We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oceano Resort at Half Moon Bay needs to be on a Bucket List, what a wonder experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   280 Capistrano Road, Half Moon Bay Harbor, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oceano Resort at Half Moon Bay needs to be on a Bucket List, what a wonder experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Besides being a beautiful hotel it's hard to miss how accommedating the staff is the minute you drive up the this facility. This is a fairly new facility and they keep it in immaculate condition. We stayed in a villa which resembled a two bedroom and bathroom luxury apartment with granite counter tops, stainless kitchen appliances and a fireplace. It was quiet and well equipped during our stay. We slept 5 people comfortably and could have accommedated a couple of others. I have every intention on returning for another vacation. In short, this is a peaceful, by the ocean resort is worth sharing with everyone. They have a web page that can be checked.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    115
    39
    23
    20
See reviews for
70
218
17
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

My family and friends selected the Oceano for us to spend several days to celebrate my 50th birthday. From the moment we pulled into the entrance area, I knew this hotel was going to more than meet my expectations. The staff greeted us and drove the car to the free basement parking area. (I only mention this because we drove down to the Ritz Carlton to see what that hotel looked like. When we left there, we offered the bellman a $5 tip for getting our car. He said he needed $5 for parking as well. That was not a good experience.) Inside the Oceano, however, the registration staff was friendly and competent. We were escorted to our room by a very pleasant bellman. The hotel itself and the rooms are comfortable, clean, and impeccably decorated. We stayed in one of the villas. It had a fireplace and granite counter tops, with a soft ocean decor. Loved it! Besides the great room and staff, I really loved the location of the hotel. It was just 20 south of San Francisco. Additionally, there are great restaurants all around. You never have to leave the area surrounding the hotel, unless you just want to venture out. This was a trip of a lifetime, and I would absolutely give this hotel my highest recommendation!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

The villa my sisters, mom and friends stayed in was spacious and very comfortable. Even though there were many patrons at the Oceano I felt like we were on our own island. The shops and restaurants were very close and unique. We had plenty to do locally and opted to go to San Francisco one day. All of the staff at the Oceano were polite and very attentive. This trip has created many memories for all of us and we are looking forward to another visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We just got back from another wonderful stay at the Oceano.

There is always so much to do and see in Princeton. We went on a few beautiful walks and a great bike ride. We also had some fantastic meals at the restaurants nearby, the gnocchi at Mezza Luna is amazing!

I have stayed at some other high end hotels on the coast and there just isn't as much to do if you aren't a golfer.

Also the free parking here is such a nice change from the outrageous fees at other 4 and 5 star hotels.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at the Oceano Hotel for two nights. We arrived at 12:00 PM and were greeted warmly. We were happy to hear our room was ready and we could check right in. The room was a good size and nicely decorated we had a king size bed, that was very comfortable, two TV’s. a fireplace, that started with a flick of a switch, a balcony with a 360 degree view of the harbor and the ocean beyond. We met our friend in the bar at happy hour and they all raved about their rooms.
There are many good restaurants in walking distance. We ate in three and they were all very good. The hotel is adjacent to a shopping mall. We had a wonderful time and we will be going back soon.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Oceano for our 5th anniversary and it was a great experience. The hotel is lovely and the rooms are beautiful. We've stayed down the road at the Ritz Carlton in the past and the difference in hotels does not warrant the $200 price difference in the room rate. I would stay at the Oceano every time over the Ritz unless you really plan on spending every minute of your stay in the hotel or utilizing its services (at expensive prices themselves). Our room was close to the lobby and we were concerned about the noise from a wedding reception going on, and while we heard a few voices at around 10 or 11, all was quiet after and we had a great night's sleep. Overall a very nice place to stay and a great "value" for a higher end hotel in Half Moon Bay

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

I stayed at the Oceano Hotel for my birthday in May and it was so much fun. Beautiful accommodations, stunning location, and great restaurants all around. I would recommend the Oceano Hotel to everyone, regardless of whether you're looking for a romantic getaway, a couple of days away from the office, or a weekend at the beach, the Oceano Hotel is perfect for everything. And the weddings there are beautiful!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
5.8 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 415 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 636 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
7.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay

Address: 280 Capistrano Road, Half Moon Bay Harbor, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Half Moon Bay Harbor, the Oceano is one of the Bay Area's favorite hotels. Luxurious suites boast private balconies and fireplaces within a seaport architectural style. The hotel offers over 12,000 square feet of outdoor and indoor meeting space including the Grand Ballroom, meeting rooms with ocean views, and outdoor garden and tent space. The lobby Bar and Grill offers guests casual coastal fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner or private in-room dining. With coastal views and dedicated events staff, Weddings and banquets are our specialty. Several fine restaurants and boutiques within walking distance. Surrounding activities include golf, championship surfing, kayaking, pier and deep sea fishing, horseback riding, sailing, hiking and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceano Hotel And Spa Half Moon Bay
Oceano Hotel Half Moon Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.