We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beachfront bliss” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach

Save Saved
You added Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   407 Mirada Rd, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Ashland, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“beachfront bliss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This small inn is directly on the ocean with just a little street with virtually no traffic between the inn and the sand. So the location is perfect if you are needing some beach walks, falling asleep to the crashing of waves and comfort. My room was smallish, but nicely appointed, red tile floors, nice bedding, sliders to the small balcony/patio and clean, acceptable bathroom. My only complaint was the noise inside the hotel. My room (El Mar) was next to reception, kitchen and eating area and so in the mornings, it was easy to hear all the prep and service, dishes and guests. So if sleeping in is important, choose a different room, maybe upstairs. There was also plumbing/shower noise from above. But the innkeeper was pleasant, the service of happy hour with good local wine, simple cheese plate and a hot dish (wings one night, a pesto-mushroom kind of dip the next) was tasty and the other guests friendly & convivial.

The room was showing some wear and tear but that wouldnt stop me from staying here again. The beach was just wonderful. Don't forget though that this part of the CA coast can be very cold and foggy in summer. My shorts, tanktop, sunscreen and bathing suit stayed in the suitcase and I was grateful I had remembered at the last minute to throw in a sweater that I never took off over my yoga pants and tshirt. I would have been happier with a heavy sweatshirt and jeans. :)

The town is a short drive and darling, nice restaurants, upscale shops and cafes. In walking distance to the Inn is the Miramar Beach Restaurant with spectacular views, good food (mostly seafood) and a nice outdoor glassed in patio with heaters and community fire pits. I met interesting people both nights that I ate there. Fascinating prohibition history too - it was a former speakeasy/bordello!

All in all, I'd return to Half Moon Bay and Cypress Inn again for restful, ocean inspired getaway.

Room Tip: Pick an upstairs room to avoid lobby/kitchen and eating area noise. The views are just as good if no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    54
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
18
197
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed here while traveling the coast. We wanted a place on the ocean but in a small coastal town. It was perfect. The proprietor welcomed us in a pleasant manner and showed us to our room, Pillar Point, on the first floor overlooking the ocean. After shopping in downtown in all of the wonderful little shops, we came back to the room armed with a bottle of wine and some goodies from a small bakery in town. We sat on the deck for hours just taking in the gorgeous ocean view while listening to the surf. I got a reservation for my wife for a massage and she thoroughly enjoyed it. The large jacuzzi tub in our room was relaxing as well. The wine reception was a nice touch and they followed it up with homemade apple streudel. Delicious. We elected to select from the breakfast menu and it was promptly delivered to our door right on time. This was the only place we stayed all week where we turned off the air and opened the door to hear the surf. A wonderful stay here. After going to Monterey, Carmel and San Fran, and Napa, this was our favorite stay of all.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for an ocean front room. Worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My boyfriend, fiancé, and now husband ( all the same person) have stayed here four times now. We fell in love with halfmoon bay and ended up getting married next door to the cypress inn. During the prewedding planning, the wedding, and for our fifth anniversary we stayed at the cypress inn, each time in a different room. The service was great, the views were spectacular, and the breakfasts were wonderful. You can go wrong with staying here.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the main house or across the street so you can have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

All the positives written are spot on. You cant beat the location. The people who manage it are great..breakfast was substantial too and it is nice that trays are provided so you can have your breakfast in your ocean front room. Yes, liek a B&B but without the compulsory exchanging of the small talk :-)
The rooms are basic but clean. Short drive into the town of Half Moon Bay. Lovely walk along the beach right in front of the hotel.
I did have an issue late at night and had to call the attendant...they were fabulous and accomodated my wish to switch rooms (due to me just being anxious-nothing to do w/ the Inn) at such a late hour.
Highly recommend it for price, location, staff and cleanliness.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This is really a B&B. Don't plan on having a full front desk staff to take care of your needs at all hours. As other guests note, the breakfast, wine and dessert are nice feature. Rooms are old, but clean. We had a run in with sugar ants. The manager said all the right things; that she would move us to a different room or call Expedia and grant our prepaid refund. We didn't want a different room in the same building because the ants were coming from within the walls. A week after we returned home I had to initiate the refund by calling Expedia who called the Inn. Took about 35 minutes on hold because no one at the Inn answered on the first couple of tries. Finally did get the refund. We won't go back because B&Bs aren't our thing and the food around Half Moon Bay was pretty bad. Staff on duty were helpful. Ocean views might have been great but we couldn't tell through all the fog. On a quiet street just across from the beach.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is better. Don't get a room in the main lobby unless you like to be really cozy with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Location is right on the beach, most rooms have a view. The service is great----we were given a personal tour after arrival, then an hour later was the generous "happy hour". Latr that night was complimentary dessert--cheesecake that night ! It was really nice to hear the ocean at night. Breakfast service great also--Eggs Benedict made to order. Our room was larger than average. We will definitely return !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I have stayed at this Inn 4 times and it's always good. The staff is friendly/helpful. Bed in breakfast is nice and to be able to listen to the ocean at night is the best! I also like that you can walk to the Miramar Restaurant and stumble back. :) The rooms are clean and a nice size.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach

Address: 407 Mirada Rd, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Miramar Beach in Half Moon Bay, sights and sounds of the Pacific are just outside your door at the Cypress Inn. Eighteen rooms and suites offer dramatic ocean views, and each features luxurious feather beds, fireplaces and private baths. Guests are treated to a full breakfast each morning and a selection of wine and hors d’oeuvres are freshly prepared each afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Inn On Miramar Beach Hotel Half Moon Bay
Cypress Inn Half Moon Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.