the prep and service, dishes and guests. So if sleeping in is important, choose a different room, maybe upstairs. There was also plumbing/shower noise from above. But the innkeeper was pleasant, the service of happy hour with good local wine, simple cheese plate and a hot dish (wings one night, a pesto-mushroom kind of dip the next) was tasty and the other guests friendly & convivial.

The room was showing some wear and tear but that wouldnt stop me from staying here again. The beach was just wonderful. Don't forget though that this part of the CA coast can be very cold and foggy in summer. My shorts, tanktop, sunscreen and bathing suit stayed in the suitcase and I was grateful I had remembered at the last minute to throw in a sweater that I never took off over my yoga pants and tshirt. I would have been happier with a heavy sweatshirt and jeans. :)

The town is a short drive and darling, nice restaurants, upscale shops and cafes. In walking distance to the Inn is the Miramar Beach Restaurant with spectacular views, good food (mostly seafood) and a nice outdoor glassed in patio with heaters and community fire pits. I met interesting people both nights that I ate there. Fascinating prohibition history too - it was a former speakeasy/bordello!

All in all, I'd return to Half Moon Bay and Cypress Inn again for restful, ocean inspired getaway.

Room Tip: Pick an upstairs room to avoid lobby/kitchen and eating area noise. The views are just as good if no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach

Address: 407 Mirada Rd, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Miramar Beach in Half Moon Bay, sights and sounds of the Pacific are just outside your door at the Cypress Inn. Eighteen rooms and suites offer dramatic ocean views, and each features luxurious feather beds, fireplaces and private baths. Guests are treated to a full breakfast each morning and a selection of wine and hors d’oeuvres are freshly prepared each afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Inn On Miramar Beach Hotel Half Moon Bay
Cypress Inn Half Moon Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.