We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best room i have been in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay

Save Saved
You added Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   280 Capistrano Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Half Moon Bay
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best room i have been in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

We travelled for 6 weeks throughout the US and this was the best room i have ever stayed in. You can notice when all of the little things have been invested in. The room was huge and beautifully furnished, the bed was big and extremely confortable, we only stopped in here by chance on the way to San Fran so the $200 a night may seem a little hefty because it's in a town in the middle of nowhere but the locals at the bar next door were very friendly and it's a nice, quiet place. I imagine if you lived in surrounding cities it would be a great weekend getaway. In summary a beautiful hotel if you don't mind a little splurge.

P.S. It also had free parking and wi-fi

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    77
    28
    19
    11
See reviews for
45
174
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

For a hotel that charges the amount that Oceano charges, one might expect a flawless experience. My wife and I had a great time when we were there, but there were a number of small, but noticeable, problems there.

1. We had arrived after a light shower, and the deck was a little flooded; I was told that the housekeeping staff was supposed to sweep the water off the balcony, but, obviously, they didn't.
2. The stopper in the bath tub did not seal very well. My wife had to continually run the water in order to keep the tub full.
3. I realize that the hotel is aiming to be "green", but the water pressure in the shower was pathetic. The fixtures were nice to look at, but there are definitely better shower heads, for example, that do a lot better with low pressure than the ones in the Oceano.
4. The television programming is in standard definition... kinda defeats the point of an HD TV.

I know I'm being picky, but for the price we paid, I expect more attention to detail.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Area, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

My husband and I decided on a last minute getaway, something relaxing and romantic. The Oceano has it all - great location, super staff, wonderfully comfortable king beds and great views. We stayed in the Deluxe King Suite, it was perfect for our needs - large. elegant and above all comfortable. Can't say enough good things about our short stay, we'd highly recommend it. Can't wait to go back and try the spa.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010 via mobile

While visiting Half Moon Bay recently, I stayed at the new Oceana Hotel. What a splendid experience. My room was beautiful, spacious and spotless. The bed was very comfortable and the bedding luxurious. The views from my balcony were lovely from the blue waters of the bay to the wooded surroundings.

The hotel has a shopping mall with many shops and a spa. The marina and restaurants of all kinds are within easy walking distance.

The hotel lobby is beautiful with a large fireplace and lovely furniture and decorations.


Meals, prepared by an excellent chef are served in the cozy lounge by friendly wait persons. The desk staff are the best. Anything I needed was promptly provided. Check in and check out was handled with ease.

The Oceana will be my home away from home whenever I visit that area.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

We have stayed at this hotel twice now. First, we really love the style and decor of the hotel. It's very calming and the rooms are very well appointed. Great location to walk to local restaurants and the marina. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Definitely will return and recommend this place as a nice getaway.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

I live near Half Moon Bay, but I had some friends coming into town to celebrate a birthday. We just wanted to leave the kids at home with the daddies, and relaaax.
So we decided to try the Oceano. And we loved it! The staff was super-friendly and helpful, and our room was charming and pretty and comfortable. We were on the 2nd floor, and were thrilled to find a top-notch fitness center just steps away from our room. So we had our workout, and relaxed in our room, enjoying the lovely harbor view. When it was time to eat dinner, we had plenty of great restaurants to choose from - all within walking distance.
It was so quiet and relaxing - we would have loved to stay for a whole week of unwinding.
I hope to make this experience an annual event!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

The Oceano Hotel and Spa is a beautiful new hotel in Half Moon Bay. It is centrally located near tons of restaurants and shops right on the water. My fiance and I went in December and it was such a nice local getaway during the holidays. We had no need for our car all weekend, just read our books in the hotel lobby, walked along the dock and ate fresh fish. Being that it's new, the hotel is spotless! Not to mention rooms are huge - all with a deck, fireplace and flat screen tv. More like a suite. Best part? We were only 30 minutes from home (SF) but felt worlds away :)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay

Address: 280 Capistrano Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Half Moon Bay's newest hotel located on the edge of the Pacific with views of Princeton Harbor, a quaint fishing village. Luxurious furnishings and comforts compliment the maritime setting. The hotel has a large ballroom, meeting rooms, a full bar with food service as well as room service. Weddings and banquets are a specialty. Several fine restaurants are nearby, and local activities include golf, championship surfing, pier and deep sea fishing and many others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceano Hotel And Spa Half Moon Bay
Oceano Hotel Half Moon Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.